We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn York

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn York
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,188: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn York
 Click to rate
uk
Reviewed today NEW

Out local MS Group meet here every Tuesday morning and can't praise the staff enough they are helpful and courteous and make for a pleasant and relaxing experience. The seating is comfortable and there is disabled facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tc405
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

On first arrival the lobby is the usual Modern Holiday Inn fair. The staff are very friendly, and there are 2 elevators to all floors. The rooms are mainly spacious and with comfortable rooms. The rooms have been getting a facelift, and are bright and fresh. The breakfast is very good, with again very friendly staff. There is plenty parking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GriJohn
United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked 2 nights DB&B here as it wasn't too much more than B&B. We arrived and found plenty of car parking at the back of the hotel and an entrance at the back too which was handy. We were checked in efficiently and made our way to the bedroom. Was disappointed to find the bedroom was near the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here last week due to conscience of location, hotel situated in a good place especially if your fancying a day or a meeting at the race course and rooms were what I expect of a holiday inn warm and decent with beds at a good standard. Cleanliness was also fine. Only two negatives were as a platinum elite member...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MUFC_Stu
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay in a lot of Holiday Inns and am pleased to say this is one is very much the best in class: the welcome is very friendly and this sets the standard through the stay. The food was top notch with such a well drilled, friendly front of house: it really makes a difference when you spend half your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finedinewine
Glasgow
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel and location, easy parking , great food , wonderful staff. I ate several dishes on my stay here but the " chicken burger " was wow....the best chicken burger I have ever had and I have ate a few lol ...... I have ate in hotels and restaurant all over the UK including London hotels, and the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddieGlasgow
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a overnighter at the Holiday Inn York that I won on a Valentine's competition on Facebook. We arrived at around 5:30pm for check in which was speedy and the reception staff who dealt with us were lovely. Room was quite spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom however was tiny! After dropping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Sandy, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Any place that serves a comprehensive breakfast buffet with black pudding as one of the options is fine by me. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast here is excellent. I arrived late but the guy on reception was very friendly and helpful, it's good to get a warm welcome when you are tired after a lengthy car journey. Handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarrieCEngland
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear BarrieCEngland Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you rated your stay highly and enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Yours sincerely Chris Freer

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here once before and it was just the same this time as last time, excellent :) Very courteous staff around the hotel from, check-in, bar staff and room maids, location is good for race course, and not much more than a five minute taxi ride to York town centre depending on traffic, try to avoid a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durks65
Nottingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm staying in the hotel at the moment room 403 and I must say the two young lady's on the reception are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and modern and the bar staff and restaurant staff are also quite friendly. It's just a shame that the hotel doesn't have leasure facilities because I would definitely stay more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eagleyeNottingham
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review

Dear eagleyeNottingham Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to see that you rated the hotel highly and that you have been enjoying your stay. It is lovely to see that you have found Izzy and Kellie to be stars of the show, I will pass on your comments to the front desk team...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.8 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,768 reviews
6.3 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 km away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €78 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn York staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 month ago
newcastle
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are relatively quiet due to the location.”
 of 5 bubbles GriJohn, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am a points member with I'll wot he trying if staying in these hotels a lot.”
 of 5 bubbles GordonC_12, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bedrooms and corridors are carpeted.. so quieter with no scraping furniture.”
  • Warm and cosy after a freezing day out. (New year 16/17)
  • Well equipped now with bedside USB charging.
  • Compact but immaculate / walk in shower - no bath.. (room 222)
  • All appeared brand new and immaculate.
 of 5 bubbles davidjM4893PE, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles D7260LVhelenw, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back facing if you want a view!”
 of 5 bubbles NCTravel9, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5