We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge York Central

#28 of 46 Hotels in York Save
1.0 km from York centre
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
    Special Offer
    From £29
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Showing 759: English reviews
    Start your review of Travelodge York Central
     Click to rate
    Swansea, United Kingdom
    Reviewed yesterday NEW

    Good Value for money excellent location, rooms very good staff friendly and helpful Would recommend this hotel to others, it was everything I expected and as advertised. It is one of the best travel lodges I have stayed in

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank phillipc718
    Durham, United Kingdom
    Reviewed yesterday NEW

    Fab location, fab pub and fab hotel. Staff very helpful, perfect location for York, pub built in (Wetherspoons) and fab value all round. Would defo recommend for a stay in York. Ideal for walking around York and not too far from Railway Station. 👍😀

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank gareth1920
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Reviewed yesterday NEW

    Great location, room good size for family of 4 my only complaint is the kids beds the spring of the mattress are very close to the surface this is the second travel lodge I have stayed at and both have been the same it must be the mattress design please look at this travel lodge

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank joannecH4841QZ
    Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

    We stayed here for one night as we were out exploring york and returned to hotel after 5pm the room is basic which we know stayed at many travelodge before the bathroom was horrible the bath was black where you stand in to shower I think personally soaking in bleach would remove these stains the floor must get quick lick...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank hazelgled
    TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    Handy for York centre, near to the wall and river, useful having the pub next door for meals, hotel room comfortable and reasonably clean, staff pleasant, no hairdryer in the room but reception gave us one, lovely big fluffy bath towels. Car park nice and close.

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank P5436TJlisag
    TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It is an absolute delight to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our hotel location being handy for the area and experiencing clean, comfortable accommodation. We will be making the hotel aware of your comments and we do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

    kent,England
    Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

    Stayed from Friday to Sunday as part of a rail deal with super break. I found the hotel to be very good, clean and compact with friendly staff. It is ideally located for the city centre (less than 10 min walk) and is close to York castle, York dungeons and Jorvik centre. There is a large, well run wetherspoons underneath...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank maidenengland
    TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your stay. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

    Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

    Like most Travelodges you know that it's a bed for the night and really just a base during your trip. I booked this Travelodge as it was the cheapest place in town. It was comfortable enough and modern. Perhaps it could have been just a touch cleaner as I noticed a dirty mark on the pillowcase and a towel (probably...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Eaterouterr
    TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay. We are sorry to learn that you found marks on your pillow and towel and will be sure to pass your comments onto the hotel manager. Thank you again for your...

    Doncaster
    Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

    We stayed for one night as we were attending a show at the Barbican. The hotel is walking distance. If you want breakfast it's available at the ajoing pub come restaurant. The room we had overlooked the river and a mill house. It was quiet except for the ducks in the morning. The room is basic as you would expect...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Vincent F
    Rushden, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    The hotel is just what you need for a weekend stay in the Centre of York, Staff are friendly and made the effort to talk to my 5 Year old Twins, the hotel is clean and tide, and the pub next door does some good food,

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank P5ulk
    Chesterfield, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    We have stayed at this hotel before as it is only a fifteen minute walk to and from the train station, The staff on reception are always on hand to help and nothing appears to be a problem. There are signs on each floor asking people to be quiet when returning to their rooms late at night and there are...

    Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank sp1re1te

    44 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (35)
    Viewed
    View from Room (6)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (3)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (4)
    Viewed
    Pool/Beach Area (1)
    Viewed
    Other (21)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (9)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (2)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (4)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (3)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these York hotels
    0.8 km away
    Travelodge York Central Micklegate
    1.0 km away
    Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
    0.7 km away
    Park Inn by Radisson York
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.1 km away
    Hotel 53
    Hotel 53
    #32 of 46 in York
    1,693 reviews
    0.3 km away
    Novotel York Centre
    4.8 km away
    Holiday Inn Express York
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    About the property
    • Wheelchair Access
    • Non-Smoking Hotel
    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Accessible rooms
    Internet
    • Paid Wifi
    • Paid Internet

    Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

    Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
    Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
    Amenities:
    Wheelchair access
    Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
    Number of rooms: 141
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Travelodge York Central Hotel York
    Central Travelodge York
    Travel Lodge York
    York Travel Lodge
    York Travelodge
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central staff and other travellers.
    8 questions
    Ask a question

    See all questions (8)

    Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “Check the cleanliness thoroughly.”
     of 5 bubbles DKVB, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
    “Rooms can be a little noisy facing the hotel across the road - due to staff outside smoking and chatting!”
     of 5 bubbles R5325DGpatriciab, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “Don't get a room near lifts (e.g. 201)”
     of 5 bubbles NorthEast_76, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “not near the lift or above the bottle bins”
     of 5 bubbles Moonchild484, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
    “We stayed in room 206. Lovely view out of the window in the morning (we arrived in the dark) of canal and city walls”
     of 5 bubbles ARM555, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
    5 of 5