We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jorvik Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jorvik Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jorvik Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 546: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I recently booked a twin room in the hotel with a friend. We only stopped one night but I'd happily go there again. We had no problems with our booking and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's very well located on a nice street right outside a park with easy access to the train station and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully myself and the team can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we arrived the young lady told us that our booking had been lost due to a malfunction with the computer system. However, she booked us into a room, we paid the full balance which we had been quoted on the phone, which was below the usual price due to a mistake by one of the hotel staff. he had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 652Vera
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your check in and check out of the hotel did not run as smoothly as it should. I do remember you checking in and it was on the day that our new computer system was installed. As you experience we did have a few teething problems but...

cheshire
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our second visit in 40 years to this hotel , just tried to recapture the romance, ha ha the room we were given was room 5 on the top floor at the front ,nice room ,a bit hot ,as the weather was very hot the two days we stayed ,the windows were wide open so nice fresh air,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheshireLorraine
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay during the Tour de France. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards

derbyshire
Reviewed 21 July 2014

No complaints at all staff very helpfull, comfortable room, fantastic breakfast. Brilliant location your a short stroll from everything of interest & were the hotel is situated is a very quiet peacefull location had a fabulous nights sleep , would definately reccommend this hotel to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dizzy1972
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my Partner booked a double room for three nights. I paid by card at check in (twice) because the man at reception said my money didnt go through the first time because somebody rang up the hotel at the same time as I pressed enter. He told me not to worry though. He was polite and pointed us...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank chris b b
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review. If i can address the points that you made. When you checked into the hotel this room had been check and deemed ready for service. As you may see from previous reviews we have an onsite / on call maintenance that check our rooms daily. This room had no problems when it was...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A great location and a friendly hotel but definitely needs a bit of "tweaking". Nothing was too much trouble when we asked for a ground floor room after the first night as I had trouble climbing the stairs. Excellent facilities in the bathroom (walk-in shower and bath) but there was no window and no extractor fan which must lead to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Car0le445
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review. If i can address each of your points in turn. I think you have a point with the storage in the bathroom. The room you were resident in does only have minimal storage and i think this is something that we should look into and will be doing so. We did not run...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I have just had a weekend in this hotel 28/06/14 absolutely lovely hotel , the rooms are excellent very comfortable we were in room 16 and we had a gorgeous Jacuzzi bath and a luxury shower , all staff were very polite and helpful , breakfast were lovely all food were quality produce .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 348joanne
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here in early June as part of mini tour group. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the hotel was nicely decorated. What did it for me was the friendly and helpful staff, especially Mark on the front desk. I was pleasantly surprised at the power shower and Jacuzzi bath though you do have to be a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jonathan K
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. I will pass on your compliments to the staff and to Mark. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Jorvik soon. Kind Regards

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night whilst visiting York. Fantastic location just a 10 minute walk approx from the train station with a lovely scenic route headed to the hotel through the park. Close to everything literally in the centre of York! Like the other reviewers mentioned if your planning to stay out later than 9 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stacey H
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Jorvik in the not to distant future. Kind Regards

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've given the Jorvik a 3/5 rating, but really I wanted to go for 3.5/5. I really liked the hotel, but could see a few places where some improvements could be made fairly easily that would have made a big difference. First, the positives: top of the list is the location. It's about 5-10 minutes walk to the city centre...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil H
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. To address your points we do have in both of those rooms heated towel rails and hooks on the backs of the bathroom doors. We try to provide as much hanging space where possible in all of our bathrooms....

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (71)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
967 reviews
1.0 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
1,794 reviews
0.3 km away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Churchill Hotel
4.5 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.4 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 22 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50-52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €64 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jorvik Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
England
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Jorvik Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One of the new rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sarahdL5963PG, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had Room #7, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kathybA4491SE, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 5”
 of 5 bubbles davemoly, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on front of hotel have nice views over church and park”
 of 5 bubbles suel101, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the corridor doors as they are very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jackieb420, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5