We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middletons York

Show Prices
#24 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Middletons York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middletons York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 661: English reviews
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We have just got back from a lovely weekend away in York! After my boyfriend upgraded the room I was looking forward to it even more!! Upon arrival the staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming, the room was extremely clean and well presented! The bathroom really let the room down, the bath was a half size one, extremely dated decor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aimeerd
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay. I am sorry the bathroom was a disappointment, I will ensure our maintenance team take a look at the room to see what can be done. We generally don't receive any complains in our deluxe rooms so it is certainly something I will look into! I apologise for the breakfast...

Derbyshire
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We've just spent the weekend in York and stayed at both the Royal hotel then Middletons; one night in each. In both the rooms were ok no more, this one has the edge for though for serving a better breakfast which we enjoyed - with the exception of their juice, which like so many is straight out of a carton...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaSt
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the pleasant comments regarding your stay. I am sorry that you would not return, but we hope in future you find somewhere more to your liking! Best wishes, Middletons

Reviewed 13 March 2015

Middletons is a friendly, well organised establishment, surroundings are beautiful, rooms are fantastic , food is great, parking in site for £10 per night charge, the staff at this hotel make this such a wonderful hotel, helpful, friendly and polite. Highly recommended made our visit so much we'll definitely return. 5 mins walk to centre perfectly positioned as well what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haterobbersandconpeople
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for all the lovely comments regarding your recent stay! We look forward to your return, and remember to book direct to save 10%! Kind regards, Middletons

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk into near the river bank. It is a mix of old buildings and is very pretty outside with a garden in one part. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and well decorated. Breakfast of salmon and scrambled eggs was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven113
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Steven, Thank you very much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon - remember to book direct to receive a 10% discount! Best wishes, Middletons

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Visited March 8th for a one night stay, after reading the reviews i wasnt sure what to expect but decided to give it a go. I am so happy i took that decision, i would rate this beautiful hotel a 6 but sadly 5 is the maximum. On arrival we were greeted by a gentleman on reception, Gino was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolPanda
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for the fantastic review! It is lovely to hear you had such a great stay! We look forward to welcoming your family members in the future, and you also when you next visit! Kind regards, Middletons

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Beautiful, old building very tastefully restored and decorated. The hotel was easy to find and there is car parking, we were parked right outside the main door, so no long walk with our bags, although you have to negotiate a rather steep drive down into the car park! For a skilled driver like me there was no problem though!!! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catemo
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am sorry that you were not happy with our standard room. They are currently awaiting refurbishment and we try to reflect that in our prices however many people are happy with them! I am glad that you're stay was not damped by this though and that the issues were...

Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Had a night away here without our children with another couple. On arrival we were really pleased. Reception and bar area were really lovely as were the staff. Very attentive! Had a great lunch and super sized glass of wine in the relaxing restaurant. Then we were shown to our room....;( we had booked a double room through booking.com. Turns...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nina W
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Nina, I am very disappointed reading your review, and very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I am sorry that your room was not as you would have liked, and our standard rooms are the final part of our refurbishment, however our prices reflect that this is the case. I apologise that this was not how...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

I spent valentines weekend here as a solo traveller as I wanted to have my first visit to York. The hotel was in a splendid location and such a quirky place. The staff were excellent, the atmosphere was delightful. It was a perfect place to spend some time in the bar with my book and drink. The restaurant food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renee88
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Renee, Thank you very much for the great review! I am sorry the pool was not as you would have liked, however it does have a jet system that you can swim against (similar to a treadmill but for swimming), I apologise that you were not informed of this. Due to our central location, we feel it is the...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 March 2015

This hotel is made up from a number of old buildings tastefully converted into hotel rooms and is in the centre of York. We (mum, dad and a 4yr old) stayed for 3 nights late in February and booked a refurbished deluxe triple room. The location : just a few minutes walk from the main shopping area and very close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonfr
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for the great review! We can cater for little ones in our kitchen no problem, but we are looking at a way to make it more known to our guests that it is not a problem! So we hope on your next visit you will try it out! We look forward to your return, and remember...

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

We stayed here for three nights - Weds to Friday in February. We chose an Executive room which was in a separate area of the hotel. The room was superb - spacious, light and airy with a lovely big bathroom. I've stayed in lots of hotels around the country and I have to say, this one is by far the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thank you very much for all the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay! I apologise that the gym staff were not as welcoming as they should be, and we will be bringing that up with them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. And remember to book direct to save 10%! Kind regards, Middletons

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Single Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
843 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €76 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middletons York staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Middletons York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 is huge.”
 of 5 bubbles Champagnequeen9, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 48, ground floor and against the street. The street was quiet and room had secondary glazing”
 of 5 bubbles buttonsmum, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you do not want to hear the noise from the carpark do not have a room at the back on the first floor, especially by the entrance barrier.”
 of 5 bubbles Beeseli, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were very happy to be on the third floor-quiet- though no lift for luggage”
 of 5 bubbles 774JanC, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJuleslondon, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay