We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton York

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,509: English reviews
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Applejax American Sports Bar is part of the Hilton Hotel. Formerly Henry J. Beans. Have been eating here for years. Great burgers and fabulous cocktails at reasonable prices in a modern clean bar. Obviously busy when Sports are on Sky. Suitable for the family to dine in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank primroseviolet
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear little navvy, Thank you for your review on Appleajack’s. It is great to receive such positive comments and delighted you enjoy the burgers, and our fabulous choice of cocktails. We look forward to seeing you in Applejack’s soon. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel was well located within an easy walk to the town centre, lots of sights and restaurants. It also has a car park with valet parking which is convenient as long as you are not in a hurry when you leave as it can take time to get your car back. Breakfast was also good with a big choice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Steven E, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The feedback we receive from our customers is a key part of our continuous improvement. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused with regards to the noise disturbance. I can confirm that we have work commencing on this problem in the new year which...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The hotel is centrally located without being too near the very busy noisy area. They offer parking space if you have a car and our room was very clean with comfortable beds but on the small side. Breakfast was great and the waitress & bar staff, receptionists were very helpful and friendly. All the staff lived up to the reputation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G O
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear G O, Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay. I am delighted that you found the service of our staff to be friendly and we lived up the reputation of Yorkshire, most friendly! I have passed on your comments to them all and I am so pleased that we left such a positive impression on your stay....

Inverness
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I stayed here last 2014 for 3 notes whilst on a training course.the meals were lovely.fresh cooked quality food.staff friendly and down to earth.would recomend.very close to all the trendy shops and places of interest.minster was stunning.lots of walks round about.great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxykaz5
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear foxykaz5, Thank you for your five star review regarding your stay last year at Hilton York. Delighted you enjoyed the meals, found my team most friendly and the location great for visiting York. Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

This hotel is in a lovely location, looking out over historic attractions and located perfectly in York. Its has a nice breakfast selection and the receptionists are really helpful. Rooms are a great size and wonderfully clean and have everything you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S B
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear S B, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Hilton York. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment the team especially the receptionists. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton York soon! Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We had a fabulous stay at The Hilton, York for a wedding. It is excellently located on Tower Street, walking distance of all the attractions. Great view of Clifton Tower from the bar. The room was very nice, with an iron and ironing board and a flat screen TV. I don't think this hotel has had the refit that some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peach1038
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Peach1038, Many thanks for your great review following your stay at Hilton York. Glad to read you had a 'brilliant stay' and enjoyed the great view and hotel room. Delighted you found the room amazing and the table service second to none at the wedding I have passed your feedback on to the team involved. We look forward to...

Pocklington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Attended a function for 144 here on Saturday the 26th of Sept - the food was dreadful !!! Lukewarm soup, the Old English Chicken was tough and had little taste, sauce very thin, the roast potatoes, carrots and green beans were all overcooked, lacking flavour and soggy. The only decent thing about the meal was the breadbun that went with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RuthSteels
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear RuthSteels, Thank you for your review following your visit at Hilton York. I am sorry that you had a very disappointing experience at a function you attended at the hotel. I was most disappointed to read your comments regarding the poor quality and presentation of the food. This is unacceptable and I have spoken with the Head Chef who...

Horsham
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We chose this hotel because of its ideal location within walking distance of most of historic York's various attractions. It is a good, clean, modern hotel with very comfortable beds in quiet roons. Concierge parking a great help. A splendid breakfast. All in all, terrific value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonHarrisonHorsham
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear DonHarrisonHorsham, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to learn you felt our location was ideal for exploring the city of York and found our beds to be most comfortable and felt your stay was great value. Our concierge team do a great job of parking guest cars and I will be sharing you feedback with them. We...

Armadale
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We chose the Hilton in York for its position. We were 2 senior citizens with our 5 year granddaughter. Staff were excellent-very good with children. Good breakfast and evening dinner and 5 year old no charge for food.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HamishArmadale
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear HamishArmadale, Many thanks for your great review. Delighted to read you enjoyed our central location and found my team excellent, I have shared your feedback with them all. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Hotel is pleasant and staff were exceptional but I fail to see the price of staying here. Room was no better than the lower rated hotels we've stayed in. No free wifi which is poor for the price of staying here. Breakfast not included also poor for the price. Have to pay for parking. Restaurant was pricey and food did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexi456
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear alexi456, I appreciate your review of your experience at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Wifi is complimentary in the lobby and restaurant areas and also for our Hilton Honor members. Car parking in York is at a premium. However, I am confident that...

455 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (312)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
997 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €109 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room with a view of the tower which we appreciated”
 of 5 bubbles TigerHull_uk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not next to the lift / fire doors !!!”
 of 5 bubbles WILLIAMW681, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms to the front of the hotel, especially on lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob1109, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of Cliffords Tower and ideally not near the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles nortonfen, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front can be a little noisy”
 of 5 bubbles davidss931, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5