We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,369: English reviews
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We came here to make cocktails on our friends hen weekend and we had a blast our teacher was a young man called Rich who was fantastic and lots of fun. The hotel bar we found to be very expensive though, which you may say is to be expected from such an establishment but when i had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Andrea C, Thank you for your five star review. Pleased to read you all had ‘blast’ at your Cocktail Masterclass and found Rich to be fantastic and very polite. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback on our team members and I have passed your comments on to Rich. Should your travels bring you back to the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

The Rooms here are tiny. Thank goodness we only had to stay 1 night. We're a family with 2 children ages 5 & 10 - the twin double rooms would struggle as a single instead they have crammed 2 doubles in. as a result theres very little space to maneuver. Hence both my wife and daughter both smashing their legs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael O
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Jollywodgers, Thank you for taking the time post a review on Tripadvisor. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the areas our services failed to deliver to your expectations and that you felt the room was claustrophobic. Whilst I would not like to make any excuses, I would like to assure you that your experience is certainly not...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

I have stayed in Hilton hotels before and while they are not the cheapest hotel chain they are certainly one of the best. Very high standards and a cracking breakfastand the location is the best in York, easy to get any were from here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan R
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Alan R, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and central location. We are fortunate to be in such a great area for exploring York. Thank you again for your kind comments as we pride ourselves on delivering high standards to all our guests. I hope...

Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

I booked with a Groupon voucher so value for money was good. However I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price. Breakfast was lovely with a fantastic choice , variety and quality. However small room. When we received our room key it did not work. Asked at reception and she gave us a new key. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannahlucy9
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear hannahlucy9, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. Pleased to read that over all you had a good stay and enjoyed our lovely Hilton breakfast. I am sorry to learn that your key card did not work on multiple occasions it seems that there was a technical error, however I can confirm...

Oxford
Reviewed 20 August 2015

My Wife & I stayed here for 4 nights refcently whilst sightseeing locally. Whilst the hotel is conveniently located within the City Walls, close to Clifford Tower & other attractions it is the Staff that will leave a lasting impression. They were excellent in all departments and all deserve praise for their Customer Service & interpersonal skills. Breakfasts were excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timetravellerOxford
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear timetravellerOxford, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that you both a had a great stay and enjoyed the location and our Hilton breakfast with eggs cooked to order. I am very proud of my team as they work extremely hard delivering excellent customer service, I will be...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Central location, but quiet. Car parking by concierge, seems expensive, until you check the alternatives! Friendly and helpful staff Nothing to complain about! Just the place for a family meet up Modern hotel, but just over the road from Cliffords Tower and the Castle Museum

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Bernard G, Thank you for your kind comments following you stay at Hilton York. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and pleased you found my team helpful and friendly and our great central location. Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York....

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

My love and i spent 1 week at this hotel over valentines. Its so lovely. We were on DBB paid extra for the bigger room with a nice view. And it was worth it! Everyday we would wake up and see clifford's tower right outside the window. The hotel is lovely. The staff are really friendly. Rooms are nice. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel_angel93
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Iona B, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a lovely stay over Valentine's Day and enjoyed the deluxe room, food and the atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This hotel is centrally located opposite Clifford's Tower. The staff were friendly and the room was lovely. I am gluten free and the restaurant staff were very helpful with regards to this. Sometimes it is a chore having to explain what I can't eat but they made it simple and they were already aware of my condition as I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen H
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Bronwen H, Thank for your five star review. It is really rewarding to receive such kind comments about our hosts and the service they deliver. I am pleased that the restaurant team were most helpful in your dietary requests. I am so pleased that we left such a positive impression on your stay and look forward to welcoming you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

A really good central hotel everything is so close. The family room was good with two double beds, rather than the usual put-u-ups for the child. Bathroom was good, room had everything we needed. In the morning we went down for breakfast which was very good, a great deal of choice and eggs made to order. Staff also very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear lib1, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to read you found our location great for exploring the lovely city of York, enjoyed the room and our great Hilton breakfast. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to my team as they go above and beyond to make our guest feel welcome. Once again thank...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

A superb location for anyone visiting York. We stayed two nights on this occasion, in order to see the superb Railway Children production. Staff are without exception polite and helpful. The bed was a bit firm for our taste but in all other respects the room was fine. This was our second visit and we would certainly come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William R
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear William R, Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I am proud of my team as they work extremely hard delivering great customer service to all our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a third visit in the near future. Kind regards,...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €100 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check in online 24 hours before stay and you can choose your room/ floor of choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Nick_J55, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Cliffords Tower - worth the extra money as the room is much bigger and beds larger,”
 of 5 bubbles tankgirl25, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LandJ1526, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the map the rooms to the rear left as you enter the hotel have no view.”
 of 5 bubbles F8009TAdavidh, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont use 342”
 of 5 bubbles claretsBurnley, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay