We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton York

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,441: English reviews
Whitley Bay
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Ideally located for central York. Overall however the hotel looks and feels little tired. It didn't really feel like a 4 star hotel. The shower summed it up really: poor water pressure. On the other hand, the staff couldn't do enough for us, and were really friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yugs
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear yugs, Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and apologise for the disappointment with your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. On a brighter note I am pleased you found my team to be most...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Been some years since I stayed. Ideally placed for everywhere you might care to visit The rooms are clean and comfortable Service and breakfast was excellent The lady that cooks the eggs starts everyone's day off with a warm welcom and a friendly smile and banter. She is a legend. I shall return again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence S
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Laurence S, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted to read you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast. I have passed on your lovely comments about our great Breakfast Chef, she certainly is a credit to the hotel as are my whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York...

Brighton
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

The stay was ok. The Hilton is looking tired. Reception service was ok, had already checked in on the app so was quick to collect my key. It's cold in the evenings in York now and walking in to a room at 7pm where a window has been open and the heating turned off was not very welcoming. It took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jagc
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear jagc, Thank you for posting your review following your stay. I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expectations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned will be fully investigated and reviewed as it...

Lasswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

My first impression is that it looks better on the outside rather than the inside, not the other way round. On entering the reception it looked like a bomb had hit it, there was luggage all over the floor to the side, which would violate any Health and Safety regulations. The overall check in experience took over 20 minutes while...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mike2576
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Mike2576, Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Hilton York Hotel. I am sorry to lean that you had a disappointing stay with us and that you Hilton Honor status was not recognised and that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations of what you have come to expect from Hilton Hotels, we...

England
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Generally, hotel is comparable to Travelodge /Premier Inn (except that it has catering). Location is excellent, within walking distance of all City attractions. Room is small and bathroom tiny. our room had view onto blank wall of derelict buildingNo shower cubicle, wardrobe or fridge. Only two drawers. No a/c. Staff helpful and restaurant service good. Menu not very extensive. Room...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank digby40
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear digby40, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to learn that that you felt the hotel was poor quality. I was concerned to learn that you were disappointed with the size and standard of the room you were allocated, whilst as I am sure you will appreciate that the size...

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The hotel is in the heart of the city so great for all sights and shopping etc.. The room was comfortable and clean but as we did not eat in the hotel we cannot comment on the food/service in the restaurant or in the room. Overall for us a very good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheree G
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Sheree G, Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton York. Delighted to read you had lovely stay and found our central location excellent for exploring York. We look forward to welcoming you back for another good experience in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Uk
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The welcome was warm, and having checked in my key was ready when I got there (Late on a Sunday night). The bed was comnforable and the shower good. The room was not overlarge, but did have a nice double bed! The breakfast buffet was good although I felt the scrambled eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tfl1
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Tfl1, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton York. Happy to read you had a good stay and received a warm welcome up on arrival and enjoyed the room. Your comments regarding breakfast have been noted and passed on to the Head Chef for his attention. We look forward to...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Nice location and the rooms are comfortable. But if you're here on business be warned that the wifi is atrocious in some parts of the hotel (particularly the bedrooms) The car parking charge is also extortionate The food was reasonable but not a great deal to choose from. It could be so much better

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Domino2012
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Domino2012, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at HiltonYork. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton York, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback has been taken on board and will help us deliver this brand promise. Unfortunately in York...

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I stayed here on business on a Sunday night. The service at reception was excellent, although when i wished to check in the two staff were very busy with a lot of guests. I needed a sewing kit and the reception staff were happy to help. My room was well appointed, clean and airy. Unfortunately it was one of those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt0844
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Matt0844, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to learn you received excellent service at check in and found your room well appointed. Your comments regarding breakfast have been noted and passed on to the Head Chef for his attention. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a Bed & Breakfast basis. Nice comfortable room, good breakfast choice. Hotel ideally situated for exploring York with good choice of restaurants in the vicinity. Parking was a bit expensive at £18 a night but at least the car was in a secure underground car park with valet parking. Would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Annie B, Thank you for your five star review. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Hilton York hotel, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near...

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
922 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €96 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a tower view”
 of 5 bubbles cmcManchester, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room with the view of the tower is very good”
 of 5 bubbles robw317, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor which was ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 491malcolmp, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“De-luxe twin or doubles on a high floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles ossiejolly, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick the suite as it is next to a busy street”
 of 5 bubbles LukeB1985, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay