We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wheeldale

Show Prices
#13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Wheeldale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Mirfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The manager was rude when we arrived and his 1st comment was regarding payment, at no time was there any courtesy and will not go back. The only positive was the breakfast which was nice but the person who served can only be described as a little hitler

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

We do not have the facility to preatherize cards so that is why payment is taken upon arrival. More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on the sea front. Stayed in room 6 which is a mini suite in the attic. Bedroom, toilet and shower downstairs, upstairs a lovely sitting room with bathroom. 3 comfy chairs, a big tv and a fab view of the sea. Was a very windy rainy weekend in November when we stayed but both bedroom and sitting room were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline790
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Hi Caroline We very much appreciate your great review and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Peter More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needs a revamp, lile being in a dirty throwback from the 70s and dont even get me started on the 'customer service' skills of the staff...the manager 'peter' wouldn't know what manners were if they slapped him in the face! RUDE RUDE RUDE!!! Avoid at all costs, if u dont believe me just read his replys to the complaints made... More 

Helpful?
Thank chinonsooffor
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

I would advise anyone to avoid you at all costs. Some people like the so called 70's look and maybe you should spend your time learning to spell properly. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed 😞. Managers were rude,unhelpful We were made to feel like shouldn't of bn there. Asked for payment as soon as we arrived, hadn't seen are room. When we left I asked for a refund. He was arrogant, once again. He said NO YOU ARE NOT HAVING YOUR MONEY BACK. Disgusted.

Helpful?
Thank 15623117
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

NO no Refund will ever be given. More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night unfortunately I got took ill in the night however Rebecca was amazing calling the ambulance, getting some things together to take with me and staying with me till the ambulance crew came. She went above and beyond. They looked after my car and belongings till I was fit enough to return and collect them.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1979butterfly
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

We would love to have you back again and are so pleased that you are recovering from when you were taken ill last week. Rebecca says hello and was very pleased to help you when you were so ill. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place for one night on the 9th November as it was my partners birthday. Very welcoming and the room was perfect with the lust sea views. Staff was very polite and the free breakfast was nice too. Overall we both enjoyed our stay for a short while and would stay again 100%. Last but not least they was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordan B
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Duke leeroy and Angel l our 3 resident cats.We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and been happy, and this visit was as good as ever. We were made to feel welcome as always, and the room had everything we needed, including free wifi. Everything is clean and well kept. The breakfasts here are amazing, with lots of different options. The waitress who serves and co-ordinates breakfasts is so lovely,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose-Chris2013
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Very very pleased for the top marks and thanks for the comments about our breakfasts.We hope to see you again on a third visit. More 

Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The wheeldale Hotel, a warm wellcome and very helpful regarding parking permits, great value for money, WiF and Sky Sports in all rooms, great sea views and wonderful English breakfast, everything you need for a holiday in Whitby.

Helpful?
Thank davidelli0tt
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with my husband foe one night to relax and get some sea air in delightful Whitby. Check in was handled quickly and efficiently we were soon in a lovely room (room 3) two comfortable bucket chairs and a little table were placed in the bay window and we made the most of them sitting there with a cup... More 

Helpful?
Thank 575shirley
Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had contacted the manager to advice we would be arriving on the later times obviously within late check in request and had seen on web page that the screenshots was available. I suggested I would upgrade on arrival and this was successful. Staff very pleasant room very modern and clean but the views were breathtaking.

Helpful?
Thank garciamark
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Many many thanks for your very positive review.We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,794 reviews
0.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
947 reviews
0.0 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
260 reviews
1.0 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 km away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: €55 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
The Wheeldale Whitby, England
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheeldale staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheeldale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles davidelli0tt, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room 3 which has bay window giving even better view”
 of 5 bubbles 575shirley, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Give it a try.”
 of 5 bubbles garciamark, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 10 and slept v well”
 of 5 bubbles annc144, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 on the first floor is en-suite with a large bay window giving unrivalled views of the iconic harbour piers and the ever-changing sea”
 of 5 bubbles NEALBOURNE, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay