We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of Magnolia Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This was my second visit to the magnolia ,on arrival we were greeted very warmly by the owner ian, who as always was the perfect host, we stay in room 2 great clean king size room,with all amenities, dont miss the lovely breakfast and banter that goes with it,already booked again for next year, would reccomend very highly cheers for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

As always loved our stay at the Magnolia this was our first time bringing our little boy and Ian couldn't have gone out his way anymore if he tried!! We come back everytime not for the comfortable room or amazing breakfast but for the hosts!! Ian your a cracking chap and a great host!! Will see you again soon!! Cerrianne,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cerrianne E
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We decided to go to Whitby a on a last-minute whim. We needed a family room (two adults, one eight year old and a dog). The owner (Ian) booked us in and was incredibly welcoming from the moment we set foot in the place...to the moment we left. We had room 9 and it was warm, comfortable, quiet and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul H
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This was recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. The owner Ian welcomed us from the moment I made the booking and remembered my first name when we arrived over one month ( and a bit late!) later. The full English breakfast was delicious and we were given a chance to have a lie in if we wanted. Great location;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmtillot
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Another fabulous warm welcome from Magnolia, we have stayed here several times and each time is as memorable as the last. Ian is a fabulous host and quite possibly the nicest man we have ever met. Room was lovely and warm on arrival and throughout our stay, lovely and clean and very comfortable bed with luxury thick duvet. Bathroom also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiger029
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed in room 5 - a family room- with my husband, 8 year old daughter and 2 dogs. The room itself is ok- comfortable and warm. Had the usual amenities such as coffee and tea etc...The bathroom a bit small but adequate and could do with a bit of tlc. The walls are quite thin..could hear when the neighbours returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buntola
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for New Year's Eve 2016. Excellent hotel, excellent host he can't do enough for his guests and cooks an excellent breakfast. Beautiful building, rooms vary in size but all are clean and extremely comfortable Guest house is only 5 mins walk from the centre. Very dog friendly, think we were the only room without a pet! Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Magnolia. The room was comfortable and well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for us. Breakfast was cooked well and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Will deffinetly recommend and revisit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Lets get the negative points out the way first. The shower was extremely small (having said that I'm rather on the large size !) Also as per a previous review, the bathroom could do with a little brush-up. We stayed on the top floor in room 5 I believe, Wifi connection was not brilliant, but it was fine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House, responded to this review

Richard, sorry about size of shower - I need to be careful here not to be disrespectful but it is a standard size and nobody has complained about the size in over 7 years. Glad that you enjoyed some of the other aspects of your stay. Take care

Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Very good location and fortunate to find a parking space more or less outside as the town was very busy due to it being school holidays. Ian was an excellent and very friendly host who gave good recommendations of places to visit and eat in the town. We were in room 5 as we were a family of 2 adults,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leekmuncher7474
Ian W, Owner at Magnolia Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed with your room. We do not intend to 'modernise' our building as we are proud of being custodians of a gorgeous early Victorian property with many original features. With respect, it sounds like you are probably better off staying in a modern clinical white box hotel. It really is a matter of choice. The room you...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 km away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
347 reviews
0.2 km away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
300 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#122 of 152 in Whitby
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
568 reviews
0.2 km away
Boulmer Guest House
Boulmer Guest House
#71 of 152 in Whitby
109 reviews
0.1 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Magnolia Guest House Whitby, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Magnolia Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the front have a better view”
J2737IZrichards, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The top floors don't pick up wi-fi as good as lower floors.”
111joanne, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms provide more peaceful stay”
_00JR00_, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Lower ground floor room if possible”
NCS62, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Ian”
MikeR548, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5