We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Accomodation

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 722: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Accomodation
 Click to rate
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Just arrived back from staying six nights in a discovery apartment, 5 royal crescent, Whitby. The apartment is situated with views over Whitby bay and it is a great location. On arrival, first impressions left us a bit worried because the apartment block looked drab an uninviting with its blue window frames especially as older deselected looking resident sitting on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just back after a two night break in Discovery's Starfish room, reserved car parking didn't quite happen so left the car in a council car park a short walk away, room was tiny and very basic with a direct view of a funeral parlour opposite the window :( Stayed two nights with Discovery and the four teabags and four milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyblack662017
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My first time using Discovery Accommodation booked with them for two nights for a surprise for my Wife for Mother's Day and was not disappointed.We had a very nice apartment clean and well kept and breakfast is really nice. Staff are very helpful and friendly thank you for a very enjoyable stay will definitely recommend and will be booking again.👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas60
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed your stay, Dallas and look forward to welcoming you back.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked on line for a night in Whitby. Arrived at 14-00 had to wait for a text at 15-00 which told us where are accommodation was and the code to get in . To say I was disappointed was a understatement. We were greeted with a room or should I say bedsit 13 ft by 12 ft with a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have spent the last two nights in the Discovery town house in the attic room. The room and decor were light, airy and very clean. Everything we needed for a couple of nights was provided. The bathroom was lovely and we had a choice of bath and shower. We were very happy with the price we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed your stay in Discovery Town House Leigh and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope your dog enjoyed it too!

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I enjoyed a lovely few days in Whitby, and was pleasantly surprised at my accommodation. It's a bit of a strange setup, the main hotel reception/kitchen/communal area is around the corner from the house where the room was. The house and room were very nice however, clean and well maintained. The only problems I had were that the window lets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joober
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just stayed for 3 nights in this accommodation we would not recommend it to anyone. The mattress on the bed sloped at the edge of the right hand side of the bed so much it was difficult to sleep. The area at the top of the very steep stairs was used as a dressing table and tea/coffee making area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleymallan
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

This is one of our economy rooms which is described as an en - suite room. We have several different property types which are of varying prices depending on the facilities. We have noted your comment about the mattress and carpet and will be speaking to our house keeping team. If you require a specific property in the future please...

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a three floor cottage-situated within walking distance of shops and the harbour in Whitby. Staff were friendly and particular credit goes to the young man on reception who helped us find the Falling Fosse Waterfall. Breakfast was adequate-served in a pleasant location nearby-although the tomatoes had an odd taste. The cottage is old and so therefore small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 807sara
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you fopr your feed back Sarah and pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. I will pass on your comments to Ryan .. he is a real asset to the business.

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights in Discovery Accomodation in March 2017. Nice, quiet place with central location. We had a spacious loft apartment. The rooms were clean and well kept. We did not have breakfast included but the kitchen was equipped with everything you needed for (stove, fridge, kettle, micro-wave etc.) It is located on a very quiet street and seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THA1974
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased that you had a nice relaxing stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Book directly with us to receive your 10% discount.

North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrivaval, i was extremely stressed out. Just seperated & moved. Plus parking difficulties. By the first day i was totally chilled, thoroughly enjoyed the pool and my thanks & appreciation to Mandy ( reception) she deals with alot friendly & efficiently. She deserves a pay rise undoubtedly. Will definately return.. thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kathryn and pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us. Mandy is a great asset to our team!

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (170)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,021 reviews
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,912 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
162 reviews
0.4 km away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: €55 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby
Discovery Accomodation Whitby, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Accomodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't chose the Starfish room please, you will be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles andyblack662017, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Discovery have many apartments around Whitby all close to the centre”
 of 5 bubbles janeclarkek, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Newton Street Apartments Discovery Cottage”
 of 5 bubbles KevinnAudrey, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Captains Nest was perfect for a couple and very private.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Number 1 Town house, room 2 very modern one bedroom apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles Brownster2014, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5