We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marlborough Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Marlborough Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marlborough Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Its two years since my last review for this establishment and as we were in Norwich again on 26th July we decided to book an experience at this guest house. The last visit we were on the ground floor, this visit we were on the first floor over looking the station but could not see the trains and very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colchester30E
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I rarely add a revue for places that I stay but this definitely earned one. We were staying in Norwich for a few days & as we need a place central & to accommodate 3 adults & 2 young children, the Marlborough came up in the search online. We had a lovely stay. The rooms.clean, modern with great en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suse R
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights when we went to see Rod Stewart - it was a lovely place to stay very convenient for the station and the stadium excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waggy15_13
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This guest house is far from city centre and sights and close to the bar street. The room had very little natural light and only one window which faced a wall. It was noisy as the room was close to reception, we could hear the phone ringing, people talking through the walls and people walking up and down the stairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jtraveller87
Maxine H, Owner at Marlborough Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Firstly, at no point did you speak to us regarding your unhappiness with your room, if you had of we would have been more than happy to move you to another room immediately. We have also never had complaints regarding wifi not working well in that particular area? You booked through booking.com on a no...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

i looked at this b+b for a 1 night stay in Norwich at the time of booking it reviewed with Booking.Com 9.3 rating with lots of raving reviews about the breakfast.THIS IS WHY WE BOOKED IT We arrived the person we met in the b+b, we noticed had 30 seconds earlier been out the front smoking. Not a great 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank patrick c
Maxine H, Owner at Marlborough Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When you made the booking with booking.com you booked a tariff that did not include breakfast. This was stated on your booking form under "meal plan" - no meal plan was included in your booking. Following the confusion and misunderstanding regarding your booking you were offered a full English breakfast for £6.00 per person, you...

Reviewed 21 May 2016

We decided to stay away for the night so we could visit a city restaurant and not have have to worry about taxing home as my wife wanted to treat me for my 50th. This hotel is very close to the centre so walking and short taxi rides are all possible to the main areas of the City. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Looks like it's been recently refurbished, lovely furnishings, and shower. Very clean throughout. Very friendly owners. Lovely breakfast. Very conveniently located, about 5minute walk to train station, riverside walks, restaurants, bars, cinema etc. about 15-20min walk to town

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie T
Winterborne Whitechurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

good place to stay, reasonably quiet on a back road near railway (can not hear trains) good places to eat within walking distance. Room are near and tidy and very comfortable, Breakfast first class. owner very friendly and helpful. Has own parking but restricted to 3 places although not much of a problem. All in all very good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anthony s
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Spotlessly clean guest house. Very friendly and attentive staff/owners and breakfast was cooked to perfection. Great variety of cooked items and fruit. Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend this guest house and would stay here again if I came back to Norwich.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margaret M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Stayed here for a Football weekend with my Son and chose it due to the excellent reviews, price, free parking, free wifi and location. Football was a let down, but the Hotel wasn't! Had a ground floor twin room, which apart from a stained Carpet when entering (that had been cleaned) was spotless and well presented. It had a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#6 of 50 in Norwich
1,002 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
407 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 km away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#25 of 50 in Norwich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Marlborough Guest House

Address: 22 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England (Formerly Marlborough House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: €53 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marlborough Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marlborough Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 is on very busy street but with windows closed you don't hear much at all. Certainly did not disturb my sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ralphwalker747, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 excellent! twin room on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles suzannehurst, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The family room's to the back of the property was quiet as it didn't face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles simonf262, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Only tried one room on front ground but not very noisy (did not keep either of us awake)”
 of 5 bubbles 277anthonys, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any, as in a quiet area away from main roads.”
 of 5 bubbles 124paulw124, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay