We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portobello House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portobello House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portobello House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

All things considered, speaking as an English person, devastated with the price ! One night just to lay our heads down 100 pounds each, no English breakfast at all . Everybody we spoke to in employment at the bar/ hotel was foreign . Room clean , staff polite , and that's it !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TraceyGrimason
limatad, Front Office Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Sorry you were unhappy with the price you paid. It was a Saturday night, and that night we had a waiting list of guests hoping that we would have a last minute cancellation. Most of our guests feel our prices are very reasonable for Notting Hill , in the borough of Kensington and Chelsea, and we have frequent...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Let me start by saying that I think my husband and I were spoiled by the B&B we stayed at in Brussels before arriving in London so tough to compare to that. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. However, the room was average. On the small side with the standard tiny shower. Having a pub downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msmelody77
Lyon, France
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Great room, great breakfast, nice venue and very helpful staff. The room was large, comfy and clean. We had chosen a "quiet" room (its window opened on low roofs and on a quiet open-air free-access balcony for hotel guests). The hotel felt very homey. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieAudrey
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Plus. Modern clean great location near tube and portobello road friendly helpful great bar Minus. Rooms bit small no bath breakfast basic entrance off street up a fire escape All in all I would recommend for couples wanting to be near Portobello or even Notting Hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dombo13
Reviewed 16 April 2015

7 mins walk to underground. Compact, cosy & clean hotel room with an espresso machine :)...The only negative thing is that hot water supply is only just warm... It is being fixed as advised. We enjoyed the cocktail hotel bar on ground floor very much... it opens until late. It has got picture (old movies) projected on the wall...quality drinks,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly L
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

My mother and I stayed last night and were both very happy with our stay. It was easy to find from Ladbroke Grove tube station, come out, turn left straight up the road and it's on your left. We were welcomed politely by staff members and shown to our nice and very clean room. We both slept well and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arp20
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed at Portobello House on our wedding night. Pros: Friendly, helpful manager; clean, quiet and comfortable room; good location. Cons: Lack of privacy - someone walked into our room at 10.30am (checkout is at 11) at a rather embarrassing moment!! Also, very slow/poor service in the bar downstairs - asked 3 times for a menu before finally receiving one....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank minipharm
limatad, Front Office Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I am sorry that you had an issue, which I checked, because we do care that all our guests have a lovely stay. The reception cctv noted that the housekeeping arrived at !0 .50 am. and were on your floor 3 minutes after that. Even if it was...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We booked 2 rooms for a nearby family wedding. Accommodating and attentive staff, able to check in early, helpful throughout stay. Rooms small (but with comfortable king size bed) but spotless. En suite very clean. Our room was reasonably quiet. We ate evening meal in the bistro downstairs, food & service good (also had free cocktail & 10% off). Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drgbay
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I popped in for food with my boyfriend as we were passing and I'm so glad we did! Staff were very attentive, but not annoying and really made us feel welcome. I think that little details make all the difference; my boyfriends coffee came with a biscuit and the waitress (I think her name was Daizy) ensured we always had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckyce
Bratislava
Reviewed 20 February 2015

I wanted to right a review for just the staff. Very accommodating, nice and professional! Very cute neighborhood and nice breakfast options. Georgina was especially friendly and helpful! I will be staying here the next time I come to London!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benik

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#570 of 1,089 in London
155 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#61 of 573 in London
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kennington B & B
#49 of 573 in London
345 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#90 of 573 in London
313 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €129 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Portobello House London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Covina

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, which faced Chesterton Road, was very quiet, even with a busy pub downstairs.”
bambilinasue, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space, spend the extra for Room 24. If you don't care, save money for the excellent bar by booking a cozy room.”
runnergirl1970, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
Seniorhound, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“King bed is actually the size of an American Queen bed. Bring Earplugs when you travel so that you can sleep peacefully no matter what.”
AllisonBalk, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to try to get away from the noise of the busy street and pub be sure to ask to stay on the top floor. I can't imagine how noisy the rooms just over the pub must be.”
msmelody77, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5