We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Agoda.comUS$162*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$233*
US$162*
Great Deal
US$199*
US$233*
US$163*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in the Marlin Apartments Empire Square recently for a weekend. The apartment was perfectly suited to our needs, spotlessly clean and well serviced. It's location beside London Bridge was prefect to get around easily to all the London attractions. Special note for Bradley at the checkin desk. He was so professional and courteous when we checked in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinTR250
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The place is looking old and tired and given the price, disappointing. The furniture is starting to look dated, the bedding was not overly comfortable. The drapes were missing hooks so hung off the rail, the shower head was broken, the hall way was marked with stained carpets. Moved into a second apartment and also needed attention again with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment was very nice, modern appliances, kind service in the front desk. Needs improvement in matresses (too bumpy) and old towels (mine was with a hole). I rented a 2bd/2bathroom. The living room was spacious but very reduced space for the dining table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hallway was dirty (littered) and it stayed like that for at least 24 hours; the room where the vacuum cleaner(s?) are stored was left wide open every single day (I was there for 2 nights) ; my bathtub had no plug (therefore couldn't run a bath and since the hot water tap and the cold water tap have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chichi n
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice decent apartment, stayed here one night over the weekend. It was a good, clean apartment. I booked a one bedroom apartment for a night out in the city. The apartments are well located for the West end and or the City, and we had a decent stay. The wifi was booked in the original booking fee, but watch out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MajA333
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We loved staying at Marlin Empire Square. The room was comfortable and the staff were very kind and helpful. Southwark is a great neighborhood. The tube station is one block away so you have access to the whole city but the area itself is intimate with it's own pubs and a real sense of community. Staying in a touristy area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bahar1974
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Wonderful apartment with all the necessary to have a great week-end! The location is fantastic, just a few step from the tube station and the chard! Very friendly staff too! I will come back with my family this summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
Management response:

Dear Felipe R, Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review! We are trilled to hear that the location of the property was good and the staff looked after you well. The team will be so pleased to hear your feedback. We look forward to having you back with us this summer! Once again thank you for your glowing review,...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The apartment was really spacious, equipped and clean and was ideal for what we wanted. We had a few issues which were as follows. 1. On arrival they take a pre authorisation on your card for £200 whixh we discovered after much wasted time that it was for damages. I was surprised that as they must do this with every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz_Poo
Management response:

Dear Caz_Poo Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay. We agree that the response time and promptness could have been better. We are carrying out detailed training with the team to strengthen their service skills and consistency. We are pleased to hear that you would recommend the location and...

Brighton
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the year on the basis of its location and you do get a lot of space for your money but it has become clear over the last few visits that standards have really dropped. Dirty toilet, bathroom in almost darkness due to lights not working. Communal areas stink of people's cooking. My recent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stripeydelius
Management response:

Dear stripeydelius, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, We are saddened to hear that you have experienced a drop in standards, we are constantly working on thorough and detailed training programs to enhance the teams services levels. We would love another opportunity to welcome you back and revive those first pleasant experiences you had from your...

Coromandel, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Have stayed at Marlin Apartments - Empire Square every time we have been to London(about 4 times) and each time the apartments we were allocated were smaller. Our last stay was in an apartment facing the street on the first floor, so had street noise and street lights shining into the bedroom. There was no plug for the bath, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mclal64
Management response:

Dear Mclal64, Thank you for your feedback, Overall we are saddened to hear that you feel the standards are dropping hear at Marlin, we have invested in thorough and detailed training to strengthen and enhance the teams service levels. In regards to your room allocation this is something we can not guarantee but can certainly do our up most to...

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#75 of 837 in London
465 reviews
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Clapham / Battersea 
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
#97 of 837 in London
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial district, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s City centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

Address: 34 Long Lane | 5-8 Empire Square South, London SE1 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Price Range: €149 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Apartments - Empire Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Apartments - Empire Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Empire Square London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marlin Apartments - Empire Square staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Marlin Apartments - Empire Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“nothing to offer”
C8806REpeterm, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go as high as possible, probably 5th floor or higher for a decent view.”
MajA333, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. Rooms on the higher floors above the gym offer view of courtyard. Very quiet and private.”
Bahar1974, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the Better. There is a road nearby, plus people walking home late from London Bridge. Balcony adds more room for a family.”
  • View of The Shard from the lounge
  • View of central courtyard of apartments.Mixture of owner & rental.
  • Lounge, kitchen, diner. Lots of light & separate areas
  • Decent sized bedroom, with drawers and plenty of hanging & storage space
  • Decent sized bathroom
  • Extensive kitchen if you want to keep to budget.
ColinandJulia, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great views”
aking73, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$162* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$199
PricelineUS$163
AMOMAUS$233
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates