We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,110: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 16 February 2015

good location but : -the elevator works very badly (long wait and not optimized) -you can enter the room only at 2 p.m. -the heater in the room was too warm and not possible to adjust -I asked not to have a bunk bed in my reservation but I was given one -I had a reduction so it's ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calia23
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello A TripAdvisor Member, Firstly can I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us after your recent stay here in London. I was disappointed to read that you had some reservations about some of the facilities we offer. Please be assured that we do our very best to try and make everybody’s stay as enjoyable...

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

My experience was very nice for the one night I spend at the hostel. The girl at the front desk was friendly. There were people on the street to greet me and show me the way. the bed was comfy, the bathroom clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariagQ2044TE
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi there mariagQ2044TE, Many thanks for taking some time to write your review on Generator London. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations during your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back to Generator for your next trip to London, and thanks again for choosing...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Was sold to me as "glampacking", and I kind of get where they are coming from - the place is decorated fairly flashily. The food available inside was pretty good, has a nice chill out area and a good bar open till 2 am. On the other hand the rooms were poorly equipped (admittedly fairly minor things, but one dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Joshua S, Thank you for sharing your Generator experience with us after your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our recently refreshed design-led social spaces and food menu. Some of the rooms are smaller than others but the multi-bed dorms enable us to offer very good rates for an exceptionally well connected location. We also...

Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Really good location, beautiful place, has a nice pub. A little bit hard to use the showers, difficult to control water temperature and no place to put your stuff. You have to pay to use the locker, so if you intend to use it all the time it won´t be cheap. Besides that it is really good. I recommend it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6luizs
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello 6luizs, Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your sty and all of your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be passing and suggestions along to the team here in London. I hope you managed to make use of the under bed lockers available in...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Myself and a group of 30 recently visited for a trip to London, and decided on the Generator Hostel. Their staff were so helpful managing the large amount of students and helping us arrange travel to and from the airport. The staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms were clean, and the hostel had great facilities. The pub is great craic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Peter L, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. It's great to hear from you and I'm delighted to hear that you and your group had a great stay with us here In London. I will of course pass along your comments regarding breakfast to our head Chef for consideration and I hope we will see you again soon. Best...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

There were 4 of us who booked into a 4 bed private dorm. When we originally went to our room, 2 of the beds had been slept in and there was rubbish all over the windowsill and floor. When we went to reception to inform them of this, staff were very impatient with us and housekeeping were clearly annoyed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoibheannsmyth
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi aoibheannsmyth, I was disappointed to read your feedback as what you have described is not at all what we aim to offer our guests here at Generator London. I have already started liaising with the team here to try and find out a little more about the experience you have described. In the meantime if you wish to discuss...

Paris, France
Reviewed 7 February 2015

It was the perfect choice for me. The hostel is really well located, near the tube, the British Museum and the Library. It has a young and modern atmosphere. There is a bar with great atmophere, a lounge area to read or chill out, and also a cinema! Yes, they had two cinema sessions per night (these are good alternatives...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jlazapon
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Jlazapon, I’d like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to read your review and to hear that you had a great time while you were with us. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Generator London again soon. Best Wishes Lenny...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We booked a double bed room with a bathroom. What we got was a 4 bed room (bunk beds?!) with no bathroom. Also the bathroom on the 2nd floor was out of order. So we went to the bathroom on the third floor which was flooded. It was either really cold or way to hot in the rooms. Under one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heidi k
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi there heidi K, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay in London. I was disappointed to read your feedback as what you have described is simply not what we’re about here at Generator London. Please feel free to contact me on Lenny.hughes@generatorhostels.com and I would be more than happy to chat in more detail about the...

Chiayi County, Taiwan
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Checked in first day after a cold front hit London. Room was cold so the GM had his staff give me a small heater. Great service. Also great is the travel shop. Ryan air are shocking tell me to use the mobile app to download my boarding pass. of course they don't tell you if you have a non EU...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim E
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Jim E, Firstly can I thank you for taking the time to share your review with us after your recent stay. It was good to talk to you and I’m pleased the team were able to offer you the assistance you needed to make your stay more comfortable. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back...

Marseille, France
Reviewed 5 February 2015

The Generators is one of my favorite place to stay in London. The atmosphere is great and young. We were in a private room for 3 it was convenient enough for my friends and i. The staff is really great. We adore the bar, this week end Papicat was mixing and it was so awesome. We will be back !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baptiste-k
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hell baptiste-k, It was lovely to read your comments after your stay with us here in London. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectations through out your stay. I hope we will be seeing you again soon, Best Wishes, Lenny Hughes - GM Generator London

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (438)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (227)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#346 of 1,078 in London
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 791 in London
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: €31 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar noise travels up at least 3 floors, on that side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChiefSasquatch, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Main floor is noisy! To leave/enter the hostel & bar at night you use a different door - this hallway is by the main floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amcoss, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay