We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

RestUp London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
RestUp London
RestUp London
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for RestUp London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Basic, pay for what you get hostel. Location is pretty good. Rooms are a little small and a bit hot, bathrooms were fine/acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights with my boyfriend. We asked for a double room and we got a room with bunk beds. That was bummer number one. The room was su-per-small. There was 1 meter between the beds and the bathroom door. The bathroom was also very small, but that didn't really bother us. It was rather clean. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessie M
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Jessie! I double checked your booking with the booking agency and you did in fact book a private twin room with bunk beds, not a double room. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding. We have a large, professional kitchen to help cater for the breakfast needs. We offer two options: the continental breakfast which consists of the basic buffet on...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I went with a group of friends for a weekend ... the hostel is very nice and new, we found ourselves very well because it is in a perfect position: it is a moment to get to the center! Breakfast ok and clean rooms and baths .. for the price I would say it is really good and I'll go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Staff lacked personality and were quite unfriendly when we first arrived. However a couple of the guys were helpful on the last day. Twin room was much smaller than we expected but was very clean. Not terrible but not the fun experience I expected in the heart of London. Garden area was very nice on a positive note.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
RestUp_London, Public Relations Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello Adam, First of all thank you for staying with us at Restup , and for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry that you felt this way about our staff , we can assure you that they always give their best and try and to be helpful to every guest. Thanks again for staying with us!...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

for the 5 star traveller keep scrolling. for the backpackers and get through the UK on a budget travellers look no further. Rooms are small but perfect size for a few nights. bedding is supplied which is nice, most rooms are bunkbeds and come with a sink, some rooms have own bathrooms (I've heard). Towels cost 5 pounds but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickM0909
RestUp_London, Guest Relations Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Nick! Thank you for staying with us at Restup and for the positive review. We cater towards backpackers, so we are happy that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again some day! Best regards, Enis @ reception

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The room was tiny and the window only opened about 3 inches making it very warm and uncomfortable during the night, but the price was cheap so I guess I cannot complain! I ended up leaving my phone charger in the socket (my own fault I know) and realised about 1 hour later when I had got on the train...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean H
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Sean! I am very sorry about your experience. I have double checked with our housekeeping team who have a lost & found area, as well as with my colleagues at reception, but I'm afraid your charger is nowhere to be found. We are usually very proud of our professional staff and high service level which is why I regret...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The place is really nice and tidy. But there is not plugs in the rooms. No wifi in the rooms. No curtains around the beds and no cages beneath the beds for baggage. If you want cabinets you have to pay for it and they are not in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Breno D
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This hostel was very nice. The rooms were a little small and cramped but enough if your just staying a few nights.The staff down stairs were so friendly and offered to help me with everything from planning how to get to attractions to booking things to do.My only complaint would be that the bathrooms were constantly DISGUSTING. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allison z
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello Allison! Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you had an overall good stay with us and that you were happy with our service. We are proud of our central location, and as you say we're not far from the tube station and buses stop right outside our main gate. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the...

Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap place to say in the london for a quick city break i think rest up london is for you. Me and my 4 friends stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were clean and tidy and staff were friendly :). We got told we had a free breakfast in the morning but we never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin P
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a eight beds dorm and had shared bathrooms and toilets. The beding was clean and the double deck bed was a bit old so everytime I sat down on my bed made a noisy sound. My roommates were quiet so I was a bit awkward. There was a window but my first night was too warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sau suet W
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your great review. I'm pleased you seem to have had an overall good stay. I'm sorry about the heat during your stay, it was an unusually hot week in London and we are aware of the issue. Regarding the breakfast, we also offer a Full English option which you can upgrade to at reception, in which case...

568 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (411)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Room (16)
Viewed
Eight Bed with Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Eight Person Ensuite Room (24)
Viewed
Ensuite Double Room (21)
Viewed
Four Person Room (17)
Viewed
Quad Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Showers and Toilets (14)
Viewed
Six Person Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (134)
Viewed
Twenty Person Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#38 of 802 in London
484 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 802 in London
2,229 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Backpackers
#235 of 802 in London
118 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#151 of 802 in London
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RestUp London

Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €13 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and HostelWorld so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RestUp London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from RestUp London staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from RestUp London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with private toilet/bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 998paulav, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not go there, there is another hostel much better and is called WOMBAST of Generator”
 of 5 bubbles 855miguelm, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front of the building gets some road noise, but also good views of the Shard on the skyline.”
  • The shard from a 3rd floor room.
 of 5 bubbles happyclayton, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find love and get high together .”
 of 5 bubbles Wizardwisper, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are very small so think before booking the absolute budget ones!”
 of 5 bubbles 787tiffw, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay