We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dictionary Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dictionary Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dictionary Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 862: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Locks didn't work on door to room Smoking in room staff didn't care Attitude of staff terrible Bathroom dirty and bedrooms dusty Staff didn't really want to help with directions etc for such a great location you could have a brilliant hostel but everything needs work

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shane, thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm very sad to hear that you were disappointed with the staff during your stay - as you can see from many of our other reviews, we're proud of how open and friendly our reception team are so there is no excuse for poor attitude and I will be speaking...

.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A cool hostel for a short trip with friends because of the location and the night life. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excelent. The price is reasonable and the rooms are comfortable. Only the bathroom was not very welcoming, but it was ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatricep120
Bournemouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the Dictionary Hostel! great facilities and i felt safe in the dorm, the hostel is in a great location in Shoreditch lots around to do much more exciting (in my point of view) than other central, artisy, lots of fun things like brick lane, and a great food stall pop up thing near by the hostel. theres also a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 270bethj
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

24 hour checkin, Staff were friendly. The free breakfast was an unexpected bonus and had toast with lots of spreads such as jam, peanut butter chocolate, and ther was also tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cereal. Very clean feeling, nice atmosphere. Felt safe. Very reasonable price

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julianp77
Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was really well located and just a 15 minute walk to Liverpool St. Really enjoyed the area. The free breakfast was great and the kitchen facilities were also quite good. However I pretty much didn't sleep my whole stay as it was super loud: noise from the street and really creaky floorboards. Also didn't think there was much...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 144rachel
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, thanks for your review! We definitely are in a great area, one of the amazing things about Shoreditch is that there's always so much happening and so much to do. Unfortunately, because of the amazing location, it does mean that we get a bit of external street noise. Free earplugs are available to anyone from reception and if...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed for one night but enjoyed it. Pretty cool buliding, great location, price was alright considering it's central London, stayed in a 16 bed dorm with only two other people, 24h reception and quick and easy check in and check out, well equipped kitchen :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie934
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at The Dictionary – it was in a great location and the rooms were fairly well equipped. My only qualm was that when I tried to enter the bar on a Friday night, around 6:30pm, I was initially denied entry because I was by myself. Once I said that I was staying in the hostel, the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmt750
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to London on my own to visit a guy I met over New Years in Berlin. Weeks prior to my trip, we had a bit of a falling out, but had already made my bookings and wasn't going through the hassles of canceling flights and reservations. Best. Decision. Ever. The receptionist made you feel you were long time...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank felicity190
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

What an amazing review, thank you Felicity! On behalf of all of us at Dictionary I can say we're definitely very glad that you decided to go ahead with your trip anyway, despite the circumstances. It's brilliant to hear that you had a great time while you were here, I'm happy that we could help make your trip better than...

Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shoreditch is really great and crowded with cool people. The dictionary hostel is a good and faire priced accommodation for staying a few nights in London. What I was missing was a chillout area with some cozy couches and tables.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 337henrikz
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Henrik, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are definitely in a great location and we get some amazing guests - I'm looking into improving our communal lounge space to make it more cosy and sociable, so hopefully by the next time you're back to stay in London we'll have improved that to make it a bit...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose the DICTIONARY for my stay, because I liked the name:) I thought there must be something special about the place. And I was right. It turned out to be a truly multilingual and cosmopolitan place. It was like staying in 10 major European cities at the same time, all in one place. And the beds were comfortable, too....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 684irenaz

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
16 Bed Dorm (15)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Four Bed Dorm (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm (21)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Safestay
#15 of 828 in London
731 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#67 of 828 in London
1,944 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 828 in London
459 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#37 of 828 in London
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hip and young, East meets West in Shoreditch, London in this coooool new boutique hostel. Incredibly warm and friendly as well as highly competent staff in the latest edition of trendy hostels worldwide. Fully opened in August 2013 and is already the talk of the town having been featured in The Sunday Times, EasyJet In-flight Magazine and included as a Top 10 Hostel by Visit London and Visit Britain in both. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dictionary Hostel

Address: 10-20 Kingsland Road | Shoreditch, London E2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: €18 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dictionary Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Dictionary Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dictionary Hostel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dictionary Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Dictionary Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a 10 bed room, tons of room plus a swing for drunken nights”
 of 5 bubbles ellshaw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room X! has a swing in the middle”
 of 5 bubbles johnprickett91, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room S - 8 person, all-female dorm, with a normal layout.”
 of 5 bubbles leahlxd, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you sleep at bottom bed, head probably hit top when you sit on bed”
 of 5 bubbles HomeyHostel, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Melhor localização e pessoas, mas péssima infra”
 of 5 bubbles L8985PFgustavos, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5