We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Smart Camden Inn Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

As so many people have said, the only redeeming quality about this hostel is the location. I've stayed here twice and both times it's been incredibly dirty, overcrowded, and the staff have been incredibly rude. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank bluebirds11
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable review. We will take your feedback into consideration to improve all our services. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations, we have three more hostels in Central London, maybe next time you would feel comfortable staying in one of them or trying a different dorm types. Kind Regards,... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

If you want a cheap place to put your head down for a night, this place is fine. The rooms, corridors & toilets / showers are teeny tiny. If your petite there won't be issues. If you're regular sized, maybe don't take a lot of luggage nor expect room in the shower enough to do more than a quick wash.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback, much appreciated! I hope we'll see again very soon in our hostels :). Kind regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while in London and booked due to the cheap price despite bad reviews. Hostel rooms are extremely small as are bathrooms which are also not particularly clean. Common room basically non-existent and there is no hostel vibe or atmosphere to speak of whatsoever. This place is good for a bed only for cheaper than anything else you will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your feedback and review, much appreciated. Kind regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the location but thats where it already ends... This has got to be the worst hostel I have every stayed at. The room was supposed to be for 6 people but you could hardly fit 3 in at the same time. No room to store any of the luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaqui R
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our services and we look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

So yeah much like alot of london this place is a bit of a rip off. On paper it looks good but actually you will have to pay alot in extras like your locker which is £1.50 a day, the towel which you have to buy is £5, you have to give a deposit of £10 for the key card... More 

Helpful?
Thank BB87R
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are aware of the fact that some of our rooms can seem too small and overcrowded due to the many guests who can be allocated in those dorms. However we offer a wide variety of different dorms, which range from 14 beds to the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

It is very expensive in London in general and this was no different. We didnt meet any English staff, and sometimes it could be a bit hard, not to be able to talk the cleaning staff, although the reception could talk a understandable english. The heater in our room was broken, so it was very hot all the time. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pernille N
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to rate our hostels to other travellers. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with our heating. Please note that there is a possibility to switch off the radiator or to adjust the temperature by simply turning the small handle on the right side of the radiator itself. If... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I'm glad I stayed there only one night. They are very small rooms. The beds are not bay for tall people. There are almost no available outlets. One thing that was good, is breakfast, plenty of choice.

Helpful?
Thank Jochen D
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are aware of the fact that our hostel is a small one and that some of our dorms, like the 14 bed mixed dorm, can seem too small and tight. However we have different types of rooms available in our hostel ranging from the... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I spend in the hostel 4 nights and I must say that the hostel was the worst place I've ever stayed in. The rooms are tiny, the air conditioning hardly ever works and the whole place is dirty, especially the common room and the kitchen. It was so disgusting I decided not to cook or even make myself a cup... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review, much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our services and to make sure that you will have a better stay the next time you choose our hostel. Thank you very much and happy future travels, Smart Hostels... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

After getting well and truly stabbed in the back my my friend, this hostel actually turned out to be really positive. Before i start going into the review of this hostel, I would just like to go through some background information. Around 21:00 pm, my friend sent me a text asking me to book this place, i did, then i... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay :). We look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Kind regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team More 

Rennes, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I don't even know where to start. - Beds so small you can't extend your legs - Blood at crotch level on the bed linen - Shower has a light that works with a movement sensor so it doesnt see you inside the shower when the curtain is closed : you shower in the dark. - Shower sprinkler directs water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Perik B
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. Please note that our beds size has been made according to the average human height. Therefore they might not be fit for a very tall guest. We understand that it is frustrating being woken up many times in... More 

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Second Six Person Dorm with Shower (18)
Viewed
Second Six Person Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm with Shower (10)
Viewed
Six Person Ensuite Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Britannia Inn
#5 of 14 in Ilford
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
York & Albany
York & Albany
#600 of 1,078 in London
263 reviews
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Camden
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighbourhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighbourhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Less than 547 yrd from Camden Market, the Smart Camden Inn is located in Camden's pubs and clubs district. Camden Town Underground Station is a 5-minute walk away and provides direct access to London city center. A 24-hour front desk is provided and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Tourist information and assistance is provided 24-hours and discount tickets for major attractions are also available. Free luggage storage is available for early check-ins. The Jewish Museum, Regents Park and central London are all within 15 minutes' walk. London Zoo is less than a 20-minute walk from the Smart Camden. A large TV features in the common room and a shared kitchen with a refrigerator is also available. Self-service laundry facilities are offered on site. All rooms are mixed-sex or female-only dormitories. Linens are provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. Camden is a great choice for travelers interested in Theater, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55-57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range: €15 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Smart Camden Inn Hostel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I booked in a 6 bunk room but was tiny. Maybe rooms with more bunks have more space.”
 of 5 bubbles 426katy, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Fewer beds in room the better”
 of 5 bubbles BartSid, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles jaquir2014, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good free breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles PernilleN439, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Seriously, If you're in London for a couple of days, just search the Paddington zone. Same price range, way better hostels.”
 of 5 bubbles andr_r137, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay