We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$33*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$70*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Smart Camden Inn Hostel
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Decent hotel. Good location. The staff was a bit grumpy but it was cheap and close to central Camden. The breakfast was crap. I would go there again if it's only for one or two nights. We had a 8 bed room for our large company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Basic but meets our needs from a hostel. - Beds small, mattresses cheap, packed like sardines in bunk beds with tiny bathrooms and not enough plug sockets or storage space. One fridge for all residents very full. One tiny winding staircase and five floors. + However, two lounges each with comfy padded seating and tvs was nice, as was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burygirlkeeper
Marshall, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really like this hostel. It is only a short walk away from Camden Market and the tube station. About the hostel, I will say that space was cramped at times, especially in the reception and kitchen area. I also paid for a locker (£1 per night) but never could get it to open. (I was refunded.) Some great things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherOfTexas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in an 8 person room i was surprised by how small the room was. The rooms was very cramped especially when 3or 4 people where on the moving about the room at the same time. The bed were terrible. At 5"10 I'm not overly tall yet my head and toes touched the wall at either side. While there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The rooms, common areas and corridors were cramped and the noise in the hostel caused me to have very little sleep. The staff were unhelpful and unprofessional, taking 30 minutes to check me in and discussing other guests in front of me. Hygiene was bad and everything came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 3 days overall a nice stay tho there are a couple of problems the beds are slightly on the smaller size I'm 5'9 and if I fully stretched out then I'd hit the ends so if you are taller then me you may have a problem. And the staff I won't say rude but a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum L
Reviewed 16 March 2017

If yoi choose to stay in a hostel you have to accept not amazing clean condition. Taken that into account I was really satisfied with my staying here, prices are cheap ( I am not sure you can find better in London) and the location is very good since it is situated in the lively Camden Town. I can recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domiziana M
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in hostels before knowing that on a budget, both privacy and bathroom space are compromised. There's also the constant reminder to keep valuables safe at all times, which for £1.50 per night you can use your key card to lock, but not recommended for large luggage (didn't bother me at all). This hostel had to be the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha M
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Very nice location, close to the city and places like Camden market which are worth a tour ! The staff is not very convenient and helpful. They are very available given the fact that this reception is never closed BUT plenty of things were Rooms are not really clean not planned like paying the bill when you arrive whereas we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lénaïc C
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate that you found our staff not to be helpful, we will look into this matter to see if more training is required. We are surprised to hear that you found you room unclean as we have a dedicated housekeeping staff that clean each room daily.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

disgusting place to be in, rude customer service. they would charge you for anything you would expect after you book it. when you have a cleaning issue in the place they would keep saying the bloody manager is not there.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank danieldust
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank for you review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our service. Hygiene and cleanness is important to us so we maintain a well trained housekeeping staff, they there is anything overlooked than our reception is open 24 hours to help resolve issues swiftly. We are wary that you had difficulties with...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Second Six Person Dorm with Shower (18)
Viewed
Second Six Person Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm with Shower (10)
Viewed
Six Person Ensuite Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
359 reviews
Viking Hotel
#860 of 1,088 in London
611 reviews
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighbourhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighbourhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Less than 547 yrd from Camden Market, the Smart Camden Inn is located in Camden's pubs and clubs district. Camden Town Underground Station is a 5-minute walk away and provides direct access to London city center. A 24-hour front desk is provided and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Tourist information and assistance is provided 24-hours and discount tickets for major attractions are also available. Free luggage storage is available for early check-ins. The Jewish Museum, Regents Park and central London are all within 15 minutes' walk. London Zoo is less than a 20-minute walk from the Smart Camden. A large TV features in the common room and a shared kitchen with a refrigerator is also available. Self-service laundry facilities are offered on site. All rooms are mixed-sex or female-only dormitories. Linens are provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. Camden is a great choice for travelers interested in Theater, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55-57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range: €16 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Smart Camden Inn Hostel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with private bathroom”
268marlynw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the lower floor if you have luggage”
blathnaidm2016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I booked in a 6 bunk room but was tiny. Maybe rooms with more bunks have more space.”
426katy, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Fewer beds in room the better”
BartSid, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all cost”
jaquir2014, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotwire.comUS$35
AMOMAUS$70
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates