We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here over the Easter holidays with my 11 year old son. I was a bit nervous as I've never stayed in this type of accommodation before. I need not have worried. The accommodation was clean, warm and adequate for our needs. The room was basic but it had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The showers were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jillybacon
Harwich, Essex
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012. The outside looks quite grim but it is nicer inside; the rooms are typical basic halls of residence with a table, sink & bed (which was comfy). I had room 111 which over looked a yard, it was quiet (no street noise or banging doors) & I slept well. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank whitbyabi
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We’re very sorry to hear that the toilets and showers were not up to scratch during your stay, it sounds as though they were well below our normal standards. We’ll ask the housekeeper to look into the issues with the cleaning on the 1st floor so that this is not repeated. In terms of the...

Cergy, France
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Carr Saunders Hall truly exceeded my expectations. As a hospitality professional, I didn’t expect so many strong points to compliment such a low cost room. Carr Saunders Halls’ location is a true bonus: only a few minutes away from several main touristic attractions through bus or underground. Carr Saunders is easily accessible at all hours of the day or night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel S
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon! The kitchens have just recently been refurbished and we’re glad to hear that you like them!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you've ever been a student and had to stay in halls of residence, you'll know exactly what this is like. Located centrally behind Tottenham Court Road near Goodge St, Warren St and Euston Square underground stations, this place is ideal for exploring central London - Oxford St, Covent Garden and the British Museumare all within easy walking distance. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charliechariot
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Glad you had a pleasant stay, we hope to see you again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Everything is average. For student's university accommodation across the UK, I think London Halls are generally.. well .. dirtier? I have stayed in many other university accommodation in the UK, LSE halls are by far the second worst in term of hygiene.The room looked like no one really cleaned it for a few days. It gave that kind of dusty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lilly T
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comments. We try very hard to keep our rooms clean and it sounds as though in your case we fell below our normal high standards, we’re also sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast. We’ll ask the Housekeeper and Catering Manager to look into what happened here

Surrey, England
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Cheap and great location is about all I can say. It's soul less however and the staff are not anything to write about. It's a place to lay your head. I have used them twice and would go again. Christmas time is a good time to go, take a nice long walk to Selfridges and shop!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pate-in-Surrey
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Following some focused development we have recently achieved a nationally recognized customer service standard, which we hope will make a difference to our customers.

Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at Carr-Saunders on 14/15 December 2011. This was the lesser of two evils (having my own room rather than sleeping in a dorm at another location) and my comments mirror those already made. I put up with its inadequacies because of the means to an end - cheap nights in London, however there are basic things they should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel D
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and it’s good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We’ve taken the comments about the mattresses on board. Noise is always an issue, especially in central London, but we’re going to work on the slamming doors – thanks for letting us know about this. In general if you do have an issue with overnight noise...

Barrowford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We usually stay in Victoria during our breaks to London, this time our usual place(s) were booked up, we planned to be in town for the New Year's Eve celebrations, and stumbled across 'Carr-Saunders Hall' by "luck"...location wise, it could not have been better, our favourite bar was walking distance away (CroBar, Soho) and all our other favourite ports of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FranG72
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback – we’re glad you had a good New Years Eve!

Norwich, UK.
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Had two nights here with my wife and another couple in January 2012. Chose it because it's in a good location with reasonable prices. First night, there was a bunch of incredibly noisy young people at 4.00 in the morning. Not the hotel's fault but kept us awake. In hindsight, we should have phoned the reception. The following morning, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norwich_UK_John
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback – as you say we’ll deal with any noise complaints, just call down to reception. We’re not sure about the heating noise, it’s not something we’ve come across before but we’ll ask our engineers to investigate. There was an issue with the Sanitary Bins over Christmas that we’re working on at the moment and hope to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Central, cheap, no frills and great for the person on a budget. You get a clean room with a bed and a shared clean bathroom. If you are staying with your partner and the weather isn't that good you might get a bit of cabin fever but that just ensures you get out and about. The breakfast is as good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank strorbz
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, we’re glad that you enjoyed your stay. We’ll get the vending machine sorted – it definitely should take £1 coins! We’re refurbishing our kitchens at the moment so some are out of action but there is normally one on every floor – the work should be completed by the Summer.

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#629 of 1,078 in London
163 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#489 of 1,078 in London
852 reviews
Bloomsbury
LSE Passfield Hall
LSE Passfield Hall
#105 of 792 in London
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Fitzrovia
Flexistay London Serviced ApartHotel
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#131 of 792 in London
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fitzrovia

Neighbourhood Profile
Fitzrovia
This sophisticated and sociable slice of Central London is a shopper’s paradise, offering the latest fashions, gadgets, and souvenirs. Fitzrovia is conveniently located between the major retail thoroughfares of Regent Street to the west and Tottenham Court Road to the east, with a handful of well connected Tube stations dotted around the area for easy transport. This neighbourhood is a favorite among foodies as well, with an impressive number of quality restaurants, pubs, cafes and food shops vying for your patronage – especially along Charlotte Street and near Goodge Street Station.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: Carr-Saunders Hall 18-24 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Price Range: €62 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from LSE Carr-Saunders Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from LSE Carr-Saunders Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room on the fifth floor which was fine for me there is a lift bed fab slept like a log”
 of 5 bubbles 818angela99, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check your lock works and bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles Impoverishedstudent, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The back would be quieter;;”
 of 5 bubbles blackpoolbazza, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Road side rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Mathijs2014, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“front off bt tower”
 of 5 bubbles TIMELORDLeicester, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay