We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel London St James

Show Prices
#27 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel London St James
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,589: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night, over the weekend, as a treat before we headed back to Brussels where we both live. Location wise, the hotel is perfect and very central. You're close to St James Park obviously and it's a lovely walk down to the palace when the weather is right. We even fed the ducks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1981
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim. I am sorry however to hear that the dinner was not to your full satisfaction. I thank you for...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 September 2012

First of all, the rooms can be different in terms of layout (two other rooms I've viewed with the rainforest showerhead in addition to the normal showerhead, one another even have a separate shower area) whereas mine doesn't), and I definitely got the short end of the stick compared to other people I know staying there. Very disappointing since I've...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CC1177
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your constructive feedback as every guest impression is valuable. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your room during your last stay. For special offers during the course of the year, I would suggest you visit our Sofitel website. Please rest assured I will discuss the wardrobe issue with the Engineering Director to...

Middle East
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel is just over a year. Since our last stay they have open a new bar and relocated breakfast. The new bar is excellent as is the service. Unfortunately i found breakfast did not meet the high standard we enjoyed during our last visit. Part of the room is cramped at peak times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanDee
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your positive feedback detailing your overall enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James. I am sorry however to hear that the breakfast was not to your full satisfaction. Kindly allow me to mention that we have aligned our offering to other five star hotels in the area. Nevertheless please rest assured that I have taken note...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last November and it did not disappoint. The location was magnificent. Very close to Piccadilly Circus and all the hustle and bustle of London, but tucked away out of the way of all the noise. We had two rooms and both were nice, roomy and very clean with modern decor. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naynee42
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our attentive service. Indeed we genuinely look after all of our guests and I am glad to hear that you have felt so. Our central location is also one of our main assets. The team and I felt very proud while reading that you prefer staying at Sofitel London St...

Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband an I stayed here for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed it. When we arrived they upgraded our room because we were on our honeymoon. The staff was very polite and pleasant. Every day there was a new treat in our room. We really enjoyed the breakfast and loved chatting with the restaurant and bar staff. The only issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

We were enchanted to welcoming you for your honeymoon. This is such a special occasion that we had to pamper both of you all the way! We were extremely proud to hear about our high level of services and we thank you for mentioning it in your feedback. We look forward to your next stay. Best regards, Denis Dupart General...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Centrally located and wonderfully designed hotel. Great breakfast and friendly, helpful service. Worth visiting whether for business or pleasure. French flair. Some rooms are a bit small, so check beforehand.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David011158
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel London St James. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services. The Executive Chef was also grateful to your praise regarding breakfast. Indeed he only serves the freshiest seasonal products on...

florida
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Not cheap but as you are in London, like in New York, good hotels and mediocre ones don´t have very much difference in terms of price. This is and excellent choice. Three blocks from Picadilly Circus, 6 blocks from Oxford Street (most commercial street in London), very near West End (Theatre District) and four blocks from the Thames. Highly recommendable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wright3333
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am extremely grateful to you. I felt very proud of my team while reading your kind words in Sofitel London St James being an "excellent choice of hotel". Our daily main concern is to genuinely take care and indulge all of our guests. We have a passion for them and I can tell that they feel it. We try...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I chose the Sofitel London St. James to celebrate our second wedding anniversary, and upon arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade and later received a beautiful tray of desserts. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and clean - amazing in-room amenities such as Hermes products, free espresso machine, robes, etc.! Best housekeeping service I've ever experienced,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizV4891
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It was a pleasure welcoming and indulging you for your second wedding anniversary. We love to pamper our guests at any occasion. I thank you for pointing out all of our departments at Sofitel London St James: rooms, housekeeping service, the restaurant "The Balcon" and the St James Bar which you enjoyed so much. Having happy guests is our command....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel looks wonderful and the location can't be better. The service is perfect while the staff is super-friendly (and not stuffy or snooty at all) and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is very good (be sure to take clothes with you that are loose since you'll end up eating way too much). The bed is the best bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandraVB79
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Indeed one of our assets is our central location yet on the quiet Waterloo Place. I was truly touched by you mentioning our "perfect" service. As a matter of fact we do our utmost to indulge all of our guests and I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed our attention to details. The Executive Chef felt proud...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife, and brother and sister in law and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days. Very nice hotel, very fresh and new feeling, though an 'older' atmosphere. Bar service is outstanding, the younger wait staff are extremely attentive, professional and work extremely hard. Food in the restaurant is very good and a relatively classy atmosphere. Location is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bderk
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am truly glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience at Sofitel London St James. The Executive Chef felt really proud while reading your feedback regarding the good food you have had at our restaurant "The Balcon". Indeed he only serves the freshiest seasonal products on the market. We look forward to welcoming you back...

1,306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (906)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (237)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (337)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
768 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,088 in London
1,098 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
2,784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
3,504 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,088 in London
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Rose Lounge
The Rose Lounge
Cuisines: British, French, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: €330 - €610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel London St James staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
8 months ago
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
3 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel London St James staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 rms-2 categories-both great;views limited to streets/bldgs-don’t worry re cat/location. Only 6 floors-all rms equally convenient/quiet”
SuthinFoodie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, but you won't be disappointed if you pay for the best you can afford”
willl59, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one higher than floor 1. Not much of a view through the domed window that comes from the ground floor.”
642rachaelp, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“5th floor was quiet.”
F4271PJdaniellem, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“great service, luxury, style”
mattmE6258YS, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5