We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel London St James

Show Prices
#30 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel London St James
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,534: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping and the theatre. We were able to walk almost everywhere. We took the tube straight from Heathrow and even with our luggage it was no problem as the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus. We were lucky and got a great rate on Hotwire, and they even upgraded us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bellytoronto
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. Next time you are at Sofitel London St James, please try breakfast at our restaurant "The Balcon" . Our Executive Chef prouds himself in serving only the freshiest seasonal products on the market. We are looking forward to your next...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, managements very helpful. Great breakfast! Located between sightseeings are of London Picadidilly and Trafalgar Square. Walking distances to The Westend Teathers. Definitely will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sutham1
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you! As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It's hard to get a better location in London. The Sofitel is slap bang close to Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Regent St .... all within walking distance. The rooms are smallish, but very well appointed. We were firstly given a room with a 'brick wall' view, but managed to get upgraded to a street view. It makes all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElCraigo65
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel London St James and I am thankful to your kind words. Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. After a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing English tradition and French elegance. The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you...

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights from Monday the 3rd to Saturday the 8th of September to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. This was also our last holiday before our baby is due so it was very special indeed. My husband found a good rate through Sofitel's own website and booked us a luxury room. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel-Diva-KD
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words. Breakfast wise the...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for two nights during September and had a great experience. The overwhelmingly positive Tripadvisor reviews certainly give a good feel for the place. As many have said before, the location cannot be beaten. A couple of minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus, about the same to Trafalgar Square, yet the hotel's location is nice and quiet. Our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel London St James. Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Waterloo Place which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in London. Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them. The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night, over the weekend, as a treat before we headed back to Brussels where we both live. Location wise, the hotel is perfect and very central. You're close to St James Park obviously and it's a lovely walk down to the palace when the weather is right. We even fed the ducks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1981
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim. I am sorry however to hear that the dinner was not to your full satisfaction. I thank you for...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 September 2012

First of all, the rooms can be different in terms of layout (two other rooms I've viewed with the rainforest showerhead in addition to the normal showerhead, one another even have a separate shower area) whereas mine doesn't), and I definitely got the short end of the stick compared to other people I know staying there. Very disappointing since I've...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CC1177
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your constructive feedback as every guest impression is valuable. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your room during your last stay. For special offers during the course of the year, I would suggest you visit our Sofitel website. Please rest assured I will discuss the wardrobe issue with the Engineering Director to...

Middle East
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel is just over a year. Since our last stay they have open a new bar and relocated breakfast. The new bar is excellent as is the service. Unfortunately i found breakfast did not meet the high standard we enjoyed during our last visit. Part of the room is cramped at peak times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanDee
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for your positive feedback detailing your overall enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James. I am sorry however to hear that the breakfast was not to your full satisfaction. Kindly allow me to mention that we have aligned our offering to other five star hotels in the area. Nevertheless please rest assured that I have taken note...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last November and it did not disappoint. The location was magnificent. Very close to Piccadilly Circus and all the hustle and bustle of London, but tucked away out of the way of all the noise. We had two rooms and both were nice, roomy and very clean with modern decor. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naynee42
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our attentive service. Indeed we genuinely look after all of our guests and I am glad to hear that you have felt so. Our central location is also one of our main assets. The team and I felt very proud while reading that you prefer staying at Sofitel London St...

Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband an I stayed here for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed it. When we arrived they upgraded our room because we were on our honeymoon. The staff was very polite and pleasant. Every day there was a new treat in our room. We really enjoyed the breakfast and loved chatting with the restaurant and bar staff. The only issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

We were enchanted to welcoming you for your honeymoon. This is such a special occasion that we had to pamper both of you all the way! We were extremely proud to hear about our high level of services and we thank you for mentioning it in your feedback. We look forward to your next stay. Best regards, Denis Dupart General...

1,264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (865)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (228)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (323)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,087 in London
755 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,087 in London
1,054 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,087 in London
1,109 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,087 in London
2,650 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,087 in London
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Rose Lounge
The Rose Lounge
Cuisines: British, French, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: €315 - €548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel London St James staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
6 months ago
7 months ago
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 month ago
Orange County, California

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel London St James staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great service, luxury, style”
 of 5 bubbles mattmE6258YS, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a street view ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles 469tony, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“corner suites, if you can afford them, are AMAZING”
 of 5 bubbles Ghiato, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book directly through the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles brink27, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room size varies a lot according to price. Some rooms don't have a view, though these are often quietest so we don't mind them.”
 of 5 bubbles traveller_constant, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5