We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure London Kensington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure London Kensington
Mercure London Kensington
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure London Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 899: English reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

A good stay, in a great location. A well ran hotel. Great breakfast. The walls are a bit thin, but I will stay again. Good pubs and restaurants down by Earls Court tube station. Good bus routes to Knightsbridge shops e.g. Harrods

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you would stay with us again upon your return visit to London. The Mercure London Kensington Hotel sits in one of the most sought-after parts of London, the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, with its world-renowned museums, exclusive shops and Royal parks. Our 4-star...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The property is based in a great location and offers all you would need for a quick stay in London. Tube stations and amenities are all local and the staff are pleasant and knowledgeable. Proscovia on reception is welcoming and professional and Lisa the General manager quick to help when needed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking the time to share your comments, it is a pleasure to receive your review. The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from Earls Court station and about 7 minutes from Gloucester Road. We are located on a main road and as you mentioned a bus line runs directly outside. Several tube lines pass by both...

Scotland
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I expected more than this. Room walls were paper thin. Got woken up by my neighbours talking at 1 in the morning. The bed had a strange hump in the middle. I think that this may have been to disguise two mattresses joined together. I can't eat dairy or wheat, and although they did give me soy milk and gluten...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 64cbw
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us. Sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise from neighbours, we do offer ear plugs should you wish to use them, there are available to all guests. However, we are often commended on the lack of need to use them. I am extremely saddened to hear we did not...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I always try and stay at this hotel The staff are welcoming The rooms are always spotless and you feel in a nice friendly helpful environment where they always make all of their guests special They are a great credit to encouraging people to return to London

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive your feedback, I am delighted you found the room spotless, the staff friendly and the overall experience made you feel special. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sonya Young Operations Director

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This is a truly great hotel, my hotel of choice when I am in London. Its location within a short walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court tube stations makes it easily accessible from any key London arrival destination, and places a host of attractions in terms of restaurants, shopping, museums and parks within ready reach. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us, it is a pleasure to hear we are your chosen hotel when in London. This fashionable hotel, set in the Kensington neighbourhood, is 0.8 miles from the Natural History Museum and 1.7 miles from Hyde Park. The refined rooms feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and refreshments. Upgraded quarters...

Reviewed 25 November 2016

I've stayed at many hotels in London (Ibis, Mecure, Novotel, Sofitel, Pullman) and am a Gold member of the Accor group and this is the worst so far. Mecure hotels seem to be very hit and miss, sometimes an Ibis is better because at least there you know what you are getting...small, clean and a certain consistent standard. Basically our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roxy101uk
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent feedback following your stay with us. I am extremely disappointed to hear your feedback, I can assure you this was not our intention and I can only apologies you did not receive our usual very high standards on this occasion. I can be certain this was not intentional. Please note...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We stayed 4 nights and would recommend this hotel. The Natural History Museum and V&A are within walking distance as are several eating options. As someone who doesn't like using the Tube the location was perfect as we could get buses in Cromwell Road or Kensington High Street and on the occasions we needed to use a taxi the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jule352
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive your fantastic feedback.Our 4-star hotel offers an unbeatable combination of contemporary design, comfort and convenience for your stay. The hotel also has very good access to public transport and proximity to top tourist sites and exhibition centres. We do recommend...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great location equal distance to the Earl's Court and Gloucester Road Tube stations on the Piccadilly line - the one to Heathrow. I had a great room - not too cramped as you may expect in London but no room really for luggage. I had no noise from the road but just in case there were ear plugs in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cke1999
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

The Mercure London Kensington offers a perfect location just moments away from both Earl's Court and Gloucester Road Tube stations, ideal for exploring the city centre and beyond. Our hotel is ideally situated for the main London landmarks, royal parks, the city’s renowned museum quarter and the exclusive shopping districts of High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge. Your comments on the...

Wales
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We booked two rooms for two nights. Unfortunately one of the rooms was not ready, so we decided to have a cup of tea in the lounge bar while waiting. Considering this hotel is part of the sustainability scheme called 'Planet 21', it is strange they have Starbucks in their hotels, I personally would prefer to have tea or coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Deceangi
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us, it is a pleasure to receive your comments. We take all guest feedback seriously and use guest opinions to improve our experience. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the room amenities and the handy smartphone which comes with our compliments, keeping you connected to your world with...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I booked a room on late rooms.com to meet two friends for an evening out in london. The room was really small but adequate and hotel right off cromwell road so good for cabs. I was going to give an ok review but this morning got an email from the hotel saying that as 'i had paid the wrong amount...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petajanine
Sonya Y, Operations Director at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent review following your stay with us. I am extremely disappointed to hear you were disheartened following check out, I can assure you it was not our intention. It certainly was our error and can only apologies for the mistake made whilst processing your payment. I will personally investigate the tone...

423 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Executive Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#591 of 1,080 in London
883 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
#435 of 1,080 in London
73 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#343 of 1,080 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Address: 1a Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Price Range: €108 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure London Kensington staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure London Kensington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you don't get the super small double room.”
 of 5 bubbles solomans2014, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms have small beds. Would choose a bigger bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles eaglea2016, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem inviting”
 of 5 bubbles 636stevef, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the room details on the hotel website as these are very clear and if you like more space go for more than a standard double.”
 of 5 bubbles Jule352, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Deceangi, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay