We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lodge Hotel, Putney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,049: English reviews
Eastbourne
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Very comfortable and friendly staff. Easy to reach from south, reasonable parking. Rooms and interior lounges high quality. Didn't have restuarant meal but breakfast good. Very good access to London generally, bus stops outside and 5 minutes walk to East Putney underground. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dereki818
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear Dereki818, Thank you for the great review and for the vote in confidence in staying again. Best wishes, Ben

Southbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

A very friendly receptionist welcomed us to the hotel. We chose the location as it had parking and near a tube station (3 min walk away). Room rather small but clean with a view of the car park. Bed also quite small. Breakfast was felt to be acceptable but nothing special. Ideal place to stay if you don't want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggie h
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear Maggie H, Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I am glad you had a good stay and managed to explore some of what Putney has to offer. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Ben

Salzburg Region, Austria
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We, a family of four, stayed only for one night, but we enjoyed it sooo much! easy to find in a nice area, extremely close to the underground station and surrounded by nice buildings, this boutique hotel gives a cozy feeling. the interior is modern mixed with classic and we loved the library, where we had breakfast. the familyroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jschwarz74
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear jschwarz74, Thank you for such a lovely review. I look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards, Ben

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I was getting married and had always wanted the chance to stay here. I drive past all the time and it looks so luxurious. I arranged a group booking for friends and family, and I should have learned from my initial contact with the hotel (when they ignored my initial 2 enquiries) that it wouldn't be a positive experience. I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ml98lep
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear ml98lep, Thank you for your feedback on you booking. Firstly, I would like to say that we are very sorry that you felt a bit let down on your special stay as I can sense your frustration. I have spoken to our reservations department regarding your booking, and have had a full run down of events. I understand from...

Greenhithe
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We had a two night stay here. The room was very small probably meant for one person only. No in room safe or drawer space but included an ironing board and iron which was stored in the small wardrobe this restricted space for clothes. Bathroom was clean and towels fluffy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 162raymondl
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear 162raymondl, Thank you for reviewing us. I'm pleased you found the room clean and towels fluffy, this is always good the know. The older part of the Lodge being formerly two Victorian mansions converted has several smaller rooms which we either sell as singles or Standard doubles depending - you must have been allocated one of these rooms. We'd...

Vic
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Was staying there for a wedding just down the road. Brilliant breakfast buffet included, great wait staff, and the front desk was helpful. The room was decent, except for the coffee and tea allotment, which was slightly under stocked. Be aware that there was no bar fridge either.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear James C, Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm glad you enjoyed our new buffet breakfast and our staff were helpful. Certain room types (Our Grand Deluxes, and Superiors) do have fridges as standard in the rooms, but not all of our smaller rooms do unfortunately. Thank you for the feedback. Best regards, Ben

England
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

It is not often that you remember a hotel for its breakfast but this is one. For £15 you have a limited and quirky choice of breakfast items including Nutella and banana pancakes, eggs Benedict with pesto hollandaise (very weird), smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel and the hot English comprising a single field mushroom with poached egg and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Archie58UK
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear Archie58UK, Thank you for your very though review, we always appreciate feedback as it keeps us on our toes. Since this review we have actually reverted (based on feedback from our many regular guests) from cooked items ordered from the kitchen to a more traditional all you can eat buffet. It includes continental, full english, and daily/seasonal additions. £15...

St. Albans
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Great stay. Clean stylish and friendly hotel in a great location. Service in the restaurant (not breakfast) was slow and the choice of menu was limited. Still putney is awash with good places to eat. Buffet breakfast excellent though

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 855stephenj
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear 855stephen, Thank you for the great review - I'm very pleased you had a good stay at The Lodge Hotel. My team have been working on improving our breakfast offering recently so it is great to hear you thought it was excellent. Your comments re slow restaurant service are noted, we do feel there is quite a lot of...

Banbury
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Comfortable rooms but most of the rooms lack baths. Good beds and very clean. Staff always polite and helpful. Not 100% certain i agree with checking out and paying as you check in and not being able to have a receipt until the morning which clearly frustrates the night porter if you leave before 07.00am.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidgJ5944BR
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear DavidgJ5944BR, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for you nice comments - it is appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed our hypnos beds, found the hotel very clean and staff polite. Regarding checkin, we generally (unless it is a pre-paid booking) only take a pre-authorisation on checkin, with full payment taken and receipt produced...

Holmfirth
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Lovely hotel, stylish and modern. Perfect location for me with bus and tube access on the door step. Room was a bit small but well appointed and comfortable. Lovely toiletries! Will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 176rowena
Lodge-Management, Owner at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review

Dear 176rowena, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of the Lodge Hotel, Putney, and for the vote of confidence. I'm delighted you found us to be both comfortable and stylish - this was certainly the aim when we did our recent refurb. We hope to see you in Putney again soon. Best wishes, Ben

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (136)
Viewed
Executive Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Luxury Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#394 of 1,089 in London
3,473 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#427 of 1,089 in London
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lodge Hotel is a boutique haven in Putney, south west London, which over the past 40 years under the same family ownership has grown from a 9 bedroom guesthouse to encompass 77 bedrooms, a delectable all day restaurant & bar: Hide&seed, a library and numerous spaces for eating, drinking, meeting & events. Our unique building combines two grand victoria mansions and former coaching stables completely renovated in 2010, with a new state of the art wing launched in September 2015. We've retained the best of the original features and enhanced the hotel with contemporary additions and luxurious design touches. High end, low key. Features: 77 beautiful bedrooms Moments from East Putney tube station Free Parking Free Wi-Fi Free iMac use Open 24/7 Garden All day dining Conference & Events facilities Launching spring 2016: Gym, and Outdoor Terrance ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Address: 52-54 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range: €118 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Hotel, Putney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lodge Hotel, Putney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Putney
Best Western London
London Best Western
The Lodge Hotel, Putney London
Hotel Style:
#299 Business Hotel in London
#316 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge Hotel, Putney staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Halifax, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge Hotel, Putney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is on a main road so the rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles FlixtonSlick, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles lottieproject, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Order room service... The food is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles kerrysaunders97, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was in the modern annexe to the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles expat1616, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Unable to help anyone there”
 of 5 bubbles NSBNE3, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5