We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for three nights this week and must say disappointingly this hotel is let down by some staff. The hotel is very clean and good location but a guy on front desk, Small guy with glasses needs some customer skills and housekeeping need some basic security training. After working all day on day 2 I came back at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst experience in my life. When we arrive because we were having dinner out, the smell was horrible, it smelled like a farts and then I was gonna ask him something about the room, and I heard him farting in the reception. It was disgusting. It was at 23.35 on 29th Dec 2016.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joau M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The room was too small, in the panorama pics uploaded it looks big, but in reality it was too small for three people. Breakfast was average. The only good thing is the location, 2 min walk from Paddington station which is excellent. Disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TejalShetty
RoyalCambridge, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TejalShetty, Thank you for your feedback is very much valued. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and add value to our guests experiences and we thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion to us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and would like to assure you we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I did the check in, I met a spanish guy, Victor, who was helpful and nice with me and my son. He explained us the best places to visit in Christmas and Winterland. He was incredible. And when we did the check out, I didn't know how to get my National Express bus, and another spanish guy helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MANUEL D
RoyalCambridge, General Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manuel, We are extremely delighted to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us and that our services made your stay in London memorable. We hope to see you again on your next visit and if you would like our assistance in the future we would be more than happy to help. Kind regards Royal Cambridge Hotel

Gartocharn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I've stayed in 3 Sussex Gardens hotels now because the location is so good for access to north London train stations and the city centre. I was greeted at this hotel by a very friendly receptionist, who could not have been more helpful. My room was a single and I know I got the last one at an incredible price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fredatheflea
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Surprised that hotel has received so many bad reviews - overall hotel suited our needs unfortunately despite a few issues such as very poor lock on our door which left our room unlocked for Saturday evening and husband not sleeping ! We requested another room but none available rectified the next day. No water in rooms on Sunday night as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
RoyalCambridge, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us which is very much valued and appreciated. We have since changed the lock direct with the manufacturer. Due to unforseen circumstances there have been an issue with the plumbing and an engineer has diagnosed this. We do hope you will visit us again in order to rectify these...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed there with my mum for two nights over the weekend. It was my first time to stay in Paddington area when visiting London and I'm glad we had made the right hotel choice. The room was small (as expected in London) but very clean and nicely furnished, so was the bathroom. The bed can be improved but their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyaker
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Location is perfect, Walking distance to Paddington Station. Room is very tiny and they really need a lot of maintanance. For my 4 nights stay, they did not change my bedsheets. The sheets if full of stain since the day I arrived. They do clean my room, however they only change the towels and emptied the bin. Issues with their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohamedz200
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

I have never stayed in such a terrible hotel. The beds were small, the tv made annoying noises, the WiFi was terrible, the staff wasn't friendly, the breakfast was always the same and not eatable. You could hear ANY noise from up or next doors. Besides that the shower still had hairs in it, we only had one toilet paper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShaniaLabeyex
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

We are deeply dissappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We take all genuine feedback on board and it is invaluable to us as it assists us to keep evolving our service and adjusting any improvements required for our valued guests. Please be assured all our rooms are newly refurbished and the beds are standard hotel beds...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Excellent location just 2 minutes' walk from Paddington Tube station. Good, safe area with plenty of restaurants nearby. Only a short walk across Hyde Park to the museums (Science, Natural History and V&A). The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the decor was neat and fresh. The bedroom (family room, fourth floor) was spacious-enough for the 4 of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheZenCabbage

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#680 of 1,080 in London
313 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#490 of 1,080 in London
452 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#635 of 1,080 in London
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#601 of 1,080 in London
545 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#777 of 1,080 in London
592 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,080 in London
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €83 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
The Royal Cambridge Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front are over a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles fredatheflea, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Above and alongside our room onbtge third floor was quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainebI7530ZE, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room on 2nd floor warmer, quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 164iuliap, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont take room in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles Agneess, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor will have less street noise”
 of 5 bubbles M107BGandreww, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay