We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Cambridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights and found it handy for dropping off luggage when we arrived at Paddington station; we could then catch buses into city centre easily from outside Paddington station or walk throug Knesington Gardens closeby. Helpful staff. Downside was breakfast which although adequate was basic. We could have upgraded to larger room but preferred quieter normal room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraPaul186424
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights late November. Room was very clean just it was really small, not really big enough for 2 people for more than 1 night stay. the heating in the room not so good the radiator didn't seem to get very hot and the bed was up against it blocking any heat and the housekeepers tended to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_B92
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here one night. Totally horrible, things were broken, service was bad, the walls were thin like glas so you can actually here people over you drop a coin on the floor. AND IM NOT DONE! After the stay I was charged one more night than my actuall stay and they promised a refund. Now 10 days after my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanny Ø
RoyalCambridge, Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fanny, Thank you for taking the time to provide your Feedback. I am sad to hear you were not satisfied with your room and would like to assure you we will take your Feedback on board to assist us on any future improvements. Yours Sincerely

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a one night stay with me & my 12yr old son (little treat for his birthday). Soon as we checked in the receptionist said "welcome to you & your beautiful son" 😊very nice & friendly. Check in & out easy. Twin Room was lovely, clean and even had tea & small kettle with complimentary tea & coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clareyyyy05
RoyalCambridge, Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us. As a gesture of our humble gratitude, we would like to add you on our VIP members list. Please add us on Facebook and we will ensure any future bookings you make with us will be offered Members benefits....

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights this week and must say disappointingly this hotel is let down by some staff. The hotel is very clean and good location but a guy on front desk, Small guy with glasses needs some customer skills and housekeeping need some basic security training. After working all day on day 2 I came back at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
RoyalCambridge, Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. Please be assured we do take all feedback seriously as this assists us on improving our services and raising the standards. I am disappointed you had experienced poor levels of customer service and I would like to assure you this is not representative of the hotels standards. We are...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

The worst experience in my life. When we arrive because we were having dinner out, the smell was horrible, it smelled like a farts and then I was gonna ask him something about the room, and I heard him farting in the reception. It was disgusting. It was at 23.35 on 29th Dec 2016.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joau M
RoyalCambridge, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaou, It is extremely shocking to hear you have felt this situation would be the worst experience of your life. We have taken the time to look back on the CCTV cameras to detect the possible culprit and have not detected any such sightings at 23.35 on 29th December. Although this kind of slanderous comment can be interpreted as...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The room was too small, in the panorama pics uploaded it looks big, but in reality it was too small for three people. Breakfast was average. The only good thing is the location, 2 min walk from Paddington station which is excellent. Disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TejalShetty
RoyalCambridge, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TejalShetty, Thank you for your feedback is very much valued. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and add value to our guests experiences and we thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion to us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and would like to assure you we...

Reviewed 2 January 2017

When I did the check in, I met a spanish guy, Victor, who was helpful and nice with me and my son. He explained us the best places to visit in Christmas and Winterland. He was incredible. And when we did the check out, I didn't know how to get my National Express bus, and another spanish guy helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MANUEL D
RoyalCambridge, General Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manuel, We are extremely delighted to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us and that our services made your stay in London memorable. We hope to see you again on your next visit and if you would like our assistance in the future we would be more than happy to help. Kind regards Royal Cambridge Hotel

Gartocharn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I've stayed in 3 Sussex Gardens hotels now because the location is so good for access to north London train stations and the city centre. I was greeted at this hotel by a very friendly receptionist, who could not have been more helpful. My room was a single and I know I got the last one at an incredible price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fredatheflea
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Surprised that hotel has received so many bad reviews - overall hotel suited our needs unfortunately despite a few issues such as very poor lock on our door which left our room unlocked for Saturday evening and husband not sleeping ! We requested another room but none available rectified the next day. No water in rooms on Sunday night as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
RoyalCambridge, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us which is very much valued and appreciated. We have since changed the lock direct with the manufacturer. Due to unforseen circumstances there have been an issue with the plumbing and an engineer has diagnosed this. We do hope you will visit us again in order to rectify these...

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#679 of 1,087 in London
319 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,087 in London
465 reviews
0.1 km away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#796 of 1,087 in London
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#634 of 1,087 in London
126 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#842 of 1,087 in London
270 reviews
0.0 km away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#806 of 1,087 in London
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €94 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
The Royal Cambridge Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleep at the back of the hotel which is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SaraPaul186424, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front are over a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles fredatheflea, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Above and alongside our room onbtge third floor was quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainebI7530ZE, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room on 2nd floor warmer, quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 164iuliap, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont take room in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles Agneess, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5