We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA London Thameside

Expedia.comUS$39*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$50*
US$39*
US$50*
US$50*
US$39*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London Thameside
YHA London Thameside
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of YHA London Thameside
 Click to rate
Cornwall UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a school trip from Cornwall to London. Rooms were sorted quickly, even though it was gone 11 at night and staff were friendly. Plenty of space in each room, some areas are a little dated or shabby and the showers are quite small but on the whole fine. The reception was comfortable and had a good cafe/bar to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dixie-Lettie
Bath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having just returned from a 3 day stay at the yha thameside, I must say I was very impressed. The communal areas are well maintained and feel safe, and the kitchen staff were friendly and the food good. The rooms were basic, as you expect for the price, but clean and containing everything you need. The location is great -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmajo87
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi emmajo87, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful feedback, we the staff put a lot of work into our hostel to give the best possible costumer service experience in all departments, it's very gratifying to see that our hard work doesn't go unnoticed. We hope that you enjoyed your time over in London and would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel would be one of the best if time is put into sprucing up the tired look. It is siting along side the Thames with a bar you can walk to that is just at the tips of the river. I can't believe I can get all this for a small price. The breakfast is just good, nothing over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank temilaw
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi temilaw, Thank you so very much for leaving such a lovely feedback. We are quite fortunate in having such an amazing location with a tremendous view to the river thames, also is such a good walk along the thames path all the way to tower bridge in less than 30minutes, well worth it and satisfying. We hope to have...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all: we had a great stay at London. The hostel is in a nice area at the thames and near the Under- and Overground. The staff was very friendly and we spend some time in the comfortable lobby. Still: we happened to stay there during the refurbishment work, new floors, furniture... kind of chaotic. Our window was broken...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatpieLucy
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear CatpieLucy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our refurbishment came to an end and we will be thrilled to have you back so you can enjoy our upgraded hostel. Also please accept our apologies for the window, as part of the refurbishment the issue has been...

Crediton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The pleasure starts with the walk along Albion Water from Canada Water. Then there was the warm and friendly welcome at Reception, the excited buzz from the school group and the familiar trip up to find my room - beds ready, shower warm, hook for coat and locker for luggage. The relaxing area downstairs was loaded off for alterations so...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patbarker347
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Patbarker347, Wow thank you for such a lovely review of our hostel here at Thameside. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the atmosphere a buzz. The walk down from Canada Water has fantastic views and a lot of wildlife it would be a great place to have a picnic during the spring. Yes its...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I selected the YHA Thameside for a night's stay with my two children because it was convenient for something we were doing the following day. We didn't expect luxury and, no, we didn't get it. But the room (family room for 4) was fun, comfortable if a little hot, and clean. The reception staff were lovely and the food very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 910caroline
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear 910caroline, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, we'll make sure the entire team receives your praises as an indication that we heading in the right direction. We will be thrilled to have you back in the near future specially since our refurbishment is coming to an...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Close to really good walks beside The Thames and easy access to The City, West End and stations. This is a purpose built block, some of the rooms are in a really poor state and really shouldn't be let to visitors. Some food pilfering. The staff are very helpful and the communal areas are in reasonable condition

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunbaby284
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Sunbaby284, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoy our location, we are by the river Thames so it's a very nice area to walk around to and in short time you can reach Tower bridge and some of London's main attractions. The building its indeed in need of some loving care...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Hey everybody,I sincerely hope that you don't choose here,the kitchen and washing machine are broken and they didn't let us know or post it on the Internet,the staff in the restaurant seems despise us,I got this feeling as we ate the breakfast more than 5 days,makes me feel disappointed and sick,my next location is Bath,please come and find me if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmy T
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Timmy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, at the moment some of our rooms and common areas like the self-catering kitchen, TV lounge and Launderette are shut due to a much needed refurbishment to upgrade the facilities so our guests can enjoy a much better...

Havant
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in London staying at YHA Thameside again. Welcoming staff who always greet you with a smile , lovely food, ideally placed, with only a short walk to the underground to get into central London. Rooms are slowly being upgraded, new beds, each having own plug socket and USB charging port.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tullulah1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Tullulah1 I loved reading your review. Thank you. The Team here are glowing from your praises. Great feedback on the beds which we changed this summer. The individual lights and usb are a hit. We are expecting our bigger upgrade in the new year. Looking forward to it. Thank you for being a repeat customer. It really does mean...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Average and reasonable place to stay with school children, catered to all our needs including full board catering and en-suites . The breakfast was great, packed lunches were really impressive and there was always something simple for the children at tea time. The only problem we had was that our school group was split up onto 3 different floors and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Jean C Thank you for reviewing us after your staff recently. I have passed your great comments on to the catering team . Good to know we are getting it right with the meals. Francesca does a great job to pick the souvenirs that are fun and reflect on a stay in London as well as very good prices...

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Eight Bed Room (27)
Viewed
Four Bed Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Six Bed Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Two Bed Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
68 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#62 of 837 in London
377 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#45 of 837 in London
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 837 in London
655 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 837 in London
1,122 reviews
YHA Eastbourne
#2 of 10 in Eastbourne
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA London Thameside. Popular with School Groups from around the world as well as Individuals and families.All 70 rooms Ensuite .Easy to get to using Public Transport. Bus 380 and C10 outside of Hostel. Easy walk to either Canada Water undeground or Rotherhithe Overground. Great Breakfast, Snacks and evening meals available. Free WiFi with England & Wales Membership. Discounts on attractions and theatre shows. Really simple connections to Londons city centre and top attractions or just chill by the river Thames in SE16. Make Thameside part of your London memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €21 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London Thameside staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Saint Louis, Missouri
6 months ago
4 months ago
Beijing, Beijing, China
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London Thameside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get private rooms if you can”
temilaw, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“try to get on the 4th floor”
10RISAL, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be placed in a room that isnt on a floor with a large group of children!”
pinkspideruk, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It was quite noisy on the street outside so bring earplugs.”
ShroppieSaint, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the upper levels and away from school parties if possible.”
K2655KTjohnt, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$50
Hotwire.comUS$39
Orbitz.comUS$39
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates