We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fox and Grapes

Show Prices
#164 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fox and Grapes
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a table for Sunday roast 5 days earlier, so the fact I couldn't secure a table until 4.30pm encouraged me, as they were obviously a very popular place for roast dinner We arrived as the heavens opened and every person and their dog descended on the place. It was heaving with screaming kids and wet dogs (I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 669janj
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Because of overrunning building works , we needed a local hotel ,and having spent a few very pleasant afternoons-evenings at the restaurant .bar it seemed the perfect choice and am happy to say it has been ideal with very good food and a well stocked bar very friendly and knowledgeable staff a very happy stay

Helpful?
Thank fallen57
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Definitely one of the worst places showing a great lack of customer service. The four of us were looking forward to a traditional British Sunday roast and we were disappointed. The drink order was taken incorrectly ro start with. The waiter came back 3 or 4 times to inform us that there was no meat left for the roast. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank MatthewjHowe
Rebecca S, Public Relations Manager at The Fox and Grapes, responded to this review

Dear MatthrewJHowe, Thank you very much for your comments. I am very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience last Sunday. Could you please confirm 100% that this is regarding the Fox and Grapes in Wimbledon common – just as we don’t actually have a pay desk as you mentioned in your review. If you could please... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016

we found the fox and grapes a delight and hope we will return one day. the staff, particularly Sean and Georgia, were very helpful. all in all, how could we not have had a find time at this lovely old pub with but three rooms, ours quiet and very comfy.

Helpful?
Thank harold b
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Was taken out to this pub a meal .. Friendly helpful staff .. Had a main and pudding couldn't fault it and was dog and child friendly place .. Fab looking place .. Was very busy but where very helpful at finding a table for us and other people as we did not book a table .. Would recommend 💫⭐️

Helpful?
Thank lynsey c
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Needed somewhere to stay when visitng friends new house round the corner. Booked a room having stopped in the pub for a drink earlier. The room was lovely and cosy with a small private patio and the cooked breakfast the next day was one of the best I've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank adamcann
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived here about lunchtime and our room was ready. Very cozy, nicely decorated and good amenities. Lucky to have somewhere to stay in Wimbledon during tennis and this was a lovely stay in a charming place. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts and dinners in the pub downstairs. Excellent food. Thanks to Georgina; awesome multi-tasker.

Helpful?
Thank bagwan
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

it sounds like it ought to be a pub and indeed it does have a bar and restaurant but it is so much more... we stayed overnight having an evening meal on a sunday and stayed the night.. the room (Tobermory) was lovely and even had an outside terrace with table and chairs, pots and high walls... the staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

.... It just doesn't. I came for a second try after a pretty disastrous dinner three weeks ago, but it hasn't improved much. The mussels in cider were the star dish and smelled great, vanishing quickly through my companions' portals. But they didn't compensate for a failed - treacly, tepid, lifeless- pig cheek served with a crumble of black pudding... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobysnax77
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The fox and grapes is a really nice gastro pub. Location is great, the staff is nice and the rooms are comfortable, calm and well decorated. The restaurant offers the traditionnal pub food with a high standard. To recommand.for a short stay or longer

Helpful?
Thank Gastongerard75

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#510 of 1,078 in London
523 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#436 of 1,078 in London
461 reviews
Wimbledon Hotel
#724 of 1,078 in London
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#42 of 556 in London
89 reviews
Rose and Crown
#68 of 556 in London
104 reviews
Justin James Hotel
#143 of 556 in London
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Comfortable Village Inn on the edge of Wimbledon Common, the Fox & Grapes serves excellent food, well conditioned real ales and a good selection of fine wines. With well appointed rooms, and the tranquility of the location, the Fox & Grapes is on the doorstep of London and is conveniently located for a city commute. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fox and Grapes

Address: 9 Camp Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Price Range: €136 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox and Grapes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox and Grapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Grapes London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fox and Grapes staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Grapes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“staff is excellent, particularly Sean and Georgia”
 of 5 bubbles 416haroldb, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Tobermory, nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles adamcann, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book the Tobermory room , its the biggest of the three and has a small balcony .”
 of 5 bubbles jaredg286, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Each room is named after a Womble,those Strange animals that lived on Wimbledon common in the 70s. Check on Google if you don't know what I'm talking about. Ask for Tobermory. The room has a private patio, and is the largest one.”
 of 5 bubbles saucon, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There are only 3 room but all are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 617nickyh, 26 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay