We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

PubLove at The Steam Engine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
PubLove at The Steam Engine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My stay has had very good price/value ratio and free breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise to me and my friends because we did not expect it. The greatest asset of this hostel is its staff which is really friendly and helpful. The only bad thing was carelessness of other people staying there, when some of them forgot... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank akimiski
College Park, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall, PubLove at Steam Engine was a great place to stay. The pub below was warm and cozy, and had good food and great deals for those staying. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The room upstairs was clean and the linens smelled clean as well. Safety wise, there was a two entry point lock system, which was reassuring.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ttrach15
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff. Come visit us again in the future! The Steam Engine More 

southern france
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are not bothered by room sharing concept this place is simply great. 4 rooms of 12 beds mixed makes you feel secure anyway. As for the pub in itself , very welcoming bartenders , nice atmosphere with efficient furnitures. Beers are good and food ,ohh my , taste that , it is awesome.! And quite cheap for the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L8272PYlaurent
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review! We really appreciate you enjoyed our hostel and pub downstairs! Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine More 

Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the place is amazing. You can see the Big Ben from right across the street. The staff is awesome. The guy was super friendly, caring and nice. The place is clean, cozzy and vintage. Great place for the price. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 720iskras
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for your awesome review! We are really happy you enjoyed the venue and our staff! We hope you had a wonderful time in London! Cheers! The Steam Engine More 

passo fundo
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

terrible dirty (bathrooms) very early breakfast On the day that I arrived there, they didn´t have towels to rent. One day there was a guy sleeping un my bed??? they probably rent my bed?? overbooking? I don´t know. They change my room and put me in another room more people (9 to12).. This place was the worst hostel that I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank estevancabeda
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the overbooking (due to a system error). We definitely did not "rent your bed". Due to the overbooking on our system the same bed had been allocated to 2 people and we only became aware of the issue when you checked in. We are... More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Goteborg
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, okay breakfast, rooms with small lockers only for valuables. I tried two burgers at the pub. One was excellent, juicy b#stard. The other was called old, dirty, hot and loaded and made my stomach sick. One of the staffmembers recommended it for me. I am not eating it again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomasbergdahl414
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review! Glad we could provide with the service you expected! Thank you for your stay and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the price could be a little higher than weekdays during weekends, the place is nice and quite convinient to find. It is in the upstair of a nice bar, and you can get a little discount for every thing in the bar living there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lancelee0711
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed our awesome pub and beers, come see us again in the future! :) The Steam Engine More 

Ferryside, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great one night stay at the Steam Engine with breakfast. 12 bedded dorm , very cheap but clean and well run. Staff welcoming and there 24/7. Very conveniently situated for my needs in London. 5 min walk to Waterloo and south Bank and Old and Young Vic theatres. Staff very helpful and pub comfortable and homely for guests -open 24/7.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jonesthered
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. Thank you for your stay and we hope you enjoyed yourself! Cheers! Come see us again soon! :) The Steam Engine More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stay here before and after my trips around the world, it's not far from Waterloo or the tube. I like the price and location The rooms are a little stuffy, the showers are good, there's a bar downstairs serving food and drinks The staff seem friendly enough Recommend for short stay

Helpful?
Thank dwtravelfree
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! The Steam Engine Team More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start... Two of the three nights I stayed at Steam Engine they overbooked and left some poor soul, who made a reservation without a bed to sleep it. It wasn't me so I am unsure of what resolution they came to. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired as well. 2 of the three mornings there... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 606zach
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback! Apologies if the facilities did not meet your expectations, we are sad to hear that a discourteous guest caused others discomfort - we have notified our housekeeping team to perform more regular checks! Regarding the luggage issue - we definitely don't force anyone to store their bags in the luggage room, it is an... More 

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
12 Bed Dorm (17)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (12)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (with shower) (20)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#405 of 1,078 in London
2,332 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#108 of 792 in London
142 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#33 of 792 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#128 of 792 in London
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
PubLove at the Steam Engine is an award-winning backpacker hostel above a traditional London pub. We have comfortable beds, in-room security lockers, 24 hour reception, and a great team of PubLovers to make your London experience the time of your life. We also have a 24 hour bar exclusively for hostel guests and a wide range of damned good drinks waiting for you in our glorious London pub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PubLove at The Steam Engine

Address: 41-42 Cosser St | Waterloo, London SE1 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €12 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PubLove at The Steam Engine 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your PubLove at The Steam Engine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PubLove At The Steam Engine London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beds were quite comfortable, however, they are bunk beds so be prepared. Always aim for the upper-most one. Well, at least that's what I do.”
 of 5 bubbles akimiski, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No comment..haaa”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for the bed in the midle, the low one is almost at the floor and the top one is very high (Im afraid of Highs)”
 of 5 bubbles GrazielleBM, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“24 beds to slep.”
 of 5 bubbles mariusenea, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Could be more space but is good.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhD3540EX, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay