We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cranley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cranley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting this hotel for 15 years and have witnessed a gradual decline in the facilities maintenance and upkeep. The staff works very hard to compensate for the shortcomings. We invited friends this year and we were embarrassed by the appearance of the lobby area and the fact that hot water seemed to be scarce. I reached out...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tim5525
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel and I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. We want to take the hotel forward and things will change and I appreciate that any changes made to such an established hotel may not be to the liking of...

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for a few nights after we got married. We arrived early to a comp upgrade and lovely cupcakes (Smith Extra). The service was perfect and the room was very clean and thoughtfully laid out. The reception team were very helpful in offering advice of things to do in the area. We really enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Champagneandcake
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley 4 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel and congratulations on your wedding. We do upgrade our guests from time to time and I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay so much As you discovered the hotel is in a great location in...

Kraainem, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent and convenient location close to the Gloucester Road tube station. Good service and extremely polite staff, especially the concierges, even very late at night of very early in the morning. Accomodation very good as well, but the bathroom could be refurbished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand W
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely 4 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel. I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your kind comments about the team As you discovered the hotel is in a great location in the heart of Kensington close...

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First class hotel, we had a great reception when we got there and were offered a welcome drink. We had a free upgrade to a deluxe 4 poster bedroom which was very spacious. Free bubbles and canapés from 7pm to 8pm and breakfast was served to our room at no charge. Superb hotel that we couldn't really fault. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel. We do upgrade our guests from time to time and I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting London, doing a lot of walking, arrived here tired and ready for comfortable quiet place to rest , before we headed out again to the Royal Albert to hear the Kings Choir. We were definitely not disappointed!... had a wonderful, luxurious bath and cuddled up on the comfortable bed. The lighting and classic decor were very soothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel. As you discovered the hotel is in a great location in the heart of Kensington close to Gloucester Road station. I was delighted to read your very positive comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back again...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had an executive room which was very large by London standards, comfy beds, breakfast delivered to room at no additional cost, everything was of a high quality and standard. We had a lovely stay and would definitely go back. We were offered complimentary prosecco and canapes but were at the theatre so couldn't take advantage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliP50
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel. We do upgrade our guests from time to time and I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay Glad you enjoyed the fizz and canapes so much! We hope to be able to welcome you back...

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Great hotel, very friendly, not overly commercial. A nice hotel with a lot of history to it. very friendly and welcoming. The bed was fantastic and comfy, the room had character with plenty of original features, although to be critical the room was a little bit on the small side. The breakfast can be served in your room which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 4 star review of your recent stay at the Cranley Hotel. I was delighted to read you were so happy with your room, we aim to provide a home from home. Just to let you know we have rearranged our reception areas so guests can now enjoy dining in the...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We mistakenly booked a day earlier and tried to rearrange the booking to still spend the same number of days booked but starting a day earlier. The request was declined and though there was a room available, the rate was too exorbitant, so we had no choice but to make alternative accommodation arrangements for that one night. Not their fault...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Momyusuf
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the hotel. I was very disappointed to read that you were not happy with your recent visit. Where we can we try and be as accommodating as possible with changes to reservations but there are times when we cannot help due to availability, booking patterns and...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 November 2016

For a hotel that describes itself as luxury it is appalling, we only wish that we had read the poor reviews and not the top ones before booking. The poor reviews certainly sum this very tired property up with the staff and service not much further behind. We do not normally do reviews but after staying at the Cranley we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank bobcurt
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights worst hotel is have ever stayed in very poor service room service terrible over priced and rooms poorly decorated do i not stay here is have had better service at a premier Inn

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank connorjeff
GM159, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Looking at other reviews I'm afraid I cannot agree with you. However I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

502 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Executive King (31)
Viewed
Four Poster King (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (56)
Viewed
Penthouse (51)
Viewed
Superior Double (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#124 of 1,080 in London
415 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#263 of 1,080 in London
708 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#406 of 1,080 in London
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#343 of 1,080 in London
1,039 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,080 in London
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: €118 - €323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#286 Romantic Hotel in London
#290 Business Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cranley Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Cranley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have a very good room on top floor with a beautiful view of London”
 of 5 bubbles 641bertrandw, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 607 - large 4 poster room on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles V517GQlindab, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think we may have had one of the best rooms - facing the street was no problem....”
 of 5 bubbles louandpamr, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a lift to all floor if you fins stairs a problem”
 of 5 bubbles emilyrY583TD, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Probably better bedroom views at the front of the hotel rather than the back.”
 of 5 bubbles bennySouthend, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay