We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Citadines Barbican London

Show Prices
#440 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Citadines Barbican London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Citadines Barbican London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
France
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

+ : Room is nice and well isolated for noise between rooms - : never seen such a poor wifi (sometimes even impossible to connect) and first entrance to the room is common with your neighbor and when he's entering his room it sounds as if he's coming in yours !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Echos63
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Echos63, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you found the room at your preference. I am sorry though you were not satisfied with the wifi and the interconnecting rooms. Please note we are currently working on the improvement of our wifi service, so this should be fixed shortly. Regarding the room, as we are undergoing...

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed two nights last week. The place is basic as far as the rooms are concerned when compared to alternatives of equivalent price. I unfortunately forgot a couple of items in the fridge in a bag that were a gift to take home. Only half of the contents were food (there were non-food gift items also). When I called...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank stephenkemp1
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Stephenkemp1, I am extremely sorry to see your experience at Citadines Barbican was negative. Please rest assured this is not the general service we provide, our Team is polite and helpful on similar occasions. The policy is, in fact, to throw away food items and as far as I have been informed, this was the case with your left...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We chose Citadines as a good basic hotel for a Friday and Saturday night, located only 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street Station and not far from some good restaurants and pubs in Liv St and Whitechapel area. The rooms include a small kitchenette but are very small. There didn't seem to be any housekeeping (cleaning room, making bed etc)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear DTM56, Thank you for your review and for rating us 4 on the scale. I am delighted to learn that the majority of your stay was positive, I wish to apologize for the entrance door though. In fact we had problems with the buzzer, which has been fixed immediately the week after. At the same time, our Team has...

Paris, France
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I stayed with my nephew 3 nights there. The staff were very friendly and professional. We arrived 2 hours before the check in and they gave us the key earlier which I really appreciated. It's true there is no air conditionning, we didn't really needed it but if it was the case we would be bad. Internet connection worked perfectly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB752015
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear MB752015, Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our Team looked well after you. It is good to read you were not affected by the missing air conditioning -in fact, in London it is unfortunately even in Summer time only rarely needed- but for your...

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I've been there 1 night and I won't go there any other time. The rooms are poor and very antiquate, it reminded me a 70's house. The bathroom as well. i asked for a conversion plug as I'm not a UK resident and there wasn't any available. Finally i got oine at the end. Very expensive, for sure not a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank carloassorti
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Carloassorti, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read you liked the location and the size of the apartment but I am truly sorry to hear the property itself did not match your expectations. I am delighted to inform you that a full refurbishment is planned for the next future and we would be happy to have...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We were there during our 40th wedding anniversary. My sister called them (from USA) to arrange champagne/sparking juice to be sent to our room. They made all the arrangements and said they would do it. They LIED and did nothing. During our visit the front desk said "I don't know" to every question we asked. The gentleman who brought us...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tom H
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Tom, I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment with Citadines Barbican and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. I also appreciate that you have given us another opportunity to address your concern. We welcome feedback such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. I would like to apologise for...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Citadines Barbican for 4 nights in the first week of July 2015. I chose the hotel as it was close to my conference at Guildhall. The reviews and hotel publicity did not prepare me for the shock of learning that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms. It did not help that London was going through a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank BGhows
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear BGHows, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Citadines Barbican. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. I have noted your observations and recommendations. In regards to the air-cooling system, we are certainly aware this cannot provide the same quality as an air-conditioning would. Therefore we advertise our...

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We are in a nice compact apartment. It is clean and well maintained. Only downside is that there is no air conditioning and it's 31 degrees at 10.30 pm. Apart from that and it is a minor issue, I'm happy with the area and the accommodation. Good value for central London.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trubertq
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Rooms are very big we had a twin 4 adults shared a bathroom no probs . Kitchen well set up and was great for drinks snacks or light breakfast b4 hitting the sights each day ! Very clean and excellent security , staff were very very helpful, 1 min walk to tube station was the best ! Use laundry service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob M
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I stayed 3 nights and I found this a good business hotel. The staff is really fast, both at check-in and check-out and the room was the right size, clean and comfortable. The only downside is that the daily housekeeping is an extra and the walls are a bit too thin if you have a noisy neighbor. If you are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SitoCH

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#255 of 1,087 in London
1,364 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle City Barbican
#577 of 1,087 in London
2,823 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#200 of 1,087 in London
669 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: €141 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citadines Barbican London staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Citadines Barbican London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See overall comments”
 of 5 bubbles Ann666my, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Renovated rooms on higher floors facing Goswell Road for best views of the "City " skyline.”
 of 5 bubbles geero, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Hotel is undergoing renovation, however, this did not impact onour stay”
 of 5 bubbles travelpeeps0708, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I also liked the rooms space and all the decor and amenities in the room. I liked the kitchenette though I did not used it, its an amazing provision.”
 of 5 bubbles ericselasee, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the newly refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 980sissiw, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5