We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mitre House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mitre House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mitre House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here in family room for weekend 2 nights, although it was a little dated it was very clean, staff where friendly and helpful and it is located 5 minutes walk to Paddington tube, there are plenty of places to eat and drink in the vicinity. For the cost this is a very good place to stay and would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your generous appraisal following your recent visit. We try to offer value for money and a secure, warm, clean, centrally located hotel in one of the world's most interesting cities. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Shenzhen, China
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Misrepresented by Hotels.com as having free parking which is why I booked this hotel. Reality is the parking is first come first served and the car park is full of builders vans which leaves nowhere for others to park. Pleasant receptionist helped me with finding a parking space which I appreciated, but don't expect to have a guaranteed space. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim M
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Your tone is distinctly unpleasant and for a man who did indeed have a free car parking space not only for the duration of your stay but for some time after, and for the sake of peace our reception staff accepted your refusal to hand over your car keys as is the norm, we have to read this...

Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had a luxury room, which was very nice and clean. The windows are old and the isolation is quite bad; even when you put the heating on it's cool in the room. The bad thing was the mattress - you sank into it. The car park was perfect in front of the Hotel and free of charge. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piero P
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Just loved the place! Great and friendly service! Could strongly recommend this place! The rooms are clean and the wifi worked perfect during my stay. The bar is very cosy, so finished my days with a beer there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank André F
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your eye catching headline for which we are grateful. We usually respond to the negative reviews which require restraint and deep breaths rather than wonderfully crafted reviews such as yours. Thank you once again for taking the time to voice your opinions.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights two adults and two children in a family suite - a bit surprising arrangement with two separate rooms but actually fine. Located 5 minutes from Paddington Station. Small shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Hotel is ok for the price - quiet at night and with a full english breakfast which was good. Staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Heard great reviews about this 'Hotel' since a very long time ! We had booked this hotel for 8 days ,well in advance for the upcoming Vacation in month of October 2016. My review based on multiple factors - Location - 5 mins walk to Paddington and Lancaster Gate Tube Stations ! HOHO Buses like Big Bus and Golden Tours...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alkaminos
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, On behalf of everyone connected with The Mitre we are truly humbled by your review. Thank you very much and we look forward to your next visit.

Vancouver Island
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 (!) nights at the end of September. Our room was tiny (hey, this is London!) but very clean with a comfy small bed. Yes, it could definitely use an update, and it's a bit noisy, but then again we thought it all part of our London experience. The value and location of this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happyroosterrick
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed here for four nights in September 2016. The location next to Paddington Station is very convenient and the price was good. I enjoyed reading in the evenings in the comfortable room off of the lobby and I enjoyed a drink in the small bar area. The room was nothing amazing, but it was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith L
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your thoughts following your recent visit. We did indeed have some issues with BT wireless connections that was sorted out over a couple of days in September and we apologize if this was inconvenient but as you say these things happen and were beyond our control. The member of staff that did not give you...

Round Lake, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very nice staff and excellent location close to Paddington Station. I chose this B&B because we were taking the Heathrow express to and from London. It was walking distance and a good price for three sharing a room. Staff was helpful with suggestions for eating. Good breakfast, and oatmeal. Hop on and Off bus stop 1 block away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is a small hotel older style, very close to Paddington Station for the Heathrow express train. (5 mins walk) The hotel could do with a freshen up and the room we had could have done with a new bed and some larger sheets! The breakfast was simple and the staff in the breakfast room were very helpful and pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chez2516

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Double Room (29)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Triple Room (Double and Single Beds) (32)
Viewed
Triple Room (Three Single Beds) (25)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#302 of 1,089 in London
1,362 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,089 in London
471 reviews
Caring Hotel
#502 of 1,089 in London
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#193 of 1,089 in London
2,071 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#621 of 1,089 in London
789 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#402 of 1,089 in London
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €101 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitre House Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the staff when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles wendytK585VM, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on main floors, not half-floors”
 of 5 bubbles chrisnJ1254YV, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quad room - perfect for 4 of us”
 of 5 bubbles ChloeFox1985, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request room 310 at the back of the hotel. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles KMC1966132, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you need a family room, check before booking if the room is really one room or two separate rooms connecting outside.”
 of 5 bubbles pe142, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5