We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Bloomsbury Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

Lovely location with a clean and comfortable room with reasonable rates. Unfortunatley I have been listening to the cleaning/housekeeping room door oposite, open and close (bang shut) for god knows how long, now 7.39am. It's relentless and very is disturbing, in addition to waking me a lot earlier than nessesary.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karenpoynton
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review and for providing feedback. I've investigated carefully the issue you raised with our housekeeping team. The room cleaning team arrive at the hotel at 08:30 and so we think it may have been a neighbouring guest. Thanks for bringing it to our attention though as it always helps to review these processes. Kind...

Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Think it had be renovated as was nice and modern inside. Room was small but had all the relevant amenities. Had a few drinks in the hotel bar and staff were friendly and approachable. Would recommend for a few nights stay only.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al F
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. We were happy to read that you had a great stay. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

The hotel was walking distance from London Euston and we were greeted by very friendly staff, as we arrived too early for check in, they were happy to look after our bags. Russell Square and Holborn stations are both a few mins walk away but you could easily walk to covent garden in 10 to 15 mins. The Hotels room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dcampbell1985
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time review us. We're really glad that you had a great stay. I've spoken with our maintenance manager and we're investigating the fan issue. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Surrey
Reviewed 25 January 2015

First the positives - great location, lovely staff (especially the receptionist working the morning of Sunday 25th Jan who arranged a late check out and offered to store our bags) and excellent breakfast choice (again with very helpful, friendly staff). The bed was very comfy and the bedding very clean. Sadly however we would not return to this hotel as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda1165
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. I appreciate the time you have taken to do this. Whilst I was happy that your overall stay was a positive one, it is a shame that you were not completely satisfied. I can assure you that we are always investing in our product and that the comments made by you will be...

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Stayed for one night and was really pleasantly surprised at the standard of the 'standard rooms'. Quite large and large bathroom. Well equipped with everything we needed. Staff at check-in very courteous and informative. The bed was massive! Lift slow but we were on 5th floor so understandable getting down at breakfast time. Breakfast was lovely and a great choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkibroadstairs
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Seb Williams

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Right at the center of action, this is a nice place for a quick stay. Avoid lower floor rooms as the rooms look very tired and rooms at upper most floors as there is no lift access!!! Cant blame them...its an old buliding. Well the brighter part, staff are very friendly and the service very efficient. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EYESCUBE
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest thank you for your review. We're always looking at improving our product and continue to ask our guests to suggest ideas to us. We'll most certainly take on your feedback when looking into the future. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Good hotel. Comfortable room, breakfast with many choices, reasonable service, excellent wi-fi, good location (very close to three subway stations: Russell Square, Helborn and Tottenham Court Road). Negative point only highlight the minimum size of the shower stall and the lift very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veross2015
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and they will be taken seriously when assigning areas of priority. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Scotland
Reviewed 21 January 2015

I had to travel overnight to get to London on the megabus and we were allowed to check in at 9am instead of the usual afternoon time and were ever given a cup of tea to relax with while we waited to get our room keys. The location was very handy as it is very close walking distance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happylarry4
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're especially grateful for your kind words. Please feel free to contact us directly if you're looking to stay again in the future. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Perfect location, easy walk to Russel square tube or even to covent garden. Also on same line as airport and St Pancras so less walking with heavy cases. Reception area smart but upstairs rooms and corridors not well maintained. Breakfast is overpriced - rather take the money next door to Starbucks. Staff very friendly not much English though. They keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you felt your overall stay was a good one. I've tried to contact you directly regarding your negative comments because we'd like to find out which pictures you are talking about. Please contact me at any time because we're always looking to improve our product. Kind regards, Seb Williams

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

The website makes the hotel look agreeable - it is not. The bar and dining room are far too brightly lit there is no wonder no body ventures inside . The corridors are awful with no decor and the rooms are at beat functional and could be described as awful - I have stayed in worse - in the Bayswater...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen S
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear guest I was very disappointed to read your comments. We always try to ensure everyone has a great experience, so it's a shame that you weren't completely satisfied on this occason. I've attempted to contacted you directly because I'd like to disucss this further. Kind regards, Seb Williams

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#341 of 1,089 in London
2,022 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,089 in London
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
512 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: €156 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor, at the back/side.”
sarahmO6094UL, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the elevator before booking a room”
SirryG, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor towards the rear will be quietest.”
  • Wardrobe, TV, chair
  • Desk, tea/coffee making.
  • Toiletries suppplied.
  • Bath with shower.
  • Large comfortable bed.
C6631CHmartinw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room 14”
lyndak675, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would probably be quieter.”
MiltonKeynes40years, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5