We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A well located hotel, easy to get to everything and walking distance from Euston if you don't mind a bit if a walk. Room was large if a little noisy as facing out onto Southampton Row. Ear plugs are provided. Clean and comfortable. It's an older hotel and in places that shows but all the staff were very friendly and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having booked a 'smart double' room we expected something a little larger than the tiny room on the very top floor which felt like the box room. A sign saying 'due to the traditional layout of our hotel hot water may take a minute to reach the taps'. Not quite the case - a lukewarm shower on Saturday wasn't pleasant... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A welcoming reception. Rooms are basic but adequate. The bar closed at 11 not 12 as advertised. Best be early for breakfast or it will either be cold or dried up. Within easy walking distance of both Russell Square & holborn tube stations.

Helpful?
Thank bevvy21
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Absolutely rubbish service ; receptionist was more concerned about checking her phone rather then attending the guest . I had to wait about 15 minutes to be served and impolite. Wouldnt come here again .

Helpful?
Thank novlove24
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Sajana C Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you had a challenge at the front desk and that you had difficulty checking in. We do pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service and obviously we have not been able to show this on your recent stay with... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Having stayed in central London hotels for probably 500 nights in the past 10 years, I M aware that London can be noisy. Every other hotel I have stayed in has handled this by installing double, secondary, or triple glazing. Never before, have I had to stay in a room with single glazing and ear plugs! Yes - earplugs 'with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poorhotel287662
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Poorhotel287662 Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and that you found the room to be noisy. As you mentioned we do provide earplugs for guests to use if they wish due to our vibrant... More 

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent two days at that lovely hotel . I enjoyed a really big room which rare in London.The receptionist was that kind that offered me a room to change as as I arrived too early . I have felt there really comfortably .

Helpful?
Thank Qlpaanna
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Qlpaanna Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us I am glad you had an enjoyable visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thanks Emma More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on the 5th floor but as the lift was working not a problem, The room although small was clean and comfortable, We were at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road, The traffic noise was there but only in the background, Good nights sleep, The room could do with some decoration, Breakfast was good.

Helpful?
Thank 398richcin
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear 398richcin Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in due course. Thanks Emma More 

Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel for our trip to London on our anniversary. £160 for a double room to find when we arrived we were given two single beds! We asked to be moved to a room with a double bed as that's what we paid for but the hotel had no more rooms.. so they offered us drinks which... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgeemfc
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Georgeemfc I am sorry to hear that you were not able to get the room you had booked at the Bloomsbury Park hotel, but I am happy to hear that the upgraded 4 star Charing Cross property that we arranged as an alternative enabled you to have a great night. Many Thanks Emma More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at 'The Kingsley', which is part of the Thistle Group, I was a little disappointed by this one in Bloomsbury. Whilst I have no complaints with the staff, who were all very friendly and welcoming; the building and amenities could do with some work. Aside from the restaurant area, in which we had lovely breakfast each morning, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear David M Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the team friendly. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the hotel accommodation to your satisfaction. As you state the Kingsley is our 4 star sister hotel and we are a 3 star property so our products... More 

York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Asked for a quiet room on arrival. Staff pointed out there was no lift, which is not a problem for me. Room was sufficient, everything worked ok. Room had a broken bath panel, locked down TV. No Quest channel then!! They are my only gripes. If you want a fancy hotel then this one is probably not for you! Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank hikerrobotweb
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Hikerrobotweb Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay, I am glad that you had an enjoyable visit and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to London. Many Thanks Emma More 

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#315 of 1,078 in London
1,870 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#269 of 1,078 in London
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,078 in London
485 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#674 of 1,078 in London
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: €144 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an upper floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles tracywO6334GB, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Maybe rooms not facing the main road are quitter.”
 of 5 bubbles 398richcin, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a small double, upgrade if necessary”
 of 5 bubbles carolined754, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tinamE3758NK, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay