We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle City Barbican
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,404: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Checked in for just one night for an event at The Brewery, which is within walking distance of the hotel. Had room 2420 in annex building. Very quiet. Room was a little small but large bathroom and had everything such as a powerful hairdryer. Breakfast plentiful, reception staff and check in polite and efficient. Great after service as I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I was also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we really do feel that this is a great way to start the...

East Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely Hotel with excellent staff. Food and service very good. Only reason I did not give 5 stars, was due to the location. Bit far out of the city for shopping and theatres. Very quiet area though, had the window open all night but no street noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals, including free breakfast, please visit...

Bradford, W.Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good value hotel, just 10 minutes walk from Old Street tube station. Also approx, 10 mins walk to Islington High St, with lost of bars, restaurants & shops. The rooms & bathrooms are not the most modern but we found it fine, clean and rooms not too small by central London standards. There is also a decent pool, with jacuzzi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jzx
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of great facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, Leisure Club with pool, sauna, steam room...

Jonkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed in some dumps, even though most of them was some time back, during my 20 odd trips to London but this ones the worst of them all. The room and all the halls were dirty and even though we paid good money for a 3 person room it was the tiniest of tiny. And we are not even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goonerista
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. All bedrooms at the hotel have controllable radiators so would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below so that I can personally check...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I suppose for london the price is reasonable but it was honestly all just a bit naff. Bathroom was dirty and check in was poor no conversation no have a nice stay, didn't tell us about the pool or anything. The walls were so thin woken up 4 times by loud girls next door at 3,4,5 and 6am. On checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank day7034
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited overnight on business, average hotel, room quite hot and could do with updating. Work was being carried out in the reception area. Staff friendly enough and breakfast was fine. Overall ok for a quick business trip but definitely not for pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PIXIELADY29
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention we are having works completed in the Reception, with the Restaurant and Bar being completed in early December. We also...

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When I booked this hotel I was a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The reception team were very nice and very helpful. It was great to see they had as many as they could on the front desk helping and dealing with guests. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GourmetCloak
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is in a great location for a Saturday night in London, with Shoreditch just a short walk away...

France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here end November 4 nights and found it safe and comfortable it is 11 mins we all from Old Street tube Rooms were ok and beds comfy facilities great used gym and pool Staff were very friendly and helpful Didn't use the restaurant or bar It's a handy hotel to access E and W London and some good pubs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoftyFrance
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of great facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, Leisure Club with pool, sauna, steam room...

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped at the thistle Barbican for three night and it was a good stay. The rooms are clean, staff are friendly. The tv in the room was rubbish but as we wasn't in the room very often wasn't too much of an issue. The only thing I would say was we was told where the swimming pool was. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandmaki79
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention Old Street and Barbican underground stations are about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, however the are numerous bus...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having read all of the reviews on here I thought that this hotel seemed worth the money and was a safe bet that we would have plenty of facilities and be looked after. After staying here I would defiantly not return! The list of the things that did not work in the room was endless; air con, tele, iron, lights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your room further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#393 of 1,078 in London
577 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#279 of 1,078 in London
440 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#600 of 1,078 in London
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €100 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor five on the corner was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthak459, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB270, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“boozy crowd while we were there , ask for a quiet room at weekends”
  • 6th floor room, quiet, good nights sleep
  • view 6th floor
  • bathroom, clean and functional
 of 5 bubbles jmsnjms, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2243 was hotter than h*ll.”
 of 5 bubbles goonerista, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles paddytraveller2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay