We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,425: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fairly basic accommodation (dated and has seen better days). I stay there often for the proximity to office when I'm in London. Staff are friendly and the location is reasonable. Never any problems with noise. Good breakfast. There doesn't seem much close by for a quick meal on the way back, but I haven't explored very far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Halifax-UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very pleasant stay, a hidden gem in the middle of the City of London. Enjoyed the Foyer Lounge with relaxed and homely feel. Nice views from our room and comfortable bed. Close to city. Will return definately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
Paris, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is nice. Located in a residential area so you can avoid paying tourist prices when you visit local eateries or shops. The restaurant was nice. Decent food. Not too pricey. I didn't get a chance to try breakfast but overall this hotel is great. Not too far from the city center. I used Uber and it wasn't expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss Jay E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Entrance hall and dining and bar areas were ok. Nothing fancy but comfortable enough. The staff were cheery and helpful. What let this hotel down for me was the rooms. This is only the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel so perhaps I have simply been unlucky both times but...the rooms on both occasions were very small, very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan H
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further particularly the room I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel on the whole was decent with one or two minor grievances. Myself and friends had booked a triple room. We thought we'd get three single beds but what we got was two single beds and a camp bed. My friend said the camp bed was comfy enough but not ideal. The room temperature was excessive too. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev4291
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. Please accept my apologies for the issue with the room which you were allocated. We do have a number of bedrooms with 3...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel just for the one night as we had booked theatre tickets .. not as close as we thought but it was not a problem at all , we just left earlier . yes the hotel does look a little dated and the surrounding area does not look great ! But we did not feel worried when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie01332
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of great facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, a leisure club with swimming pool and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We staid in a large room with our daughter; plenty or room and for the extra bed set up. The hotel was clean and offered good value for money. Location is ok, even if it is a kind of a walk from the tube stations Old Street or Angel (sure you could catch a bus but we walked)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lvdb1970
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Barbican, Old Street and Angel underground stations. I look forward to...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the Premium Double room for two nights over the New Year with the better half. Hotel reception (all 2 or 3) had ''trainee'' on their badge, seemed odd, very slow to check in, a lot of hurried movement behind them through a door, but no one offering assistance. Very friendly, and warm but not particularly knowledgeable, gave us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further, particularly the issue the bedroom and the Manager who dealt with the situation, I would be...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Thistle Barbican is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It is absolutely faultless; the room, food, facilities and staff were of extremely high standard. We are so impressed we are already planning our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esmé J
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals, including free breakfast, please visit...

Heraklion, Greece
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the hotel for 5 nights in December.that was a nice hotel to a nice area-angel.the room was nice and clean.the towels are changed daily.there is a bar with nice food.breakfast was very good.staff was very kind.we would defenately stayed at barbican again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7aretaki
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I was also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we really do feel that this is a great way to start the...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (372)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#420 of 1,080 in London
597 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,080 in London
470 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#228 of 1,080 in London
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €102 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a premier executive room, which was large and clean. Beds were fine”
 of 5 bubbles lvdb1970, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid unless last minute, and nowhere else to stay stick to the budget rooms as all the rooms are apparently budget, so why pay more?”
 of 5 bubbles tomm263, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“See parking tip in review”
 of 5 bubbles Ian004, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floor five on the corner was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthak459, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB270, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay