We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Academy

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Academy
The Academy
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Academy
See the most recent reviews
Showing 649: English reviews
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed there for one night in June with work. What a great place! The rooms are spacious and very well furnished. I particularly enjoyed the feather quilt and pillow! One downpoint though is the bathroom, which had some cracked tiles. Shame. Short(ish) walk to Leicester Square and all the theatres. Great neighbourhood. Just be aware that there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sardine2005
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel comfortable. Being a townhouse indeed we do not have a lift but as you correctly stated, our staff are always looking forward to be helpful and make a guest stay...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very nice hotel. WIFI was not great. This is a great neighborhood, the bus stop is across the street, the tube a short walk and the theater district a nice stroll. There are lots of good local restaurants in the area, TAS, was our favorite. However, most of the hotels in the area were originally townhouses and do NOT have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shulamit657
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our Hotel comfortable and indeed in a great location. For your next stay with us please do request a room overlooking our garden and we will be happy to allocate a quiet...

Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is in a fairly decent location and could ooze character if given major TLC. I get very irritated when I walk into a room and see a torn/cracked lamp shade. This tells me straight away that attention to basic detail is not there. The room itself (up many stairs on the top floor) was not bad but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globalitalian
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Academy Hotel for your recent stay in London. We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback with us and I am glad to let you know that our Hotel has scheduled for a bathroom refurbishment to take place towards the end of the year. Our intention is indeed to...

Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Bloomsbury suit. Beautifully decorated, air conditioned, large tv, sound system and nespresso coffee machine. Extremely comfortable bed, sofa and chair in the room, everything you could want, bathroom spotless. I had continental breakfast in the morning. Couldn't fault the hotel. 10 minutes from Oxford street/regent street. Bus stop almost outside the front door. Friend paid for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hsalmons62
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience here with us. We are delighted to know that you did enjoy your stay and that you would love to come to stay with us. So why don’t you, our website is always updated with new offers and packages and it would be a pleasure to welcome...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here some 8 years ago and thought it a smart stylish small hotel. Fundamentally it has remained so but it is starting to look tired inside. The rooms need redecorating and the whole place needs new carpet. Our shower room needed attention too. Blackened sealant does not give a good impression. The staff are friendly and breakfast a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and most of all for the loyalty showed over the last few years on choosing The Academy whilst in London. We are currently programming a soft refurbishment in our bathrooms and we do hope we will have the chance to welcome you in the future...

Warwickshire
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night having read a few reviews I was a little fearful However on a hot evening we arrived to a pleasantly cool, well proportioned room. The reception was efficient at both check in and check out. Great location, a good find.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntCar
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay here with us. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our front of house team efficient throughout your stay. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future, Kind Regards Federico Ciampi

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Two hundred pounds for a twin room in which one can barely move. Bathroom with cracked and moldy tiles; no water pressure. Try washing long hair in the shower where you cannot stand straight. Working, which we had to do, with internet merely impossible due to slow connection. Overall a let down for that price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna M
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay whilst in London. I have asked our Maintenance Manager to investigate the issues described to ensure corrective action is taken to avoid similar circumstances in the future. I am pleased to confirm that...

Marple
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My mother and I stayed her for one night in June. The room was very small and up over 50 stairs at the top of the hotel . The bathroom was the size of a cupboard and had cracked tiles and mould around the shower basin. We were told on check in that breakfast was included so we went down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori T
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have privately emailed you in order to discuss the matter further. Regards Federico Ciampi

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The staff were very friendly and the hotel had pretentious at being a quality small hotel but did not quite make it. The rooms were small but adequate for single occupancy . I was glad I was on my own and the bathroom was incredibly small. So small to be dangerous at every move you could hit your shins or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your feedback with regards to your recent stay here with us. I was glad to read that you found our room to be adequate for a single traveller however I was sorry to read that you felt that the bathroom was too small. Our property, being a townhouse, has different layouts depending on which...

Hampshire
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I cant really be bothered to write a long review other to say that the marketing of this hotel and the reality of this hotel are not on the same level. Pokey rooms, faded furniture and musty smell, steep stairs, no restaurant. Poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickHampshire
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. We were sorry to read that you did not find our hotel to be at the same level as showed on our website. The pictures and the description of the hotel are all reflecting the sizes of our bedrooms as well as of our...

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#529 of 1,089 in London
341 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,089 in London
933 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#100 of 1,089 in London
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#555 of 1,089 in London
315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#454 of 1,089 in London
506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: €145 - €301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Academy staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Academy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like a very hard mattress then this is for you.”
 of 5 bubbles stevo232017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to be underground, you should ask about what level your room is on.”
 of 5 bubbles saracV6731PP, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear, Gower Street is very busy and even with secondary glazing our room was quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles X6231KSneilb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms are small, and check out the gardens don't miss them, breakfast you can pass”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 61 which was a twin on the ground floor, but as the room is double glazed noise is minimal.”
 of 5 bubbles F1097MZhelenb, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5