We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$467
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Lol.travelUS$645
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2655)
Room & Suite (901)
Dining (191)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Royal Horseguards
Updated 14/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#270 of 1,199 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 12 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
204Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
138Attractionswithin 0.5 km
6515Reviews132Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,261
  • 1,369
  • 505
  • 252
  • 131
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Preston wrote a review Yesterday
Meriden, Connecticut5 contributions1 helpful vote
Traveled to London to see some theatre this past winter, and stayed at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. The hotel is wonderful, with historic and clean common areas and comfortable rooms. The place seemed a little understaffed at the time, but who wasn’t during the pandemic? This smaller staff, however, was fantastic, attentive and professional. I look forward to future reservations at this location!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BeckettDW wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
At the end of a business trip, I stayed at this hotel and the amenities, location, and quality of food and rooms were a warm welcome. The hotel was extremely busy with tourists but the staff worked extra hard to provide high quality service. The room was spacious, comfortably and well stocked with beverages, I had to work in my room at various times and the setup was conducive to productive work sessions. Best of all, the hotel is within walking distance of everything I wanted to do in the area. You can easily walk to Convent Garden, along the Thames to see the major landmarks, or hop on the tube to reach other parts of the city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
classyt24 wrote a review 3 Jul
Sussex, UK35 contributions23 helpful votes
We have stayed many times over the years but unfortunately our recent stay mirrored some of the other comments posted here. One thing that is a positive is that most the staff we encountered had great customer service and were helpful particularly those in the bar and restaurant. On check in the person checking us in was learning and needed help, this was fine but not so much the chewing gum while speaking to us and checking us in. The main disappointment for us this time was the room cleanliness which has always been spotless before. When I arrived in my room the free shower gel was half used and open and clearly left from the previous occupant. I called for me which was quickly delivered but not a great experience. The following morning when I went to take a shower, I took the shower mat from the bath side to put on the floor and it was covered in make up, clearly this hadn’t been changed from the previous occupant. My family in an adjacent room went to put things in the bathroom bin and it hadn’t been emptied from the previous occupant. This was really disappointing for a 5* hotel and not acceptable in the current climate. We’re due back for a stay later this year so hoping it’s improved back to the standards held previously.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear classyt24, Thank you for being our loyal guest for many years and for your feedback. I am really sorry to learn that your recent stay did not live up to your previous experiences and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience this must have caused you. Rest assured I am addressing your feedback with the relevant departments to look into and rectify as a matter of urgency, as you are absolutely right, chewing gum during arrival or cleanliness not up to the standard is absolutely unacceptable and again, my extended apologies for it. As you kindly mentioned you are due back with us later this year I am looking forward to welcoming you back and am certain we will be able to turn your past experience around and should there be anything we can do for you prior to your arrival please reach out to the Guest Services team at guestservices.royalhorseguards@guoman.co.uk and my team will be happy to assist. Kind regards Pedro da Siva General Manager
Read more
Travel34120847016 wrote a review 3 Jul
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Good points: • location • staff generally very helpful but miserable. Bad points: • food is unacceptable. We ordered a few starters to share between us. Fish was stone cold and chicken was raw. • Room with Garden View and terrace but you can’t see garden because trees are too high and close to windows. Also you are not able to step out onto the balcony or even open patio doors to get fresh air. • TV in the bathroom is not working • Housekeeping did not replenished our mini bar. • Housekeeping left glasses and coffee pots dirty • Turndown service is not available • There is no doorman at the entrance to the hotel • The hotel as a whole is run down and needs modernisation. Overall for £750 a night there are much better hotels in the vicinity so we will not be coming back anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Travel34120847016, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, and I am really sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for all the oversights you experienced whilst with us. I absolutely take your comments on board and will be addressing them with my team to look into and rectify as a matter of priority where possible. There is not much we can do about the trees, but we can definitely improve our food quality and room cleanliness as this is definitely not the standard we are striving to deliver, and again, I am really sorry we failed for you this time. I hope you believe me when I say, that we are so much better than your past experience, and please do reach out to my guest services team at guestservices.royalhorseguards@guoman.co.uk should you be willing to give us another chance of service and we will be happy to make all the arrangements for you and I am certain we can turn your past experience around. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
Mark A wrote a review 3 Jul
Chiddingstone, United Kingdom18 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed at the Royal Horseguards as part of an ABBA voyage package. While the hotel was good, if not a little dated, the room we were allocated had no external view or no natural daylight. This was not made clear when the room was booked, and the ticketing website shows a different room category with an external window to what is actually allocated. I feel that this is misleading and should be updated. Customers should be advised that these rooms have no external view or natural daylight when booking these packages, and the concert website should not show a more superior room category to what is actually being booked. There was also a half eaten chocolate bar in the minibar when we arrived. On a positive front the staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonable, and the hotel is in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Beware of standard rooms with no external window or natural daylight.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear intrepidtraveller231 Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, and I am sorry to learn that you did not entirely enjoy your time with us and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the oversights experienced. I take our guest feedback very seriously as I truly believe that by truly listening to what our guests have to say about us we will learn and improve. Rest assured I am reviewing the offer with the partner company selling the ABBA voyage package to ensure that correct information is displayed for our guests and subsequently I am working very closely with the Housekeeping team to ensure attention to detail whilst cleaning the room. I do hope to welcome you with us again in the future. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
Susan L wrote a review 3 Jul
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I had the pleasure in staying in this stunning Hotel in June 2022. My room was amazing. It was very clean, and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. The staff at reception and at breakfast were so friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back. Thank you again for the wonderful stay. Sue
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Sue, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and for this wonderful review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us, found the room comfortable and staff friendly, and helpful. We all are looking forward to welcoming you again for another 5* stay. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
Robin W wrote a review Jun 2022
Mobile, Alabama25 contributions4 helpful votes
Good location but busy busy. Hotel rooms bigger than standard fare. Air conditioner did not work and nobody could fix at night or instruction offer on maybe why it wasn't working. Had to open windows thankfully cool outside. No helpful staff seemed short handed and they concentrated on private parties booked. Takes an electrical engineer to figure out lights in room. All that being said if the hotel was 100 pounds instead of overpriced it would be great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear robinbobin_11. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am disappointed to see that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the maintenance and service oversights experienced, rest assured that this is not the standard level of service we are delivering at the Royal Horseguards hotel and I am really sorry we failed for you. We do hope to welcome you with us again in the future. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
golfer35 wrote a review Jun 2022
Worcester, United Kingdom307 contributions109 helpful votes
Great location, clean rooms, I don’t know what they cost as trip organised by my husband, but disappointed as had a garden view room but the only thing you can see is tree tops, when the Thames/London eye is just below and across the road . Plus you cant go on the balcony, so if he paid extra for a view and balcony it wasn’t worth it. We had two room as travelling with our daughters, they never had a problem with there room which was good but no view at all which is ok if the room was reasonably priced. Really Comfortable bed though slept so so well and I really struggle to sleep in general so was relived to sleep deep but sadly was awoken by the sunlight coming through the curtains as they didn’t fit the window properly. So unfortunately will not rush back as so many other hotels to choose from, when your spending money on a treat to go to London and it’s not 100% you will not return, it’s that simple nowadays. We did speak to a senior member of staff about the curtain the following morning and showed him the picture, he just said sorry, but I really hope they do get housekeeping in there to change it so the next customer has a better experience than me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It instruct you to come off at Charing Cross station. The embankment is just as close
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear golfer35, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and I am really sorry to learn that you did not entirely enjoy your time with us. We always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests so they would like to return and I am really sorry we failed you this time. I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences caused, however, on a positive note, I am glad to see that you found our beds comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Rest assured your feedback has been seen by the heads of relevant departments and we are working hard to close all the possible service and product quality gaps we have. I do hope you might give us another chance of service hence please reach out to the guest services team at guestservices.royalhorseguards@guoman.co.uk when you are finalizing your plans and we will be happy to make all the arrangements for you and ensure we can turn your past experience around. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
Ritakliro wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia68 contributions19 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel was conveniently located close to all Landmark sights. As it was our first visit to London it served well in location. Old charming hotel with modern facilities such as restaurant and cosy bar. The room had a view of the river and was clean and comfortable. All staff were polite and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Ritakliro, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel and for this amazing review. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, found the building charming, the room clean and the staff polite and helpful. We always strive to deliver memorable experiences for our guests and it is incredibly motivating to see that we have done it for you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
jevers13 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom104 contributions19 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a good position within walking distance for lots of London landmarks! Our room overlooked the river and gardens, it was lovely to see all the spring flowers below. Comfortable bed, nice toiletries and good breakfast served. All the staff I had dealings with were helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Horseguards, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Horseguards
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jevers13, Thank you so much for your review. Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your arrival experience and so pleased to hear that the team were friendly and that our service was great. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards, Pedro da Silva General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$303 - US$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal horseguards hotel london, royal horseguards london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonWestminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
282
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Horseguards
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Horseguards?
Nearby attractions include National Gallery (0.4 km), St. James's Park (0.4 km), and London Eye (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Horseguards?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Horseguards?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Horseguards?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Horseguards?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Horseguards?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brigit's Bakery, The Marquis, and The Port House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Horseguards?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Royal Horseguards?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Royal Horseguards offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Royal Horseguards?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Horseguards?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.6 km), Tower of London (3.3 km), and Houses of Parliament (0.7 km).