We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I made a mystery hotel through expedia and ended up with this hotel, not expecting that somewhere advertised as 4 star would turn out to have such shoddy reviews...I imagine capturing unsuspecting people through mystery deals like this must be the only source of bookings this hotel can get given the feedback about it. Acting on the feedback of other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antony R
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Antony R, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience of having booked the Commodore Hotel London. You must have noticed our prompt responses to every review without hiding from them just like most other hotels do. This would reflect the fact that to every situation there are always two sides. The hotel,...

Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We had booked into this hotel via friends choice.When we arrived our rooms were not ready as it was12.00 so we left our cases with the staff and checked in and was asked to pay up front. This was fine but before seeing the room etc I thought was a bit out of order. I was also informed I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lois P, Thank you very much for the feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy. The check-in process that you have mentioned along with the pay upfront is quite different to what we do at the Commodore Hotel London. Every booking that is made gets pre-authorised at the time of the booking and the Front Desk would only...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Barely more than a slum for high end prices. Definitely not the 4 stars given on booking.com. The smell in the rooms was terrible. Damp, musty, old and dirty. Cockroaches in the bathroom, black mould and ingrained dirt on the tiles and dead bugs on the blind. They advertise a restaurant and room service which doesn't exist. I booked 8...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank caroline b
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear caroline b, Thank you for the feedback. Though an apology will not alter the outcome of what you have experienced, I would like to extend it with all sincerity. Our Pest Control Officer (PCO) was immediately called to look into the cockroach issue that was brought to our attention. Though the report from the PCO turned negative, preventative measures...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Travelling with work, booked it for the location. On arrival, some reception staff were less than competent in booking us in. Work had forward sent all credit card details/ forms which were requested. Hotel had limited knowledge of this in spite of us having e mails confirming all necessary information had been received. The room itself absolutely stunk of smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie M, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Feedbacks such as yours are very important to us and sorry you were unhappy. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar

Leeds
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel was great right on the edge of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, we walked everywhere and the walks through the park were lovely. The hotel it's self looks nice from the outside and the lobby isn't too bad but the rest of the hotel is really shabby and run down. The rooms are dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosey16
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosey, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that the location of the hotel was handy for you. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had. We will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We recently stayed at the Commodore Hotel while we were in London. The room we were given was clean and tidy however starting to show signs of wear and tear. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and appeared to have been recently renovated. I believe that the building because of it's age would have certain restrictions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleurby12
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fleurby12, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. Based on your review we believe that most of the issues that you have mentioned are either due to a misunderstanding or you are been misinformed or booking was mismanaged by your Online Booking Agent or Travel Agent. 1 - "charged not once but...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed for two nights - we had a view of the air conditioning and a ridiculous trek to get to our room. The breakfast area was to the same standard as a B&B - food was probably worse. For the cost of the stay, I would have got a better deal at the Thistle hotel just down the road. Location:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph S, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will work hard to fix the issues you had experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I suffer from COPD and need oxygen 16 hours a day. I booked this hotel after going up to inspect t. I was pleased to see a ramp leading up to the entrance. I was informed by the night porter that the hotel had lifts to all floors, breakfast available from 7:30am everyday. When I came to stay I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iain459
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iain459, Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to the Commodore Hotel London. The Hotel's Main building has 02 Lifts that run up to the 6th Floor and access to the 7th Floor is through a staircase. The TownHouse Victorian side has no lift service due to...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 October 2016

What looks good on the outside, looks worse on the inside. The corridors were too tiny to drag our suitcase through, our room was dark, smelly and robustly old-fashioned. We only stayed for one night and that was more than enough. Despite its great location near Lancaster-Gate and its friendly staff, it was a disappointing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabuCarlos
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BabuCarlos, Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear that the location was handy to you. As for the corridors, we are sorry that you had difficulties in dragging your suitcase. The width of our corridors is around 100cm (3feet plus) which is quite normal in London, especially in Grade ll Victorian buildings. Once again we are sorry...

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The staff at reception were absolutely wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right next to Hyde park and a stroll to the underground which is extremely handy, but in the surrounding area everything closes ie bars and restaurants at 11, and the hotel does not have a bar either so no glass of wine after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that My Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful and that the location of the hotel was handy. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had with the room that was assigned....

603 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (270)
Viewed
Albert Suite (30)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Double Executive Room (22)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)
Viewed
Viceroy Suite (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#377 of 1,081 in London
1,337 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#563 of 1,081 in London
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Henry VIII Hotel
#827 of 1,081 in London
969 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#218 of 1,081 in London
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: €77 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#383 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would not recommend this hotel at all and haven't rated it because we didn't get to stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles janersmyth, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanR901, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 554antonyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find a room with a safe”
 of 5 bubbles 6jensa, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check room before accepting what is given.”
 of 5 bubbles 2niner, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay