We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dukes Hotel

Show Prices
#122 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,216: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked the central St James area for convenience but would never stay in this Dukes Hotel again. Our first night was ruined by a fracas in the room next to us where there was screaming and frightening noises and after two hours my husband rang down to alert Reception to this. We were moved to a room further down...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Therese O
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my partner arrived at the Dukes Hotel on a late Friday evening after going to see a show. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant concierge who showed us to our room which was beautifully decorated and clean. We had booked afternoon tea for the follow afternoon, which was one of the best I have ever had. All...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chloecushney
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We hadn't booked but were accommodated very well for afternoon tea, i've been before but my friend hadn't and she loved it too! Always enjoy different treats and of cause a glass of sparkly! Lovely warm and cosy hotel, a great place to rest after shopping. See you soon!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephsReviews99
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over priced, poor service, first time I used the lobby toilet there was no paper or towels and the second time the flush was broken. Check in was 2pm, we arrived at 3pm and we still had to wait for our room as did other guests. At breakfast we had to wait half an hour to be seated as did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reem M
Chart Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the second time staying at Dukes, the first was with my husband in a double room and the second with a female companion. Understandably, I had booked a twin room on the second visit, via BA with Avios points. I had received confirmation of my booking but upon arrival was very curtly informed by the Reception Manager that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Claire C
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and my team, the comments you made are both valued and useful. Naturally, I was deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the room category you originally booked, for which I can only start by apologising unreservedly. I am sorry to say that this booking information simply...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant is well hidden in this up market hotel. The hotel, also, is well hidden. Had business lunch. Service was impeccable and non-intrusive, facilitating conversation. Food excellent. Dining room was quiet - perfect for the occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scarisbrick
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and my team, we were thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. I was delighted to know that service you received was 'impeccable'. We all very much hope to welcome you back with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Debrah Dhugga

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dukes is tucked away between green park and st james street and is an oasis of luxury and charm in the busy west end. Very attractive period premises and country house decor with a modern twist. Delightful staff. Wonderful food and service in restaurant. The kind of hotel you really want to keep as a secret? !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulsmithcasty
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful review of our hotel, thank you! It truly was our pleasure to welcome you as our guests. I was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that our staff were 'delightful'. The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON again soon. Kind Regards, Debrah...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very excited at staying at such a prestige hotel in a great location We were attending a dinner in the 36 restaurant that night Service was a little haphazard Food was minimilistic By the time the sugar and cream came for my coffee it was cold That evening items were removed from our room and despite ringing reception we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane E
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and my team, the comments you made are very much valued and useful. Naturally, I was deeply disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, for which I can only start by apologising unreservedly. I would greatly appreciate if you can contact my team...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm totally satisfied with my stay in the Duke's! The rooms are convenient, possibly the bathroom a bit outdated, but for the rest, it's just nice and characterful and the staff very helpful. The location of the hotel is just perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T371GNnicolasd
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful review of our hotel, thank you! We are thrilled to hear that you were 'totally satisfied' with your recent stay. The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon. Kind Regards, Debrah Dhugga

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last minute as hotel I had planned was over-booked. Was "upgraded" to a basement room and was pretty disappointed. 2 very small single beds (they should have asked)? Very noisy heating. Although billed as a suite it had only a small round table and 2 hard chairs, no sofa and a large oak bureau - old tired decoration. Mini bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 186338Marcel01
Debrah_Dhugga, Managing Director at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and my team, the comments you made are very much valued and useful. Naturally, I was deeply disappointed to hear that there were some aspects of your stay which simply did not meet your expectations. We do feel we offer excellent value to our guests, and so I can...

602 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (372)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (43)
Viewed
Duke of Grafton Suite (54)
Viewed
Luxury Room (27)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,078 in London
747 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,078 in London
1,016 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#99 of 1,078 in London
3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,078 in London
3,637 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#25 of 1,078 in London
1,220 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#22 of 1,078 in London
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: €272 - €580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dukes Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the hotel has a very characterful bar with a very qualified service crew!”
 of 5 bubbles T371GNnicolasd, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one where everything actually works! [The top floor can be VERY hot in summer]”
 of 5 bubbles FussyUs, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles tommckean, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Excellent location”
 of 5 bubbles gmjar, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure that the A/C is functioning properly in your room.!!”
 of 5 bubbles 20michaelj, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay