We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

4 Star Hostel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
4 Star Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 4 Star Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I think it will be hard to beat this hostel as far as strange check-in experiences go. I entered the building into a large room that I presume was used as a restaurant, and was beckoned down towards the end of the room towards a man behind a desk who proceeded to check me in. Not the friendliest of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollie98
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have been in many hostels, and I can`t say this was the worst one. In fact, the hostel offers basic bed and shower, but I stayed in a 8-bed room and I had zero problem. I found the bathroom and shower area always clean, and the Wi-Fi worked beautifully from my bed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sergio s
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 13 March 2014

check in is in the cellar and this must have been a disco at some stage. The place must be run by Russians. Personell very friendly. Lift upstairs tiny and old, can take maximum 2 people. Accomodation not clean - my bed linnen was definitely not new - under the pillow I found a city map of London which belonged...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MasonG56
Rosario, Argentina
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location is unbeatable, two blocks from the Piccadilly Circus tube stop. Everything else is terrible. It's not a hostel - it's a couple of rooms above a shady Russian restaurant. It has no facilities besides the (very basic) rooms and bathrooms. It also looks very run down. The worst part is the lack of security. The lockers are outside...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank singtheendsong
London
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location - fabulous! Staff - good Beds - I could feel every spring in the mattress Bathroom - not clean and only one for about 30 people I stayed here over NYE. The room size was fine, but the beds were uncomfortable and I couldn't find a single outlet in the room to charge my phone. They said they were...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kali B
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Annoying. No common/living room, no kitchen, not even a place where eating is allowed. 2 toilets for more than 40 people. Only the location is good, but better sleeping on the street for free at this point.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Abx300
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Abx300, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London. It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations. Please note we do have eating areas near the main reception for guest staying with us. Hope to see you again...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2013

For many people staying in a hostel, shopping in mayfair is probably going to be out your reach. Shopping aside it is still fantastic location with shorts to green park and Piccadilly circus underground stations. The hostel has helpful staff, the bedding is clean and comfortable and the bathroom is cramped. criticisms: it was quite quiet socially and at £30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianlewis_001
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ian, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly, London. Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :) Greetings from London. James Guest Relation Manager 4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Masaka
Reviewed 16 September 2013

... But it has never seen three of those stars. However, (and I stress that) if you can live with modest accommodation which at first glance looks a little dodgy, but turns out to be quite decent for the price range, you'll find that this is actually a great choise if saving money is a priority. Staying in a hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacobDueholm
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly, London. Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :) Greetings from London. James Guest Relation Manager 4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

bronx, ny
Reviewed 20 August 2013

At first when I saw the multicolored hallway and the archaic doorway I thought I was in for a terrible suprise. Then, when I walked down the stairs to the restraunt where they conducted reception. There were cocatous and parrots flying around and I wondered if I had stumbled upon some kind of hippy commune. In any case, despite all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronnymack
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review

Hi dear Ronny, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly, London. Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :) Greetings from London. James Guest Relation Manager 4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here for a week in July 2013. The only good things about this place were the location and the comfort of the bed. Both showers were constantly cold for everyone, complaints were made and we were told it would be fixed, but it wasn’t. This was a “girls only dorm”, but men were told that they were allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KatrinaM4
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London. It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations. Please note that when you stayed here we were in the middle of a seasonal clean out for the hostel. Hope to...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#113 of 1,063 in London
3,867 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#531 of 1,063 in London
2,360 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
808 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,063 in London
1,101 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A London Hostel Providing Cheap Hostel Accommodation in Central LondonThe Hostel 4 Star @ The Piccadilly Guest House is a new, modern, penthouse-style ladies only hostel providing comfortable, cheap hostel beds in Central London.We offer a low cost, safe and convenient hostel accommodation for ladies to stay when visiting London England.Based on the top floor of a modern block on historic Jermyn Street, it is moments from top London attractions, including the West End Theatreland, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and Oxford Street.Easily accessible via Piccadilly Circus, Green Park and Leicester Square underground tube stations, and just 15 minutes from Waterloo, Piccadilly Guest House should be your choice when planning a trip to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 4 Star Hostel

Address: 91 Jermyn Street, London SW1Y 6JB, England (Formerly Piccadilly Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: €29 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 4 Star Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 4 Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Guest House Hotel London
4 Star Hostel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 4 Star Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No choice as this is a hostel.”
Keliset, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Don't choose it.”
MissAnnaBC, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
“better sleep in your cloths and leave your shoes on if you walk to the bathroom.”
MasonG56, 12 Mar 2014 | Read review
“You can either choose the room of 8 w private toilet or simply share the toilet located just outside the room.”
ronaelekol, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Avoid - there is no good room”
LiisaA385, 22 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates