We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of Marlin Apartments Aldgate
 Click to rate
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived late on the Saturday night to be told there are no rooms available due to a broken lock on the door. The women surving me was idle and couldn't really care. I want to know why nobody contacted me telling me about the matter so we could come to some sort of arrangement? After all I had paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackrob99
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The apartments themselves are great. Spacious, modern and kept clean with nice and comfortable beds and furniture. However, most of the staff either hangs up on you by phone, or promises to fix this or that without anything happening. Usually they're too busy watching TV shows or listening to music in the reception to greet you when you come (it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus D
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Marcus D, Thank you for choosing Marlin Apartments Aldgate and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you loved your apartment and that you found it clean. I will pass your kind words to our housekeeping. Your feedback regarding the front desk staff was passed to our management team and a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 8 weeks. The apartment was beautiful, really nicely laid out, very clean and pretty well supplied. Only thing missing was a hair dryer. Apartment serviced weekly. Front desk is a mixed bag - some very friendly, others a bit difficult to engage with. Overall, great experience, very close to Aldgate and Aldagate East stations, with lots of great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathP111
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear CathP111, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful review here on trip advisor page. I am really happy to see that you had a great experience and you loved your stay here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. Your feedback regarding our front desk staff was noted and passed to both reception and management. It was...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This worked much better than a hotel for us and friends as the lounge provided a social space to sit and chat. Also rate was reasonable compared with a decent hotel. The area it's situated in isn't all that nice, so next time we'd try a different Marlin. Although Aldgate East tube station was just round the corner so that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spoogy73
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Spoogy73, Thank you very much for staying with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate and for taking the time to post your feedback here on trip advisor. I am really glad to know that you liked your apartment and you found it very spacious, comfortable and clean. I am really sorry to hear that our staff was not nice...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

one staff member that works here was a delight to meet as I am from RBS and I love everything to be outstanding. Her customer service skills were excellent and she actually was interested in my day, though she was working alone and had a load of guests to attend to at once she rose to the challenge and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank putmeonaye
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear putmeonaye, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review here on trip advisor. I am really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope to see you back soon. Also, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff. I will pass your kind words to her....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived with a group of 12, approached front desk to be met by a stone faced mute. It was like drawing blood from a stone. No hello, no welcome. Just mumbled and sighed. Not really good enough. !!! Woke up a bit when she remembered to take the £600 damages deposit for the 3 rooms Which consequently takes them six...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thatboy75
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Thatboy75, Thank you very much for staying with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. I am really glad that you loved our rooms but in the same time i am really disappointed to hear that our front desk staff was rude and less then professional during your check in time. I can assure you that the issue was raised...

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had visitors coming from Spain and reserved a 2 bed apartment 6 weeks in advance. When I arrived to check in at 18:30 they said they had tried to contact me to cancel my booking. They didn't call - they emailed me at 18:21 that day to cancel my booking. Absolute disgrace - ruined my friends and my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCriticSwanage
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear TheCriticSwanage, I am really disappointed to hear that you have done a booking with Marlin Apartments but you did not had the chance to enjoy your stay with us. As i understood you have been already contacted by our management in regards and i believe that the issue was already resolved. Kind Regards, Octavian Constantin Canareica Front Desk Supervisor...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went back and forth about giving Marlin a 3 star review based on the poor level of service I've received each time I've stayed... however decided 3 was just a little too harsh factoring I keep going back. But it could've easily gone either way. Fact is the apartments are good. They're not 5 star by any means at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Glen S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on trip advisor. I am really glad to hear that you like our apartments and that you are a happy returning guest. I hope that you do understand that here at Marlin Apartments we are renting fully equipped apartments which is different from a single...

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We had a really lovely weekend staying here. The two bedroom appointment was just perfect for our requirements. Good base with underground and buses within minutes. Highly recommended for that weekend away. You are able to have a late check out and we found the staff very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Beverley W, Thank you for your stay with Marlin Apartments and for your feedback shared on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to find out that you found the two bedroom apartment perfect for your requirements. Our 24 hrs front desk staff are always available at your service and its good to see you have benefitted from this. I will pass...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, clean and very spacious, 2 big bedrooms 1 on suite a big living area and kitchen, it even had a balcony.There is a tube station and lots of places to eat and drink, within minutes, found a fantastic Turkish restaurant 3 minutes walk away that did takeaways.Would definitely recommended, and can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review

Dear Simon B, Thank you very much for your stay at Marlin Aldgate and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and I am happy to hear that you found an excellent accommodation here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. Thank you once again for sharing such positive feedback...

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#13 of 827 in London
111 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighbourhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Price Range: €140 - €279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marlin Apartments Aldgate staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Marlin Apartments Aldgate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pretty good sound insulation.”
 of 5 bubbles 514marcusd, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother they won't honour their commitment”
 of 5 bubbles TheCriticSwanage, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't expect what you see on the picture! ”
 of 5 bubbles HellDell, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrameg87, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Slippers and robes ”
 of 5 bubbles mariagV3139IM, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5