We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA London St Pauls

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The hostel is located in a superb central location - you can walk anywhere! There is a restaurant that serves all you can eat English breakfast and dinner for a very good price - the burgers were amazing! Beds were were cozy and warm, the rooms were cleaned everyday and even with the huge school group staying the toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thanks so much for such a great review. I will of course pass on your comments to all of my team who will be delighted, We also appreciate your comments about our cleanliness, in addition to the cleaning that happens during the day, our toilets and showers are refreshed throughout the day and night as you so rightly...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Awful place. The tiny room stank. The bed had a sharp metal spike sticking up, and the mattress cover was blood stained. Probably form the last victim on the sharp piece of metal. Add to the ants in the bed and the rodent traps in the corridor, it's no surprise that we had bad stomachs after eating the chicken in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wilko160
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Wilko, I have sent you an email and would appreciate if you would contact me on the email address I have sent you so I can carry out immediate investigation. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Wonderful position with excellent transport options.Staff are competent and helpful. Plumbing is draconion,for example most toilets do not flush effectively with problems unresolved for years. A warning that water to a handbasin can be very hot with no capacity to add cold means that it could be impossible to wash ypur hands properly after using the toilet. Hand wash liquid...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christinegeo
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Christinego, We appreciate you taking the time to review us, Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. With reference to refurbishment, we have recently refurbished out restaurant and 8 of our shower units. Work is currently underway to continue with more showers. Some of our rooms have also been refurbished and this is an ongoing process. As...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The hostel didn't have the bedrooms the lovely pictures described. The room we stayed in had toilet paper stuck into the fire alarm! The beds were like lying on tomb stones. Furthermore the hostel had 2 showers broken and toilets . Considering their was probably 200 guests staying in the hostel this was pretty much awful. I certainly will not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Adam, Thanks for taking the time to review us, real shame you didnt mention any of this to us whilst you were staying here. We find most genuine complaints are reported at the time of stay and therefore giving us the opportunity to rectify especially something as serious as "paper in the fire alarm"!! You are correct about 2...

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

it is central and easy to get to. also has very good public transport links. there is no kitchen so you have to use their cafe but the food is good value and the brakefast is very good value. they also have a bar. The rooms are typical yha but they do have some rooms with bath, shower and toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loch2lock
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Loch2loch, Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind comments to my team and they will appreciate your feedback. A lot of our guests mention the cathedral bells, some love it, some dont but really good tip about ear plugs and of course are available from reception if needed. Hope we will see you again in the...

Courtice
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

After finishing a bus trip through out eastern Europe I decided to come to London for a couple of day to meet up with a old friend. We stayed in a 5 person same sex room. Room was okay, a little run down but okay for price, could use some up dates. Loved that they had large cupboard that fit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for reviewing us at St Pauls. We are slowly starting to refurbish the hostel and some of our rooms have been complete and we are concentrating now on our showers and toilets. Great tips for prospective visitors, I understand your frustration about plug sockets and its something we are aware of. Guests are more than welcome...

Springfield, Virginia
Reviewed 13 September 2015

The location is fantastice. It is literally in the shadow of St. Paul's cathedral. Very convenient to the Undergound. I felt very safe walking around the area even at night. The Millenium Bridge is just a block or 2 away and we walked down to it and viewing London along the Thames at night is enchanting. The rooms are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Page V
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Page, Great information for prospective visitors, we appreciate the fact you point out that although our building is old it is clean and that is one of our main objectives, a clean safe friendly environment at a great price for the City Of London. Not quite sure what happened when you looked at our breakfast because as you will...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This hostel is in a great location for visiting many of the attractions in central London. Buckingham Palace, The Houses of Parliament, Tower Bridge, The Tower of London, numerous cathedrals and other attractions are within walking distance. My son and I stayed in a dorm on the top floor. It and the associated shower and WC facilities were in good...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here, You are right about some of our rooms and showers being renovated. We are slowly managing to refurbish our showers and rooms which is a slow process but we are getting there. Im sorry that other guests were a little inconsiderate however we do have notices...

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

4th visit here and this time with all family, staff very friendly and helpful and get you great deal on tickets, hostel is clean and breakfast is quite good value for money. Couldn't ask for a better location, all in all outstanding value for money and right opposite St Pauls Cathedral, fantastic, will be back at Christmas for our 5th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blkm123
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hey Blkm. 4th stay and planning a 5th, thanks for your comments, I will of course pass on to my team, see you in December Steve Hostel Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I spent one night here. Never again! The beds were rock hard and not easy to access, the whole place was shabby and run-down, and the bathrooms were not too clean. I was also disturbed by the booms of the bell from St Paul's which is not silenced in the small hours of the night. I heard it boom every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TimeTravellerDrWho
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Timetraveller! Thanks for you review, although we take all comments on board im afraid when booking a hostel at St Pauls cathedral we would assume people would realise the cathedral has bells which are obviously beyond our control. As our reception has a Duty manager 24/7 I dont understand why you didnt bring this to our attention at the time...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 837 in London
376 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#136 of 837 in London
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
68 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 837 in London
1,122 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 837 in London
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: €27 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
24 days ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room as far from the cathedral as possible and near a bathroom.”
7catm, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift. Might be a struggle for the older traveller.”
verony, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“view of St Pauls available from some rooms”
nortonanna, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Again, it's London, to get any accomodation at this price is a blessing.”
dafyddw2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs and a second pillow. Alternatively bring a ligature to slowly strangle the life out of a snorer. ”
grahaml275, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5