We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA London St Pauls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I love this place everytime i stay the staff have been great always happy and easy to talk too. I have heard that the rooms are all slowly being updated which is brill only problem i had was plug not close to some beds so causes problems but never minds. Showers have always been clean, toilets and everywhere else too....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sam_painton
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Sam, Thank you for the wonderful review you left on our hostel, it is always great to get such amazing feedback. We will be changing all of our beds in November, which means that all beds should have their own light and plug. Hope to see you soon, thank you again for the review. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Excellent welcome and speedy check in however room was not what I expected too small. Spotless however a good nights sleep was spoiled by something hostel has no control over the chimes of St Paul's, So take up the offer of ear plugs. Check out staff on the ball and first rate

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlessim1
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Charles, Thank you for leaving such a wonder review on our hostel and our staff. Yes, unfortunately we can't do anything about the bells but we do sell ear plugs. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here whilst the Jags NFL game was on. I was in a room in the basement with 4 friends. The walls were mouldy, the room dirty. The windows opened onto some kind of subterranean orifice with the top half of the window showing peoples feet. The room was near the boiler room I think because the walls were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Reading your comments confuses me a little. Im surprised that considering so much was wrong with your stay you failed to mention any of this to me or my team during your stay.We encourage feedback both positive and constructive, this is the only way we can improve, however in the interest of fairness we do expect guests with...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed here by myself for two nights and enjoyed my time here immensely! The staff was very friendly and the room I stayed in (8 bed female dorm) was very spacious with comfortable accommodations. The downside to this stay was the chiming of the bells at St. Paul's every hour on the hour, which became very obnoxious during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brieknight
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Brieknight, Thank you for your kind review, Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and my team were friendly. Unfortunately the bells can be a little like "Marmite" Some people love them others not. We do however offer earplugs @ reception and please feel fee to ask one of my team on your next visit. We have a duty manager...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

One of the worse hostel i've ever been. Really old beds, no chargers available, zero activities within the hostel, NO WIFI available, they charge you for the towels 7£. The only good thing is the location because it is just in front of St Pauls Cathedral and really near the tube.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJCB2016
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the review you have left on our hostel. We rent our towels out for £7, £5 is a deposit which you receive back on the return of the towel, this is explained to you when you rent the towel. We also have adapters at the reception desk as well as wifi throughout the reception and...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Great site, great staff, great rooms. I didn't quite believe it was as close to St. Paul's as it was. Breakfast was great and the staff from check into check out were fabulous. I'll be back for sure!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petedram2016
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Pete, Wow, thank you for the amazing review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the chef and the fantastic comments on the staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Really nice place, even I was there for one night. Internet not everywhere and not enough plug in the common room. But nice place, clean and nice staff. Next time I'll probably take a bed in YHA London St Paul's

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tal121
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the great review you left on our hostel. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is a lovely character building in the heart of London. Reception was the friendliest it's ever been this time. The building has it's problems but that's to be expected in something so old and a few dodgy pipes or noisy windows are a small price to pay for such a fabulous location. The communal areas are great although there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HarveyNobum
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Harvey, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review on our hostel. Great to hear that you found our reception to be friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be changing all our beds in November to the standard bunk beds and each bed will have its own plug and reading...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Just returned from St Paul's after 2 night's stay. Cannot thank the manager, Leigh and her staff enough. Excellent customer service and the staff were always cheerful. I wasn't well and Leigh was so helpful. My first time in a Youth Hostel, I will definitely stay there again. Excellent value, clean, lovely food and in a good location. Only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynda635
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Lynda, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Great to hear that you all made it home safely. Fantastic to hear that our customer service was good and the staff cheerful, I will pass your comments on to everyone. We hope to see you back at the hostel again really soon. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We spent two nights at YHA St Paul's. It is right in the center of London which makes easy to walk to the important places like St Paul's, the Tower, Millenium Bridge and Tate Modern etc. even late in the evening. We enjoyed very much the rich breakfast and also fish and chips in the evening was good. The people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinmI4218ML
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thank you so much for the wonderful review on our hostel, we really appreciate it. We are incredibly lucky to be in such a central location. I will pass on your lovely comments to the chef and also to the staff at reception. We hope to see you again really soon. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#74 of 791 in London
341 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#149 of 791 in London
253 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 791 in London
1,038 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 791 in London
598 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: €24 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
9 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to toilet and shower facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Dankei, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There might be good rooms in this YHA but it would appear to be a lottery.”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwi_Cath, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I was in dorm room 27 - 2nd floor at the front - and there was a LOT of street noise”
 of 5 bubbles lucyawainwright, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The single room on top floor with view of St Paul's Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnem21463, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I'd recommend a private room with only people you know but that's just what I chose to do and had no problem”
 of 5 bubbles KatrinaS137, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay