We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge London Central Southwark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Southwark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,444: English reviews
YORKSHIRE
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was booked into this hotel given the limited budget for work, much cheaper than a central London hotel, but what a find. With a tube 100 yards away being a little away from the centre is nothing. The reception staff were excellent, I been spoke to the manager when leaving late, having laid in, which is not always possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BIGPYorkshire
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend as it was the other half's Christmas do and we were allocated a room in the Travelodge. I have stayed in many a budget hotel in my time and nothing made this one stand out from the rest aside from the ideal location close to tube and overground rail links. Other than that it was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie0112
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sincerely sorry to learn that you were not positively impressed with the standard of your accommodation, however we can confirm extension leads are available from our receptions should you require this. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel team as this will give them grounds for improvement. We hope...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Family weekend to London, stayed in a few travellodges but wouldnt stay here again. reception was nice and staff freindly (unless you wanted a hairdryer - see below for more) The room was basic, very basic. I felt i had gone to see my nan in hospital or a home. Breakfast was great and plenty of it, even thou the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tcbrunty
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We apologise for the disappointment that was caused during your stay with us at Travelodge London Central Southwark. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed for 3 nights on business. Although the staff were friendly and welcoming, this place was not enjoyable. I stayed in a room to the inside courtyard which was quiet but it did not let any daylight in. The window was a lot smaller than in the front rooms as on their advert and only faced a moldy wall....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindmap
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team. at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge London Central Southwark. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A good value hotel in excellent London location. Left an item in the room on departure, staff going to forward this to me. Very helpful when I phoned regarding this. Have stayed here many times and will return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annieJ8347OL
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our London Central Southwark. It’s a huge pleasure to read of your enjoyment regarding many aspects of your stay with us. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

London is expensive so don't expect to find anything much cheaper for this kind of quality. Southwark is a great neighbourhood, so it’s a good starting point. In that sense this was a good place to stay, but it really was bare bones. The room was tiny. There were no drawers in which to keep clothes. Also the air conditioning/heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schweve
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your feedback with us at our London Central Southwark Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean and fresh. We're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel. We...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room did not smell that great, it was a bit musty. But what was most annoying was that there was no soap in the bathroom and staff failed to refill the dispenser when I reported it to them 10 minutes after check-in. My colleagues stayed in Airbnb properties nearby for half the price and they were much happier with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjD217LM
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Where to start! Fairly modern hotel conversion.. The room was cold due to the single air-con unit in the room apparently unable to dispense warm/hot air. Reception offered me a electric fire! Hotel surrounded by railway lines on all sides so noisy! Woken at 1am in the morning by another guest entering my room with a keycard having also been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into...

Vienne
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly, good location, room stinks, no possibility to open the window, so carpet is awful, needs to be changed or cleaned, not really comfortable when you stay 5 nights they need to improve this point

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyVienne
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge London Central Southwark. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Waited a while as there was nobody on reception. Room was cold and as usual there is no plug socket next to the bed. On the plus side it is convenient for office, ok value & rooms aren't bad. Also there's a decent bar & restaurant area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkPeteD

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#235 of 1,077 in London
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#405 of 1,077 in London
2,339 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: €83 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelTravel.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Southwark staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Southwark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a big room with view when booking”
 of 5 bubbles mindmap, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet floor away from road”
 of 5 bubbles Piddler1969, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take an eye mask and ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles 859HelenH, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are better as there is a busy road outside.”
 of 5 bubbles TimsterC, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not sure which side of the hotel we stayed on but it was the side facing the shard and the view was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 482al, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay