We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir Thomas Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sir Thomas Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Thomas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 726: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right. What to write about this hotel. First, when my boyfriend and I walked in, the member of staff on duty didn't even say hello and looked rather bored. Second the smell of old and dust hits you, then the colour of the carpet, once creamy, now grey. Third the room was on the first floor and facing a side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freeen
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed in this hotel. The bathroom was terrible. Vinyl flooring broken and extremely worn. The room was ok but in need of refurbishment. On the plus side the room was clean but the bathroom due to the state of it never looked clean. The noise from outside was quite bad but then that's only to be expected in a city... More 

Helpful?
Thank julie T

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight stay in liverpool for us midweek. Comfortable clean room in nice hotel including restaurant. Good central location near Matthew St and shopping area. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good plenty of choice in lovely restaurant if i had been staying longer would have ate there at night too. We went by train but did see a car park over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine A
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine A, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Sir Thomas Hotel. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and would love to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Chernice Duke Head Receptionist More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Astonishingly overpriced, I stayed a Saturday night in this hotel and got no sleep due to a combination of loud karaoke in neighbouring Cumberland St. until 4am, then being kept awake by possible the worst hotel bed I've ever slept on.

Helpful?
Thank andrews65
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrews65, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to learn about your recent experience with us. Being located in the heart of the city centre it has its obvious advantages but there is very little we can do to alter the behaviour of the weekend revellers visiting the city. We operate out... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this hotel , it was in a great position in walking distance to the nightlife eg the cavern , other bars , restaurants , museums and shops. The hotel has friendly staff especially the gentleman that greated us in bar area on arrival, the room was nicely decorated with everything you need , the bathroom was nice but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel L, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear you had a great stay with us here at The Sir Thomas Hotel and found all our staff to be very friendly. We would really like to see you again in... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on a special offer deal through booking.com. Found the whole experience brilliant and we were issued a nice size room which was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the location was ideal for visiting to centre of town. Would stay there again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Bee007boss
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bee007boss, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Sir Thomas hotel and for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards Chernice Duke Head... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If there was a rating between poor and average then this hotel would have it. It could be great but if you read the previous reviews then they pretty much say it all. It was a last minute booking and I won't be booking to stay there again any time soon. The negatives - shabby but not chic - passably... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at they hotel on the 12th of November and I must say was really looking forward to coming away to a bit of luxury for us £200 was alot to pay and I was informed that we were in a quiet part of the hotel but I'm so disappointed the room was shabby and two single beds pushed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie K Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and will be looking into the issues you have raised in your review. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this in more detail reservations@sirthomashotel.co.uk. Kind Regards Chernice Duke... More 

England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my daughter away for a birthday treat. We stay in liverpool a number of times each year, in various hotels. This is the most friendly hotel either of us have stayed in, from the big smile and helpfull banter from the head concierge Billy to the reception staff,all were great. After reading other reviews i requested a quite room... More 

Helpful?
Thank LASEngland
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LASEngland, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Sir Thomas Hotel and for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are very happy to hear you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us for her birthday celebrations and found all our staff welcoming and friendly. We would really love... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my mum stayed for 2 nights 4th and 5th November. We found the hotel to be clean, good central location, the choice at breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly especially Billy, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be staying again.

Helpful?
Thank katyemmak
SirThomas, Front Office Manager at Sir Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katyemmak, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed you recent stay with us and I have passed your kind comments onto Billy. We really hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Chernice Duke Head Receptionist More 

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
1,202 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
706 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
3,534 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Price Range: €53 - €302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Agoda so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sir Thomas Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
9 months ago
Halifax England
Halifax England
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sir Thomas Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ring and ask what they have.”
 of 5 bubbles tommcskimming, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we were allocated a dissabled room 101(we are not dissabled)spacious and very clean,”
 of 5 bubbles petev354, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a more quiet one”
 of 5 bubbles LASEngland, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“third floor rooms are quieter but not ones directly next to lift”
 of 5 bubbles KrisR0b, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“304 but can hear a little noise from outside late into the night, but not too intrusive”
 of 5 bubbles gangi6, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay