We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Liverpool

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Liverpool
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Liverpool
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely stay in YHA Liverpool, last minute budget valentines trip with my boyfriend. Have both stayed before in big groups so we already knew it was in an excellent location and very safe/secure. We had a private ensuite room, and it was a good size. Sheets were crisp and clean. The wifi reached our room but was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location, good rooms with newly refurbished bathrooms, good well equipped self catering kitchen, Wi-Fi worked in my room (rare in YHA properties, but should be standard in this day and age). The bad - why do all YHA properties play loud "feel-good" pop music all day long? No-one wants to be subjected to this at 8am on a Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevan S
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

YHA Liverpool is located within 5-10 minutes walk of Albert Dock and the free museums there. Also it takes no longer to walk in to town. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room (a room for 6 with bathroom) was clean and spacious. The self catering facilities were very good and boxes and labels were provided to keep your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldurkin2016
Oslo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in YHA Liverpool, bunk bed. Liked the place a lot, happy to stay again. Nice people working there, good kitchen, large social space, everything relatively new and clean. Good location close to waterfront. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eplegeir
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Eplegeir, Thanks for your review :) Gemma

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the hotel a hour or two early, the room was ready but they wouldn't let us check in. There was still a few of us to pay and I said we will pay later or could we do it tomorrow morning? And they insisted on having the money from me that day & when we were all ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte24x
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Charlotte, Thanks for leaving us a review, sorry to hear your stay wasn't up to standards. I will pass your comments onto the manager. We do hope you return in the future. Gemma

Mauzens-et-Miremont, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Greeted by a friendly receptionist and was very quickly checked in. Stayed in a room with 6 beds on the second floor and it was very spacious. Have stayed in this hostel several times and it is always a positive experience. As a slightly older solo traveller, its a great location to walk to and from even in the evening....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillB24260
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Jill, Thanks for your lovely review, its nice to see you stay with us several times :) we look forward to seeing you again on your next stay. Gemma

Mayo/Dublin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is located right beside the city center, perfect location. The staff are very friendly and overall the place is really clean! It was such good value for the standard we got! They done a great job controlling us 6 loud Irish girls

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niaff
YHALiverpoolManager, reception at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello Niaff, Thanks for your kind review :) we loved having you girls stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!! Gemma

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Have stayed at the liverpool hostel numerous times, hostel very modern with plenty of parking and hostel in good location. I have always felt safe in the dormitory rooms and would recommend this hostel if you are a solo traveller.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neiljones174
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, Neil! Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.

Cornwall
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Great location, nice and clean. Self catering kitchen plus meals available. Bar and a separate TV lounge.Friendly helpful staff. The YHA was being refurbished but disruption was kept to a minimum so I didn't even notice. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking onsite and was allowed to keep my car there for the day on which i checked out. Would thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank XWCornwall
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your lovely review! Hopefully you'll come and visit us again some time soon.

brazil
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The bathroom is poorly maintained and needs an exhaust fan and hook to hang towel. The sink is very small, the bathroom is very wet, there is no space to support things in the bathroom, everything is on the floor, there is nowhere to change clothes after bathing. Of all the hostels I stayed during my travels in Europe this...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patriciajanzss
YHALiverpoolManager, Front Office Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were left with a wet bathroom. We are getting all of our bathrooms replaced this winter, so hopefully you will have a better experience when you return next time.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.4 km away
Pullman Liverpool
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
821 reviews
0.6 km away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
3,717 reviews
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
1,190 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Albert Dock Hotel
0.2 km away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of everything Liverpool has to offer, this backpackers' hostel is just a stone's throw away from the historic Albert Docks. Close to the city centre, this newly refurbished Youth Hostel in Liverpool is perfect if you're looking for a cheap city break. YHA Liverpool at a glance: £70,000 renovation Extended bar - perfect for relaxing with friends over a drink! Fully refurbished reception area with brand new furniture, lighting, flooring and decor Updated lounge and games room Enhanced CCTV security Not far from the Tate and the International Slavery Museum, Maritime Museum and the famous Beatles Story, there is plenty to do in this city of culture. Don't miss out on the ferry across the Mersey - the terminal is just a short walk away. Just minutes from city centre shopping, live music venues, clubs and bars, including the famous Cavern Club, YHA Liverpool is the perfect location for a budget weekend break. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere at YHA Liverpool makes this a perfect venue for catching up with friends and seeing what this beautiful city has to offer. YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Liverpool! ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Liverpool

Address: 25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range: €21 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Liverpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Liverpool staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Liverpool staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were 2nd floor on the main road side, traffic noise with the window open but not bad.”
 of 5 bubbles ldurkin2016, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front have traffic noise as its on a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles brix47, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms fill up very quickly, so make sure to book as far in advance as possible.”
  • Room 214 - Private Room
 of 5 bubbles AnaM630, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If not with a group, ask to be placed away from school groups”
 of 5 bubbles DMac_Adelaide, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 389CathyF, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5