We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poplars

0.4 km from Lincoln centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Poplars Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of The Poplars
 Click to rate
Rosemont, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

No. #1, the staff are friendly and very helpful. My room was lovely, roomy, clean and warm. There is a refrigerator in the sunny breakfast room that can be used by all of the guests. Breakfast is self serve with fruit, bread and local jams available. All of the rooms and the main door have keypads so I felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE_JAN226
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband spotted this on booking.com and said it seemed to have good reviews, so I didn't question it when he booked it for a one night stay, following a family funeral that day. I have read other reviews on Trip Advisor and I do not understand why people would give it such high praise. It is a scruffy, run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
Cornwall
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely B&B, lots of nice touches to make guests feel comfortable. We were only staying one night but it would have made a lovely base to explore Lincoln for a few days. WiFi was good. Shared bathroom, but very near. Good hot shower. Lovely continental breakfast with opportunity to boil eggs and make a cafetiere coffee.Yes, the drive is narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XWCornwall
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in a double with shared bathroom and loved it! Our room was small and cosy with an extra room leading off it which had a futon and wardrobes. Everywhere was clean and in good repair including the bathroom which looked like it had been refurbished in the last couple of years - the poor reviews I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Many many thanks, we really enjoyed reading your positive review, we do a fair bit of traveling ourselves so hope to share what we would expect without breaking your budget. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Hard to find on Google maps. Drive access for your car is horrendous as is really narrow and we almost lost our wing mirrors! The photos on Booking.com are quite deceiving. It was clean and tidy but nothing like the boutique feel and look that they are trying to sell it as! Breakfast was a disappointment as it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ktarchie75
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Booked the Poplars at short notice for a short break in Lincoln. Location was absolutely perfect - right next to the castle and the town centre. Was met by lovely staff member that showed us our room and all the features. Very helpful and informative and really made us feel welcome. The room was lovely. The decor and victorian features...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Shared Bathrooms !!! The walls of the rooms are too thin and you can't have a minute of silence. One of the worst places i've ever been Uncomfortable, smelly, the ramp of the parking lot its too steep (I broke the car's license plate). Breakfast at inconvenient hours. I will never go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniVeMi
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Giovanni, you booked a discounted non refundable Shared bathroom room through booking.com. You were upset when you realised you had not booked an en-suite. Rather than seeing if we could accommodate you in one of our en-suites or an apartment you left. As you know or maybe not as you didn't stay the walls are not thin, the rooms are...

Blackburn
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in this lovely Victorian hotel for two nights and the accommodation was perfect.The room was cosy, the ensuite bathroom was impressive and the location was fantastic.The hotel is not too far from the train station and we found it easily.We didn't mind the steep climb to and from the shops and the hotel and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine1964
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thanks Elaine, so glad you enjoyed your stay here, yes we like you we recommend the Cathedral roof top tour. It's end of November as I type this and a beautiful Sunny day the views will be impressive

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Just returned from a weekend staying at the poplars,all I can say is that the place is fantastic and the staff and owners are Brilliant,me and my wife will definitely be visiting again,its virtually minutes from the town centre and attractions that Lincoln has to offer,one of the quietest and nicest bed and breakfasts we have ever visited,the free on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

I Peter It was a pleasure to host and meet you and your wife looking forward to your return visit, many thanks Martin

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and i stayed whilst on a business trip first problem was finding it the sat nave takes you to wrong road an we felt directions could have been given better to avoid problems The car park is a nightmare to negotiate a bit like the north face of the eiger The room itself was not very clean ughh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackbess2
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Well we got to the positive in the end !!, sorry about dust, i'm guessing it's an over exaggeration like "north face of eiger"

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
6.0 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 53 in Lincoln
405 reviews
0.3 km away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 53 in Lincoln
402 reviews
0.3 km away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 53 in Lincoln
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Poplars

Address: The Poplars Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: €51 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Poplars 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars Hotel Lincoln
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Poplars staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Poplars staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room on the second floor would help you to avoid another flight of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles SUE_JAN226, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor gives lovely views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles XWCornwall, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They all seem good”
 of 5 bubbles petertC8499LR, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are steep stairs to the rooms at the top of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles myjlcr, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are upstairs. We had a double and a twin on the first floor. The double had a considerably larger bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffB499, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5