We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Booking.comUS$96*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 791: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed there for 1 night on a business trip. Rooms are really tiny & not very clean. You can hear the other rooms door closing. You can hear people talking while they pass form the corridor. In the bathroom of the room I had, the sink had 2 different taps for hot & cold water on either side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandip71
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our room was very small. No drawers in the room and no space in the tiny wardrobe. Tatty nets and uncomfortable pillows. Loved the building but the room was nasty. Breakfast was ok but nothing spectacular.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay G
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, however, l am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay which is disappointing as exceeding all of our guests expectations is our goal. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the relevant personnel to ensure no further repetition. I do hope this has not marred your opinion of us and that...

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely staff. Good sized room. Only lacked little touches like a fridge/mini bar. But perhaps this was in the next level rooms. Housekeeping were a bit keen, knocked at 10am when checkout was noon! Otherwise very good. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanieaA6016BP
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback For your reference we do not supply mini bars or fridges in any of our accommodation. I am sorry you were disturbed by our housekeeping team.

Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service from the whole team here. Especially Leon in the bar. Everyone loves him. Fab cocktails and excellent selection of wines. Always happy to chat to business travellers and to make you feel welcome even though you're away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrkbtlr
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and more importantly for mentioning Leon who will be nominated for the 'employee of the month' award We look forward to your return.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this grand hotel. Was a beautiful hotel to stay in for my girlfriend's birthday.The privelidged room was plush and clean plenty of space. The breakfast was in Marco Pierre White restaurant. Had everything you could want for breakfast.Wonderful helpful staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Excellent nights life to have a drink or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane t
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which will be shared with all the team. Our aim is to always provide a stimulating atmosphere and to go above and beyond to WOW our guest. Your comments will encourage the team to bring forth the highest level of service, to every guest, every time. We look forward to your next visit.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay here. It was a birthday part for my wife. Bar staff and reception were very accommodating and prices of cocktails very reasonable. We also had dinner here at Marco Pierre White's and the staff were incredible. One particular waitress was spectacular and one of our friends commented on she would be hired by his company with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alantang75
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed your visit to 'Marco's' We do have a car park at the rear of the hotel which eliminates any parking problems. We look forward to your next visit.

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here a couple of years ago and it has improved in some respects. Great location in the city centre with car parking which as a Londoner I don't think overly expensive. I am a platinum card holder and was greeted accordingly and given a room upgrade to a privilege room. It was very large, but very dark. Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CADLondon
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. We do have a refurbishment plan in place to upgrade some of our bedrooms and bathrooms in the near future and yes as a city centre hotel we do not have any scenic views to offer. However, l am pleased that you would recommend the hotel.

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in an ideal postition for the city centre, the rooms are OK ... but in need of a little tlc. The first room we rejected but staff were very quick to sort another. The breakfast was very nice. Parking available at an additional cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shamus67
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are dirty and very tired, in the first room I found a toe nail on the seat and hairs all over the bathroom. After asking to be moved, the second room was even worse. The service from reception was also not great. Not even close to a 4 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rich W
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

My sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us We welcome all comments from our guests both negative and positive to enable us to improve on our business and standards and for this we thank you. The poor housekeeping standards encountered cannot be excused and very direct action has been taken. I would like to reassure you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

i booked one of the top category premium rooms as an accor club member. it stank of smoke even with windows left open. it was the carpet etc that were saturated with the smell. reception too busy for me to get a switch and hotel full. staff seem to lack training. i wasnt welcomed or given drinks token as accor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve n
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, however, l am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is with regret and disappointment to read that your room was not serviced to our usual high standard and your underrated service at reception. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the relevant personnel to ensure no further...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
834 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
309 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
609 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: €80 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel England
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
richw209, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quietest rooms are internal but no view.”
  • Desk, TV.
  • Warbrobe space, second desk for tea tray.
  • Pleasant ambience from wood and decor.
  • Toiletries supplied.
  • Large comfortable bed.
  • Bathtub with shower.
  • Plenty of room, separate seating area.
  • Quiet but not much of a view.
C6631CHmartinw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Asked for room with bath and got it”
540tracyk, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
carolb429, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one at the rear.”
799nigelm, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.comUS$96
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates