We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Colwyn Hotel

Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (172)
Dining (62)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
2.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
509
232
38
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
509
232
38
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop pleasure beach sea view great hotel family room toast breakfast was excellent full english pool table next year would stay again choice of cereals single room cooked breakfast tea coffee making facilities last minute booking yogurt
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although a little tired the Colwyn Hotel is a friendly well situated hotel, close to the beach and tramway. The staff are helpful & welcoming. I only booked a single room & was given a double. (out of season bonus), much appreciated. Excellent breakfast.More

1  Thank ric20172017
Response from Suzanne K, sales at The Colwyn HotelResponded today

Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing the Colwyn Hotel for your recent visit to Blackpool. Our staff do their utmost to ensure all guests have a lovely stay, and it is so rewarding to read your positive comments. Please do recommend us to your family...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is what Blackpool is all about, a nice little B&B to get some rest in during an action packed few days in Blackpool. Stayed 2nd - 4th Nov in Room 105 (with a view of the illuminations & the Pleasure Beach), just me...More

1  Thank YorkshireNat
Response from Suzanne K, Sales at The Colwyn HotelResponded today

Dear Yorkshire Nat Many thanks for choosing the Colwyn Hotel for your recent visit to Blackpool, and your detailed review. We do like to see that our guests are enjoying their visit, and also like to read reviews such as yours which not only assist...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 20/22 October. Upon arrival women in reception gave us a cold welcome, told us we were staying on the second floor and to sign a document and put my car reg.. had to ask how to get to the second floor!...More

4  Thank Kylie T
Response from Suzanne K, Guest Relations Manager at The Colwyn HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Miss Thomas, I am sorry to see your DISGUSTING negative review that you have duplicated again, having just read your review on our own website I also will replicate our reply. Without us going into an exhaustive essay, firstly I do apologise for your...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

After travelling 2.5 hours to Blackpool to celebrate the Mother in Law's 70th surprise birthday we checked into the Colwyn Hotel in typical cold ,wet and windy Blackpool weather. Was asked for payment immediately and in due course we paid with no hesitation although it...More

5  Thank Mark C
Response from Suzanne K, Guest Relations Manager at The Colwyn HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam I am sorry to see your negative review, however I understand to believe that you were informed during your visit of the true facts to this issue, and did choose to stay next door in the hotel until your departure date, as per...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

No heating , no hot water for shower. Breakfast poor. Treat like an alien when i asked for skimmed milk. when asked for manager to complain and get refunds was told no managers available to sort issue and owner not available as had a more...More

5  Thank skyeman62
Response from Suzanne K, Guest Relations Manager at The Colwyn HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Skyeman62, I am sorry to see your negative review, however I understand to believe that you were informed during your visit of the true facts to this issue, and did choose to stay in the hotel until your departure date, as per your booking....More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a More quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
25
Price range
US$38 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
25
Price range
US$38 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Photos
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (172)
Dining (62)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (16)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 nearby hotels
Silversands Hotel
252 reviews
.08 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
604 reviews
.09 km away
Just Roomz
26 reviews
.10 km away
Stuart Hotel
321 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 795 nearby restaurants
White Tower Restaurant
160 reviews
.78 km away
Italio
431 reviews
.73 km away
Armenian Kebab House
90 reviews
.38 km away
Harrowside Chip Shop
139 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 253 nearby attractions
The Big One
2,269 reviews
.32 km away
Grosvenor Casino Blackpool
227 reviews
.83 km away
Sandcastle Waterpark
4,141 reviews
.81 km away
Horror Crypt Blackpool
54 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter S
26 July 2016|
Answer
Response from StaffsHughsie | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know as only used bar once as we used velvet coast down the way
0
Votes
lisa m
21 February 2016|
Answer
Response from mickeymouse03 | Reviewed this property |
Very tiny lift owners very rude. Lift broke a few times. Said we were too heavy use one at a time. Our weight was nowhere near what it said in lift. Very upset at the way we were spoken to.
0
Votes
Carole H
9 September 2015|
Answer
Response from sandpiper2007 | Property representative |
The distance is 1.1 mile, nearly 2 k, You could walk to the Promenade and take the tram to Burlington Road West. The Hotel is opposite the tram stop. Or take a taxi. The number is 01253711611
0
Votes
Room Tips
"don't bother . All rooms looked rubbish"
Horspool64
18 Sep 2018
Read review
"if you need help ask the team, they will assist you willingly"
stuarthendry22
17 Nov 2017
Read review
"Front rooms on first floor provide a view of the sea at the cost of engaging the stairs ... but worth it!"
smpja
23 Oct 2017
Read review
"As far as I could see all the rooms have a view our room looked over the seafront"
jimmymac453
21 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing