We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,404: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a britannia hotel in bosworth which was lovely but this is by far rhe worst hotel iv stayed in. Dont normally write reviews but had to for this! I am actually here right now. Laying in my executive room. Its so cold my wife is sleeping in cloths. The tvs in the rooms are the old big bscl...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank craigdamon
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186332-d489138-r273948505-Grand_Metropole_Hotel-Blackpool_Lancashire_England.html#

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We have stayed at the Grand Metropole Hotel Blackpool twice and enjoyed both visits thr breakfast was great a good English eat as much as you want the evening meal was a choice of three things plus veg and a great selection of hot and cold puddings you would not starve. The rooms are quite basic but you only have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I take a couple of my grandchildren for a short break to the Metropole each year, in the school holidays. The different rooms we have had have been really suitable for families.All the staff have always been pleasant & helpful, the waiting staff work so hard, always making sure tables are changed promptly. Food always replenished quickly. The grandchildren love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bren h
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that your...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Popped in for a coffee as curious to see if the hotel was as grand and imposing as it looks from the outside. We were very disappointed.....public areas dirty, hotel was cold and unwelcoming and coffee was from a machine - at a rather pricey £2.50 a cup, which is way more than other places in the area charge for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahWood_11
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Stayed bank holiday weekend on coach holiday, this hotel has really gone downhill since ee stayed there nearly 3 years ago. Room needed a good clean especially the carpet, hairs in the bath, around the back of the toilet. Breakfast monday morning was awful and then going back up to our toom cooked bacon on the stairs, disgusting. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarahhN8135EN
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186332-d489138-r273948505-Grand_Metropole_Hotel-Blackpool_Lancashire_England.html#

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Location is all that's good, next to north pier, bars and transport. Hotel dated, stained carpets in public areas, perking paper and flaking paint un.public areas and so called executive room. Little atmosphere and not so cheap beer. Cold and. windy and had to,ask management to turn heating up to just feel comfortable. Did not book breakfast so can't advise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jivenboogie
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186332-d489138-r273948505-Grand_Metropole_Hotel-Blackpool_Lancashire_England.html#

Manchester
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This hotel brand is not very good with honouring it's bookings. We reserved a twin room on the Tuesday ahead of our stay on the Saturday of the same week and upon phoning the hotel on the Friday to confirm all was in check (always usually is with other hotels) I was advised that the twin room is not available...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KevWr8
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

manchester
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

A major lack of customer service here. No smiles, no welcome, grumpy front of house and bar staff. Food and room ok (windows not seen a clean in years) Staff (bar 1 young man with dark hair in restaurant which we tipped) look so miserable - Karen the manager and the other lady on reception look on the verge of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wadz
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Shannon, Ireland
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Hotel is tired but clean, staff are very friendly you get what you pay for. Lots of groups and the hotel obviously caters for coach parties etc. It was a bank holiday weekend and busy around the town but had good nights sleep wasn't noisy in the hotel. Great location walk out the door and 2mins you are on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartjwalker
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you...

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

We came here for a short midweek break. At first it look okay, but then we saw our room. Old fashioned, hard bed, tiny television, dirty windows that didn't close properly, cracks in the walls, tiny bathtub and a slanted floor! We tried to get a couple of drinks from the bar to be told that they weren't serving, when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chef-Face1
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

1,067 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1055)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (242)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (542)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 72 in Blackpool
1,012 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
918 reviews
0.9 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
957 reviews
0.5 km away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 72 in Blackpool
1,427 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: €38 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book here...!”
  • the step leading into the bathroom
  • not clean !
  • dirty thread bare carpets in the room
  • this was the window ledge in the bathroom
  • dirty shower mat
  • dirty windows inside and out
  • dirty radiator
 of 5 bubbles 717neild, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't think there are any”
 of 5 bubbles Flyingisfun, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Please don't bother until Brittania get their act together.”
 of 5 bubbles jonhaslam1, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Number 245 was ok it is in the middle of building”
 of 5 bubbles erice157, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“seaview suites are highly recommended if you can get one”
 of 5 bubbles mh472014, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5