We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
8Attractionswithin 0.5 km
159Reviews
39Photos
1Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 21
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hosts are friendly and welcome. The room was nice and clean although too much unnessecary decorations like pillows etc.... Great location. A bit dissapointed with the breakfast. Rather poor. Overall good value for money.
Read more
I stayed at the cottage for 2 days as a stopover between Christmas and New Year. A few days after I had booked I read a couple of disparaging reviews so I checked in with just a little trepidation. I needn't have been concerned; the room was very clean and ample size for my wife
Read more
Although I understand that the owners are relatively new here, they have made every effort to maintain the high standards of the previous owners. We had a lovely overnight stay spoilt only by heavy rain - well it is the Lake District! We were given a friendly welcome on
Read more
What can I say? Such a gorgeous little bed & breakfast in a beautiful old house in Windermere. It was everything we could have asked for during our 3 night stay. LiuChen welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room (room 9), which was just the cutest little bedroom. Small,
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Thanks for staying with us. We are very glad you had a good time here. We will continue to make The Cottage a better place for all the guests. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, The Cottage
Read more
Stayed here for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary , the room was tiny and I mean tiny ! The bed was double but seemed very short , the decor is very tired and although not dirty full of cobwebs! (Our room) The en suite was so small , towels provided were well worn
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 8 Nov 2018
It is really shocking and surprising how much some people could lie on this site. For whoever seen this post, please follow reviews of other guests stayed during the same period posted on Booking or Expedia - about breakfast, fruit, cereal, room size and bed. No further explanation needed. We don’t mind negative comments which could actually help us to improve. But LIE is something we cannot tolerant. Also, please note that these guests stayed with us for two nights, when they left, we found the room was completely ruined with chewing gums all over the beddings and sheets, unknown dark sticky fluid everywhere. Hot food was consumed in the room which left the room awful smell. We spent 3 hours to recover the room. Not the guests we like to accommodate, no second time visit. Thanks.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Cottage
room 3
The cottage
view from window
room
toilet
PreviousNext
123
"Nice location, hot and tasty breakfast......"
"Room 3 has a great 4 poster bed if that's what your looking for."
"Room 4 has a four poster bed lovely...."
"We had room 3 - lovely room, comfortable bed and very warm."
"we were on the top floor which was the attic so had the sloping roof but the space was well used, although it didn't affect us there is a main road outside."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing