We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)
Overview
The Cottage Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Pool
Fitness centre
3 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Free Internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
8
Price range
US$82 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Cottage Windermere, Lake District
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Lamplighter
352 reviews
.03 km away
The Windermere Hotel
985 reviews
.14 km away
Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant
1,413 reviews
.15 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel
1,265 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 84 nearby restaurants
Just Good Food
74 reviews
.18 km away
The Screes Inn
76 reviews
.03 km away
The Crafty Baa
775 reviews
.11 km away
Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro
286 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 39 nearby attractions
Orrest Head
1,432 reviews
.67 km away
High Street
186 reviews
.03 km away
Lakeland Pony Trek
94 reviews
.89 km away
Windermere Information
30 reviews
.07 km away
Reviews & more
157Reviews
39Photos
1Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 21
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Although I understand that the owners are relatively new here, they have made every effort to maintain the high standards of the previous owners. We had a lovely overnight stay spoilt only by heavy rain - well it is the Lake District! We were given a friendly welcome on arrival,
Read more
What can I say? Such a gorgeous little bed & breakfast in a beautiful old house in Windermere. It was everything we could have asked for during our 3 night stay.

LiuChen welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room (room 9), which was just the cutest little bedroom. Small, b
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us. We are very glad you had a good time here. We will continue to make The Cottage a better place for all the guests. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, The Cottage
Read more
Stayed here for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary , the room was tiny and I mean tiny ! The bed was double but seemed very short , the decor is very tired and although not dirty full of cobwebs! (Our room) The en suite was so small , towels provided were well worn a
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 5 weeks ago
It is really shocking and surprising how much some people could lie on this site. For whoever seen this post, please follow reviews of other guests stayed during the same period posted on Booking or Expedia - about breakfast, fruit, cereal, room size and bed. No further explanation needed. We don’t mind negative comments which could actually help us to improve. But LIE is something we cannot tolerant. Also, please note that these guests stayed with us for two nights, when they left, we found the room was completely ruined with chewing gums all over the beddings and sheets, unknown dark sticky fluid everywhere. Hot food was consumed in the room which left the room awful smell. We spent 3 hours to recover the room. Not the guests we like to accommodate, no second time visit. Thanks.
Read more
Whilst not a bad place to stay, certainly doesn't live up to expectations.

Had a deluxe double room booked, quite small but I guess in a cosy kind of way, but both of us had our feet hanging off the end of the bed as it seemed to be a very short double bed.

Bathroom was OK, abi
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 22 Oct 2018
Hi Jon, Thanks for your comments. We have four bedrooms with standard double beds and three bedrooms with king size beds. All the mattresses are with toppers and less than 2 years old. Someone stayed in the same room have just left a comment on another website saying it was comfortable for them, so I guess it is just due to personal preference. If you prefer larger bed, you could try to book our rooms with king size beds. The size of our rooms are larger than average room size in Windermere. For breakfast, we have grapefruit/peach slice segments, prunes, a selection of fresh fruit, four types of cereals, natural yogurt, toast, tea, coffee, fruit juices etc. Apart from cooked full English breakfast ( includes vegetarian and gluten free versions), we give guests 3 other options to choose from. These options are various from time to time. I am sorry that your favorite Egg Benedict was not offered on your stay. Hope you wouldn’t miss it next time. We are a family run BnB, we are doing the best we can to make sure our guests have a comfortable and spotless room to stay. We use high quality local produced ingredients for our fresh cooked breakfast. I understand that some guests may have higher expectations and premium hotel standard service, we will continue improving our service in order to satisfy all guests need. Kind regards.
Read more
Now as my title says I feel a bit bad for this review but we were kind of duped by advertising not been changed for this place after a recent change in ownership to a lovely Chinese couple the place has prided itself on an amazing breakfast from my understanding but this has to b
Read more
Response from LiuchenG2, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Since we took over The Cottage, we have not lower our service quality for all aspects, only been trying to improve everything we can to make it a better place for guests from all over the world. We have been using locally produced high quality ingredients for our breakfast, which are exactly the same as previous owners did. We are constantly receiving positive comments from our guests during their stays. I am sorry that it didn’t meet your “high standard”. But you are welcome to stay again and give us more specific feedback in order to help us improve. Regards.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Cottage
room 3
The cottage
view from window
room
toilet
Previous
We have booked room 2, which floor and what side of the hotel is this on please? Very excited after reading the rave reviews!!
"Nice location, hot and tasty breakfast......"
"Room 3 has a great 4 poster bed if that's what your looking for."
"Room 4 has a four poster bed lovely...."
"We had room 3 - lovely room, comfortable bed and very warm."
"we were on the top floor which was the attic so had the sloping roof but the space was well used, although it didn't affect us there is a main road outside."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing