We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakthwaite

35 reviews
Save
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good17%
  • Average2%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(16 reviews)
“first morning”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (35)Write a Review
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
22
6
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
6
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastb bfirst morninggood sizeminute walkfull englishdeborahcomfort
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Stayed at Oakthwaite cottage (self catering) for a week in October . Well thought out accommodation, with the convenience of a short walk into Bowness and the local shops and restaurants. We would book again and recommend to others without hesitation.More

Thank jmajor2016
Response from Deborah C, Owner at OakthwaiteResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay at Oakthwaite Lodge which is located next door to Oakthwaite B&B. You can of course review your stay at the lodge on Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked a stay at this B&B in October. We were told check in time was after 3pm...we arrived about 2.50pm and thought that someone would be there to greet us. Upon arrival I knocked the door which was locked for a...More

Thank em2508
Response from Deborah C, Owner at OakthwaiteResponded 24 October 2017

It is unfortunate that despite responding to your husbands comments on a review with the booking agent that you felt the need to leave a second review here. You did in fact arrive for check in at 11am when it clearly says 3pm, hardly allowing...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Oakthwaite BnB for 1 night in August. The room we stayed in had an adjoining toilet and bathroom which were for our private use. The bathroom was lovely and had a separate shower and large bath but we'd suggest that a door...More

Thank showeryday
Response from Deborah C, Owner at OakthwaiteResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sure the offer of a lift would have been made on a wet day if our guest was without their own transport or preferred not to walk to the café but are glad...More

Reviewed 12 October 2016

I loved staying here its quiet and the staff were amazing and they could not do enough for you. There was a shower and toilet joined to my room for sole access as we had paid extra for this lovely surroundings and garden. Immaculate except...More

Thank Lindsay M
Response from Deborah C, Manager at OakthwaiteResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oakthwaite. We are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and can only apologise if there were marks on the dressing gowns. These are laundered following each departure, as they are...More

Reviewed 1 October 2016

Arrived about an hour early on Friday but Deborah the owner was very accommodating and showed us to our room. Explained the protocol and layout and the fact you could have either continental breakfast at the Oakthwaite or full English at Monties 10 minutes walk....More

Thank Barry O
Response from Deborah C, Manager at OakthwaiteResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us here at Oakthwaite. We were so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and for your lovely comments regarding Deborah and your welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1234567
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$136 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$136 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Oakthwaite staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"If you can book the self catering cottage"
Read review
"I would go for the luxury rooms as the people in the next room had to use an external toilet."
Read review
"Room at the back was quiet"
Read review
"Only a 2 bedroom hotel so both rooms are great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing